We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for business conference and didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodations for hotel and convention. It's a big hotel but the service was not compromised due to the size. Beautiful landscaping and exteriors. Meticulous rooms. Didn't eat at the hotel, but the options looked good. Would definitely stay here again... for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpbdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 961 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Let me start with the positives:
1. It is pretty
Now the negatives:
1. No internet service (4 day stay), the staff tried to blame the problem on my laptop and phone
2.. Room refrigerator sounded like a diesel truck
3. Fitness room a joke (although you can spend more to use the totally empty spa fitness room)
4. Men the pictures of the spa are from the women's side, the mens side looks like a YMCA from the 90's
5. This place will nickel and dime you to death, little in return

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
880marcr, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. We apologize that you didn’t have the memorable experience that we plan for each of our guests. Our internet provider in fact has resolved an issue they were having, which should have been explained to you during your stay. We are taking a deeper look into your other comments to improve future guests stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had very, very high expectations coming into the Camelback Inn, knowing that Marriott's own Bill Marriott celebrates his birthday there every year. We expected a lot and were even still impressed.

The hotel property is large, gorgeous, and surrounded by stunning desert peaks. Scottsdale is a pristine neighborhood, and the concierge gave us a free bike rental (with our resort fee) that let us ride around the neighborhood as much as we wanted. We recommend this activity -- Scottsdale is beautiful and bike-friendly, and we really enjoyed getting to know the community on bike.

The room we got had a beautiful view of the desert mountains and the manicured grounds. It was spacious and comfortable in timeless Southwestern style.

The pool was pleasant and the landscaping overall fantastic. We were wowed throughout the hotel by elegant landscaping and floral arrangements.

Still, for us the biggest draw was unexpected. The resort fee includes driving range access, but we were amazed by what we actually received. We got full equipment rentals (for free!) for everyone in our party, and got to play on the half-scale course on the hotel property. The course was secluded and in excellent shape, and included a gorgeous practice green. Still, this was not all! We found out the driving range and the real practice green were at the Camelback Golf Club a few blocks down the street. We were stunned – we were given two free golf carts, free equipment rentals, and all-you-can-play access to the driving range and practice greens, which are amazing. All because we were hotel guests! This is an unbelievable perk, and our mouth waters at the prospect of returning for a round of golf on the beautiful course. What a pleasant surprise.

Service, too, was outstanding. Always courteous, generous, and accommodating for a party of five. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable.

With all this in mind, rates were not cheap. We paid about $380 including Arizona's exorbitant taxes and the resort fee, so expect to pay something similar (or maybe book long in advance and get it for rewards points?). The high rates held us back from booking a longer stay.

To recap, we expected a ton from the Camelback Inn, more than perhaps any Marriott we have ever visited, but it delivered far beyond our expectations. We would only change one thing next time –make our stay one week, not one night! We hope to return just as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Try to get desert views if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaysRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The resort is wonderful as long as the sun is out, but watch out after dark. It is a sprawling property with many buildings stacked with condos as well as the big main hotel buildings; most impressive! We thought traversing the property at night would be a cinch. Wrong. We got lost every night once the sun set. The outdoor lighting around the condo areas is almost non-existent, so lovely landscaped drives become dark, spooky lanes just perfect for a scary movie. The condo room we occupied was nice but just OK when compared to the lavish exterior of the main hotel. The service was great and there were amazing holiday attractions on the property including almost life size gingerbread houses. Plenty of upscale shopping is nearby and the grounds were festive and immaculately groomed. It's puzzling why this lavish resort does not have better signage and much better lighting for night people.

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor was noisy at night due to A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I decided to get away for a 3 day weekend and could not be happier with our choice in accommodations. The staff caters to every need, the rooms have the feel of staying in someone's guest house. Loved everything about it and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbya775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: ₹ 22,381 - ₹ 41,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing