We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Totally Solid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Ranked #45 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Totally Solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed for the first time last week and enjoyed it so much I am considering making in my home base during a prolonged relocation to PHX. Yes this place has its quirks, with several different buildings in the property. Mine was a Cabana King overlooking the pool/palm trees. Room was huge, nice balcony with table and chairs, etc. Bedding was all new including mattress, which was to die for. Bar closes at 9pm, but all the rooms have refrigerators so stop by Circle K and grab a six pack. The gym is an attached facility that is way better than most hotel gyms. The location is just off Central so it's close to dozens of restaurants/shops yet it's quiet. I'm coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    169
    98
    49
    23
See reviews for
115
90
74
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a nice hotel and most of the staff is friendly. They try very hard to make the guest comfortable. The shuttle driver and bartender go out of their way tomake people feel welcome. The shuttle service is very dependable. The wait staff at breakfast are friendly too. However, it's a long walk to the room with luggage through a dark dining area or through the pool. Breakfast ALWAYS closes early so, if they say it's open until 10:00 and you get there are 9:45 almost everything is put away, which makes you feel uncomfortable and the restaurant closes on the weekends, Friday, Saturday and Sunday except for breakfast and room service shuts down on the weekends. There is also no security at this hotel what so ever. The gym next door that you have access to is pretty nice, but the staff isn't and they have signs which say Hotel key and photo ID required, No Exceptions which makes you feel uncomfortable before you even walk in to workout. I have stayed at much nicer Hilton Garden Inns and think the management needs to make sure that the Hilton offers more than this hotel. However, in comparison to the surrounding hotels being the Raddison. Fairfield Inn and Holiday Inn the HGI is much nicer. The only other option would be to stay at the full service Hilton or the Marriott, which are a bit further away. So it depends on the reason you are there and what amenities you want. It is close to the Light Rail..

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building away from an elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merishore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I just returned from staying there, and this place was a pretty good option. Just a block off the 'main drag.' Parking is across the street, and the front desk will give you passes if you ask. There's a little cafe across the street and the food is awesome. The hotel has breakfast - for $12 you could have access to: fruit, granola, yogurt, scrambled eggs, potatoes, biscuits, sausage and bacon, cereal, bagels/bread, danishes, Starbucks coffee, an omelet station and waffle station. Great if you want a hearty breakfast, but if you're a light breakfast eater, you may want to find some place else and not waste your time or get a muffin from their pantry (located right by the front desk). The pantry was a pretty good idea - beverages, snacks, toiletries in one convenient spot. Of course, you're probably better hitting up the Walgreens (open 24 hours) a few blocks down if you want to get things cheaper. The hotel is also only a block from Fez - check it out to get a burger or drink! There are also other restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms in the West Tower are a bit more updated than the Cabana rooms. My room (west tower) was alright - carpet was fine, comfortable king size bed (you can adjust the firmness), chair and ottoman, desk with ergonomic chair, pool view, metal luggage stand (in closet, ironing board, mini fridge, microwave, and TV. The bathroom could have used some updating - mainly the shower. Also - water pressure was really not all that great. It's a shame - they have the showerheads with the adjustable streams (mist, massage, etc.) but because the water pressure was so low, it didn't really matter what setting you had it on. My room also had an adjoining door to another room - I imagine you would be able to request something like this should you need it - which could be a plus for families if needed (although, this is not really a 'family' hotel - more like for business trips/adults. Internet in the room was free - both wifi and hardwired. The air conditioning was hard to adjust - it was freezing in my room no matter what I did to the thermostat, so I just turned it off.

The hotel was relatively quiet - my room was right by the ice machine. You didn't really hear it much, but it would be annoying had the hotel been more full.

The pool area was nice - hot tub is right by it.

I'm not sure if all rooms were nonsmoking, but I went out front and around the corner to the right where the designated smoking area was.

Front desk staff was friendly. They have a business center with 2 computers and a printer/fax machine/scanner. I had issues with printing from the computer on the left, but the computer on the right went smoothly.

Room Tip: Request an updated/west tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FyrDncr715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've had an extended conference session at this hotel and I am disappointed in the services, some of the attitude, and the poor parking situation. Wifi isn't designed for high usage either. We've been having issues everyday. For the most part, staff is friendly, although there have been a few that seem jaded and cold when asked for help. The limited free parking is behind the hotel, and a $10 per day lot is up front. Hotel refuses to validate when free lot is full, even after booking two conference rooms for 5 or 6 weeks. They also don't like to share coffee, or refill waters very timely. I am sure the rooms are great though, and as I mentioned the central location is ideal. But, if you want to earn repeat business from a local business owner, try hooking us up with some free coffee, on the spot water service, and some free parking.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZVagabonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The location of this place is hard to find and trying to locate their parking lot is not any easier, especially when you pull up to the hotel and one of the employees just stares at you and your car and doesn't even ask of you need help.

The front desk person who checked me in was very unfriendly and had 0 personality and was frankly unwelcoming however works in hospitality which is ironic. I stayed in one of the Non-Cabana rooms which I had to walk through the hotel and outside to get to. The lobby and meeting room areas where fill of junk and messy. The hotel is basic in everyway possible and the bathrooms remind me of a motel 6. Granted you should know that I'm a diamond hhonors member and they should at least true try to give me a decent room that doesn't overlook the street parking and power plant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy_Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Encanto
Hilton Phoenix Suites
Hilton Phoenix Suites
#27 of 177 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#87 of 177 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Address: 4000 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85012-1959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#53 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#53 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,512 - ₹ 21,934
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing