We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Bonita Grill

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 3,037 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
ontario
Level Contributor
254 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

the food, stew and salad were very good. very busy, you should make reservations

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    63
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walnut creek, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This has to be my favorite food restaurant in all of phoenix, with a fantastic southwestern menu, an eclectic cowboy atmosphere, and a relaxed vibe. Why no five stars? The service was so bad it was comical, and Im still giving it four stars! We arrived with reservations and had a slight wait for our table, no big deal since the place was rocking on a Tuesday night. When seated, we ordered a bottle of wine, about 5 minutes later our server returned and asked us to repeat or order as she had forgotten our selection. A sign of things to come.. For dinner I had the carne asada, my wife the chicken, and we asked to split the ceasar. We were enjoying the art, and our bottle of wine for about 25 minutes, no worries, when our server stopped by to apologize that our entrees were taking so long due to the big crowd. We said no problem, and asked if she remembered we were splitting a salad. She had forgotten, so she hurried off, and our salad was promptly delivered. Great salad, sort of a southwestern ceasar. We had taken about 3 bites each when, surprise, out came our entrees. She just sat them there and left, very awkward. When my wife looked at hers, she was given the wrong chicken dish. We called our server over, she really did not remember that my wife had ordered another dish, but promptly removed it. About 15 minutes later my wife got the right order. It was the worst paced meal we have had in quite some time. At this point, I must say, order the carne asada! The meat is fantastic, the beans and rice are unbelievable, and it comes with a large home made flour tortilla,salsa, and guac. You just roll your own. OMG-incredible. Spouse had the chicken, that she greatly enjoyed. The food was so good we both just sort of ignored the fact that the service was horrific. We look forward to going back, and hope our service experience was just a random one off occurance

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Highly REcommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were looking for a Mexican restaurant with outside seating. The food was Mexican-themed, but not your standard fare. It was delicious; two of us had the Cowboy Stew, which was incredible! The service was fantastic and the prices were very reasonable. Note: It did NOT have outdoor seating, so don't go looking for an outdoor experience. Go for the great food and outstanding service!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much for the great review on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed the Cowboy Stew so much!

Fred
SBG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great ambience, excellent food and good service. Was recommended to try the Buttermilk chicken next time around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were in phoenix for the weekend and looked this place up. Fantastic! A " must try" if you're looking for unique souhwestern/mexican food. We had the carne asada tacos and my wife had the green chile mac n cheese with chicken. All around an "A+".

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wlc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyler tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Doesn't get any better than this. What a wonderful find.......just be sure and not pass it.
Once we found this place we spent the rest of trip goon back.
Everything on menu excellent, you just can't go wrong

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank belle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing