We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Good for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Arizona Grand Hotel last week with my two small children (age 7 months and 3 1/2). We stayed in two adjacent suites instead of renting a two bedroom villa, which was sooo much less expensive, and was the perfect amount of space. My girls are too small for the water park, but they really enjoyed the pool that was right outside our room. It was fairly quiet, except for the last night where a dinner was held poolside for some corporate event. Even then, it wasn't terribly noisy, but it was enough to keep me up past my normal bed time. My only other complaint is that I was hoping that they had more fridge space for snacks because the food was fairly expensive there. Most of the fridge was taken up with mini bar food, though, so we couldn't keep anything that needed refrigeration in the room. All in all a good experience, though!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear jenmines,

I have very happy to see that Arizona Grand Resort was perfect for your family, and your two suites provided the perfect amount of space for everyone. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    745
    402
    203
    96
See reviews for
1,321
280
45
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Arizona Grand resort was wonderful. The room was clean and neat, and very nice looking with a small patio overlooking the "Paseo", a grove of Palm trees with lights. The staff was wonderful, and the waterpark a lot of fun. Wish there was more seating available at the water park, and that there were more wait staff, but loved that there were lifeguards, so my kids could enjoy without me having to be there with them at every moment. I will definately go back!

Room Tip: The water park is open late, so you may not want to be "too" close. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillettoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear stillettoz,

I am thrilled to see that you had a wonderful stay! It is nice to see you were able to relax and feel safe with the large lifeguard staff in place at Oasis Water Park. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed with friends for 3 nights during spring break. When we arrived at 2 PM we were told our rooms were not ready but they would put a rush on them since we had an early check-in and for us to call in an hour. We called every hour and they told us they are working on our rooms, however, it was not until after 6 PM when they were finally ready. The front desks response when we went to get our keys: “Well we’re busy today”. No apology, just attitude which surprised us for the type of resort this is. We were off to a bad start but we were looking forward to a great vacation.

The room was large and fairly close to the water park, in fact none of the rooms are very far from the park, which is nice. The following day we got to the water park shortly after it opened ; it seemed crowded but we did not have any trouble finding five lounge chairs together. The food at the park is traditional water park food with typical pricing (expensive). The food and drink service was responsive and quick. We stayed until 6 pm when the slides and river features closed figuring we would get cleaned up and go out to dinner. When we got back to the room, it had not been cleaned. We waited another half-hour to get it cleaned; to management’s credit, they were responsive when we called this time.

The following day the power went out in the building. Later the same day the water was turned off to the whole building without notice. When we called the front desk to ask when the water would be turned on we were initially told they were unaware of a problem. Subsequent calls we were told, “The water will be on within the thirty minutes”. The water finally was turned back on around 7 PM.

The following morning at 8:30a.m. housekeeping was knocking on our door to clean the room. Really, they could not manage to get there on any other date before 5:00p.m., unless we called. We spoke directly with the Manager on duty, in person, regarding the hotel's promise to honor a 4p.m. check out time, due to our inability to get in our room until after 6p.m the first day and he promised to honor it. Imagine our surprise when our key failed to work at 2:00p.m.!!!

Problems with the room aside, the water park is enjoyable and well kept. Food and drink service is fast and efficient. The wave pool did not appear to be on the entire time we were there and the area was constantly filled with floats from the river feature. There was not a line for the ‘big’ slide and a relatively short line for the shorter slide. Note, when you slam into the water from the big slide it hurts… I guess that is why there is not a line.

Overall, with a Management shakeup and the hiring of additional housekeeping staff this could be a 4 star hotel. The water park is most suited for younger kids, 12 and 13 year olds lost interest in the park after a few hours. This is a nice ‘quick trip’ if you live close, but the Arizona Grand is certainly not a destination and we will not be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty close to the water park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebTravelsSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear DebTravelsSD,

I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations and thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Arizona Grand Resort over Spring Break. Great room, very clean property, excellent gym, great food at the on-site restaurants.
My biggest disappointment was the Water Park was handled. It was extremely crowded in the afternoon and if you didn't stand in line at the beginning of the morning to grab a chair, you were out of luck if you wanted to go in the afternoon. To make matters worse, although the resort boasts they have 7 pools, again finding a chair in the afternoon is very difficult because people just put their towels on the chairs and then leave to go to other things. Since you pay an additional daily "resort fee" I feel like you should at least be able to find a chair at the water park or the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up for a great view and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Lynn0503,

I’m thrilled to see that you had a great time during your stay and were pleased with the facilities. As spring break tends to be one of our busiest period during the year, you may wish to consider visiting us during other summer or fall to avoid the challenge of finding poolside chairs. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family came last summer and will be coming once again May 5th! We found it relaxing, enjoyable, and definetly worth the trip.

*Resort- The resort itself is large and easy to get around (once inside.... parking is a little difficult) There are many attractions within. You can tell rennovations have been made in certain parts of the buildings. Be aware, since it is such a large facility, a large ammount of walking is required!

*Rooms- The rooms were comfortable, and had old charm. I hadn't noticed many of the blemishes pointed out by other on this site, considering we spent most of our day at the water park and once we returned, passed out due to exhaustion! Televions needed exchanging, orand a slightly bigger bathroom would have been nice. Overall, good rooms. Bed's comfortable, pillows AMAZING.

*Oasis Water Park- Fun for all ages! We came around 10:45 unaware of the need to arrive early. However, a couple under a cabana had left for breakfast and we were able to snath the shaded area. The kids ran off, and we spent the entire day there. The water is excellent, and the lazy river's exceptional. Tip: If unable to find a lounging chair due to hortage, ask a staff member!

*Food- Considering we were on a budget, we did not eat at all around the resort. Instead, for dinner we drove up the hill to a fun, western restaurant called Rustler's Roost. The slide into the dining area welcomes you, and the saw dust on the floor added to the effect. Don't be afraid to try Rattlesnake... tastes like chicken!:)

*Extras- If you are on a lower level or have a bad view, some portions of the buildings have stairways to the roof. At the fall of dusk we went up one of the stairways and found not only a fabulous phoenix view, but lounging chairs! We ended up laying out for a while and enjoying the night temp and the scenic view of phoenix lights.

-I have fabulous memories here, so don't be scared by some of the grumpy reviewers:) Hope you enjoy this resort as much as I did-

Room Tip: Pools are everywhere, so if you aren't so keen on a crowded water park, go find seperate pools i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cambridge101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear cambridge101

Thank for your kind review, recommendations, great tips and loyalty! I am pleased to see that you made fabulous family memories during your stay, and we can’t wait to welcome you back in May.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,258 - ₹ 34,298
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing