We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. Go there now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Another great Marriott property across the board: casitas, beds, food, facility.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,438 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

It so happened that I picked a busy week to go to Scottsdale. Every hotel was booked - the only ones left were going for $400 a night, which I was not willing to pay. After all, it was for business.

I decided, after reviewing multiple reviews of all the hotels, to stay at the Camelback. The price was about right, and the reviews were very good. And boy, was I happy!

The check in was very nice - staff was professional and helpful. The bar is just outside the lobby, and it's also connected to the restaurant. Around the corner is the BLT, where I had a couple of drinks with a coworker (the bar was too noisy for conversation, but the BLT was empty at the time). This was a nice way to relax before going to my room.

This place is huge - they have staff who take you in golf carts to your room. And the room itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the closet was nice, the bathroom roomy (2 sinks) and the shower was great. The only complaint is that the toilet is one of those industrial types - it sounds like a jet took off at each flush. There is a nice little balcony area in th back, which I'm sure is nice to lounge back, have a drink and enjoy the evening.

Breakfast is served at the main restaurant. This meant taking a cart ride at 6:30, which is chilly but also refreshing. The breakfast buffet was excellent - I definitely recommend it. After breakfast, I took another golf cart ride back to my room. I'm sure that if it wasn't so cold, this would be a nice 5-10 minute walk for breakfast.

After check out, a driver took a coworker and me to our meeting destination.

If I had to select a place to stay in Scottsdale for business or pleasure, I would definitely consider returning to this place. In fact, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: This place is huge - if being close to the lobby/restaurant area is important, make sure you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuweb-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Beautiful property. Rooms very nice. Service is excellent. The restaurant and bars are great to hang out. A bit of a drive to old town is only downside. This is where Bill Marriott spends his birthdays...tells you something.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is one of only 3 hotels that has been awarded the 5 diamond for 10+ years in the US. I had very high expectation when I booked, especially since I was paying $400 a night.

PROS:

The grounds are beautiful. A true resort.
Check in staff was accommodating - even though they were sold out
The bed was quite comfortable - typical for most Marriotts
The room was in excellent physical shape
The room was quite large
The entire resort had a very nice SouthWestern look and feel
The service on the phone was quite helpful
The breakfast delivery was on time and very good - best bowl of berries I have ever had
Clean


CONS:

My room was near a loading dock that was bustling by 630am
The service was good, but not as good as say, most Ritz I have been to.
The front door had air/noise leaks - stuffed a towel under it


I would probably return again, but not for $400. No 5 starts for me since the service was good, but it should be even better to be a 5 diamond $400 / night property.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was there in January for a conference and stayed for 5 nights. The weather was great. I liked the spacious clean rooms, with the big windows, high ceilings, double sinks, spacious closet, and microwave. The internet in the room was expensive, but there was complementary internet in the lobby and at the pool. The staff were cheerful and very helpful, and they actually went above and beyond to help. Overall, the resort grounds were beautiful with spectacular desert plants. My favorites were the pool area and the patio of Rita's Kitchen which was especially gorgeous at night with the fire pits. The food was good but not a lot of vegerian options. And if bored, you can easily hop on the free trolley, which runs every hour, to go to the nearby Fashion Square mall or Scottsdale's old downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: ₹ 22,314 - ₹ 41,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing