We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty setting but overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sunglow Ranch is in a pretty setting, has friendly management, and serves very good food. And while my husband and I had a nice stay, we felt it just wasn't worth the $1500 we spent for the 3 nights we were there. According to their website, this place markets itself as 'all-inclusive'...which simply isn't true. It's more like a bed & breakfast with a 'semi-included' dinner. I say 'semi' because if you're content with fettucini & ice water, it's included. But if you want a can of soda, it's an extra $3. Steak? An extra $10. Chocolate cake for dessert? That'll be another $5. And of course, alcohol is even more. And if you'd like them to make you a couple tuna sandwiches for lunch (pretty much a must because there is nothing else for miles), they'll charge you yet another $25.

All in all, we felt nickel and dimed. We don't mind spending $500/night while on vacation-but it needs to be worth it. With basic cabin rooms that could use updating, a small and cold pool, and pretty much no activities besides horseback riding (for an additional $100 per person, per hour)...Sunglow Ranch just isn't worth the cost. Glad we went to see the sites of southern Arizona, but I doubt we'll return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write! We are always grateful for honest and accurate feedback that can help us to improve the experience of future and prospective guests. We aim to please!

I thought I would clarify a few misconceptions about Sunglow Ranch to avoid confusion on the part of future visitors. We have promoted Sunglow Ranch as "inclusive," contrary to the phrase "all-inclusive" that you have used. That is to say that dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in our "Modifed American Plan Rates."

As a result of your feedback, I have removed the word "inclusive" from the first paragraph of our website so as to avoid any confusion that 'every' charge is included here. As is common with other resort properties, there are charges for purchases while here, such as beverages and supplemental charges for items like filet mignon, imported Valrhona Chocolate, etc.

We have quite an extensive menu beyond fettuccini, and we have a very unique wine menu offering a wealth of delicious, southeastern Arizona wines. Guided Horseback Trail Rides, and Massage Therapy are also offered at additional fees.

Sunglow Ranch is an intimate guest ranch resort--as opposed to a bed & breakfast. As a resort, we operate under a complete liquor license, and we serve dinner. Lunch can be arranged either as a picnic or enjoyed here at the Ranch.

Our menus and prices are posted for all to see on our website in order that guests may review them prior to arrival. We welcome specific food requirements, and can easily manage in the event of allergies or specific requests.

I can tell you that operating a lovely property such as this one, in this location, would be impossible without our guests' kind and generous support. This isn't for everyone however! There are also plenty of less expensive options for guest coming to this corner of Arizona--and I would be happy to help you with recommendations when your plans include a return visit.

If you're considering a peaceful interlude in this breathtaking setting in the Chiricahua Mountains we endeavor to make Sunglow Ranch a meaningful and comfortable destination with a high level of personal service and value, on this road less traveled.

Please let me know whenever I may be of future assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Direct Office: 520.824.3334
Email: brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Spring break was once in life time experience for Mom and the kids.
Daughter rode every day. Son woke each morning to canoe. Mom enjoyed massage and pool.
Stunning day trips to Bisbee Mines, Kartchner Caverns and Chiricahua National Park.
First class accommodations and dining.
Attentive, knowledgeable and happy staff!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We decided to visit Sunglow Ranch after I read a review in Sunset. Although we were a bit early for the wildflowers, the scenery is quite beautiful. I had great hopes of having each day crammed full of stuff to do, but the atmosphere of the place forces you to slow down. All we managed to accomplish was a great hike, the big loop, in the Chiricahuas and a visit to the quaint town of Bisbee. All of that in three days! I think we would have to spend at least a week to check everything off of my list. Oh well, I guess we'll have to go back.
And if the views don't wow you enough, the staff at Sunglow will. From being greeted in person by Brooks, the General Manager, as we drove up the first day to the fabulous cooks and wait staff, the service is top notch. You certainly get the feeling that everyone working at Sunglow wants to be there.
The property is immaculate. Attention to detail is very high. We stayed in the Trogon room. It was somewhat small, but very comfortable and clean. Of course, we didn't really need anything more. Our patio faced east toward the mountains for some spectacular sunsrises. Slept so well, we didn't see any.
We will probably be back in the fall to see the color.
Thank you Sunglow for a fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ironbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We selected the Sunglow Ranch because it seemed to offer the nicest amenities while giving you that rustic ranch location. We stayed in the Coyote Casita which slept four comfortably. The bathroom was clean, and nicely appointed with L'Occitane toiletries and soft towels. There was a separate living area with a couch and fireplace stocked with firewood, microwave, mini-fridge and plenty of water & popcorn.

The ranch property was located at the base of the mountains with a small lake for canoeing and fishing. The pool and hot tub were sparkling clean. The staff was more than accommodating and saw to our every need. This is the most luxurious ranch you could imagine!

They arranged for a guided horseback ride for our family of four with a local rancher. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: All the casitas are very quaint and well-equipped. I think there are only 8 in total so you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyS696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

...in every way. The staff is incredible. The facilities are beautiful. The food is wonderful. If you're looking for a relaxing, pampered vacation, look no further. Sunglow is waiting for you!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Address: 14066 S Sunglow Rd, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625-6169
Region: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Price Range: ₹ 20,043 - ₹ 29,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 475 acres in the Chiricahua Mountains,a short drive south of the Chiricahua National Monument. This award-winning, hideaway guest ranch resort is surrounded by the 100,000 acre Coronado National Forest. Comfortable lodging and inspired dining. Dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in room rate. Dining guests welcome by reservation. Guest amenities include swimming pool and hot-tub, bocce and horseshoe courts, mountain bikes, private horseback trail rides and uniquely-decorated casitas with private patios and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch Hotel Pearce
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch And Resort Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing