We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 213
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
US$ 400
US$ 277
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hermosa Inn(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 244
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mountain Shadows Resort Scottsdale(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 180
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$ 225
US$ 180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$ 111
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 103
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scottsdale Plaza Resort(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveller rating
1,508
471
115
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,508
471
115
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltjackrabbit poolrita's kitchenmummy mountainjack rabbitsun deckgolf cartquaillive musiccasita styletop notchhappy hourgrounds are beautifulspread outoff seasonprivate poolmain building
Filter
Updating list...
1,106 - 1,111 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Let me start with the positives:
1. It is pretty
Now the negatives:
1. No internet service (4 day stay), the staff tried to blame the problem on my laptop and phone
2.. Room refrigerator sounded like a diesel truck
3. Fitness room a joke (although you can spend more to use the totally empty spa fitness room)
4. Men the pictures of the spa are from the women's side, the mens side looks like a YMCA from the 90's
5. This place will nickel and dime you to death, little in return

Room Tip: Don't go here
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
880marcr, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. We apologize that you didn’t have the memorable experience that we plan for each of our guests. Our internet provider in fact has resolved an issue they were having, which should have been explained to you during your stay. We are taking a deeper look into your other comments to improve future guests stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had very, very high expectations coming into the Camelback Inn, knowing that Marriott's own Bill Marriott celebrates his birthday there every year. We expected a lot and were even still impressed.

The hotel property is large, gorgeous, and surrounded by stunning desert peaks. Scottsdale is a pristine neighborhood, and the concierge gave us a free bike rental (with our resort fee) that let us ride around the neighborhood as much as we wanted. We recommend this activity -- Scottsdale is beautiful and bike-friendly, and we really enjoyed getting to know the community on bike.

The room we got had a beautiful view of the desert mountains and the manicured grounds. It was spacious and comfortable in timeless Southwestern style.

The pool was pleasant and the landscaping overall fantastic. We were wowed throughout the hotel by elegant landscaping and floral arrangements.

Still, for us the biggest draw was unexpected. The resort fee includes driving range access, but we were amazed by what we actually received. We got full equipment rentals (for free!) for everyone in our party, and got to play on the half-scale course on the hotel property. The course was secluded and in excellent shape, and included a gorgeous practice green. Still, this was not all! We found out the driving range and the real practice green were at the Camelback Golf Club a few blocks down the street. We were stunned – we were given two free golf carts, free equipment rentals, and all-you-can-play access to the driving range and practice greens, which are amazing. All because we were hotel guests! This is an unbelievable perk, and our mouth waters at the prospect of returning for a round of golf on the beautiful course. What a pleasant surprise.

Service, too, was outstanding. Always courteous, generous, and accommodating for a party of five. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable.

With all this in mind, rates were not cheap. We paid about $380 including Arizona's exorbitant taxes and the resort fee, so expect to pay something similar (or maybe book long in advance and get it for rewards points?). The high rates held us back from booking a longer stay.

To recap, we expected a ton from the Camelback Inn, more than perhaps any Marriott we have ever visited, but it delivered far beyond our expectations. We would only change one thing next time –make our stay one week, not one night! We hope to return just as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Try to get desert views if you can...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaysRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The resort is wonderful as long as the sun is out, but watch out after dark. It is a sprawling property with many buildings stacked with condos as well as the big main hotel buildings; most impressive! We thought traversing the property at night would be a cinch. Wrong. We got lost every night once the sun set. The outdoor lighting around the condo areas is almost non-existent, so lovely landscaped drives become dark, spooky lanes just perfect for a scary movie. The condo room we occupied was nice but just OK when compared to the lavish exterior of the main hotel. The service was great and there were amazing holiday attractions on the property including almost life size gingerbread houses. Plenty of upscale shopping is nearby and the grounds were festive and immaculately groomed. It's puzzling why this lavish resort does not have better signage and much better lighting for night people.

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor was noisy at night due to A/C unit.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I decided to get away for a 3 day weekend and could not be happier with our choice in accommodations. The staff caters to every need, the rooms have the feel of staying in someone's guest house. Loved everything about it and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbya775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beatiful property, fantastic staff. Short trip from airport, convenient to Scottsdale. Spectacular setting with views of Mummy and Camelback.

Set up is very different for a luxury property with no hotel "tower"; rooms are a handful to a building (typically 6-8 rooms) scattered around the property.

Grounds are beautifully kept, with rabbits and quail wandering around.

For this time of year (late winter), i can't imagine a better spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews