We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Sanctuary for the first time a couple of weeks ago - mostly business plus some pleasure. The service was exceptional, the food good, and the drinks (grapefruit basil martini) delicious! The breakfast options are excellent but the room service was just good. We liked the light bento boxes and turkey burger for lunch. The bell staff were also very courteous (as was everyone else there) and did not mind giving us rides around the property in their golf cars.

For active folks, the resort is a hiker's paradise. They have a nice fitness center and very good spa. The fitness center is smaller than most for a resort this size, but it has all the amenities you need, including a lap poop (in addition to the main pool).

Arizona (and the desert) in general is not my ideal place to vacation, but Sanctuary is a lovely getaway. My husband and I would probably get a bit bored on our own, but the combination of business and pleasure made this trip just right!

Room Tip: Don't go above the 240s for a room - they end up being too far a hike to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonlightRainSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are so glad you tried the Arizona desert and had such a great time at Sanctuary! I do hope that, if your travels bring you to Arizona again, you will choose to stay with us!

Warm regards,
Jill Clark
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    190
    75
    33
    20
See reviews for
174
724
79
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in one of the more expensive mountain rooms with a separate living room/dining area etc. The room itself was great, but strangely the balcony never got any sun, so we had to shlep down to the pool instead. The crowd is very LA-esque, and the atmosphere is far from calming. Lots of people around vying for chairs. Decent people watching though.

Other than the desserts the food is merely OK. In fact we had to send one dinner dish back because it was inedible. Disappointingly on Sunday morning we had to wait 20 mins to sit down to breakfast because they had a brunch deal on for the public. We didn't have a reservation, but considering how much we were paying for the room I was shocked the front desk hadn't asked us in advance, or at least warned us to make one.

The spa is beautiful but the treatments are expensive and the staff are just OK. I'd go somewhere in town for a massage instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I am so sorry to see that you did not have the Sanctuary experience that the majority of our guests rave about. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you are in the area again so that I can do something extra special for you!

Warm regards,
Jill Clark
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was are 6th stay at the Sanctuary, each time it just gets better.
Great service, great location in the Valley, with beautiful sunsets.
It is worth a stay just for Elements Restaurant, ask for a booth when you go.
Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Get a room by one of the small pools Makes for a romantic late night swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
And you are also wonderful! We love having our return guests and make a special effort to get to know your likes, I will make a note that you like rooms close to those small, intimate pools!

Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Jill Clark
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Sanctuary for the first time last week. What a wonderful combination of business and pleasure. We had wonderful service, our perception of the restaurant /s (both food quality and service) was simply excellent. The location and proximity to a wide variety of offerings is certainly a winner. If you like a little hiking, Camelback is close and its a blast. They have a nice fitness center and convenient spa. If you want a wonderful get away and a great value, the Sanctuary should be on your list. Sometimes its the little things that make a difference; free bottles of water, free and accessible coffee every morning in the lobby, always filling up your ice-water at the pool etc... Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
A big thank you for great review, I agree that a true hiker's paradise is nearby and am glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit to Arizona! We hope to have you as our guest again one day soon.

Warm regards,

Jill Clark
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently stayed in a one bedroom mountain vista suite. Location was great - close to the airport and many places to eat and shop. We loved that it was within walking distance to hike Echo Canyon. I mention this because Echo Canyon had a parking lot but it was always full when we were there.

The staff was excellent and the food was amazing. The bar is fairly small but it was never an issue for us.

The room was spacious (1000 sq ft) but it was just ok - you definitely needed to wear the flip flops that the hotel gave you in the room. The one sink in the bathroom was an occassionally issue with my husband and myself (when you are each used to your own at home). The shower was great, the beds were extemely comfortable and the room was very quiet. The coffee in the room was great. The hotel has a lot of casitas but it never felt crowded.

We did not use the gym or the spa. We looked at them and the gym was very nice with a lot of workout equipment and the spa looked very nice.

It is a very nice 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasiVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much! Please feel free to let me know when you can visit us again!

Warm regards,

Jill Clark
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,918 - ₹ 74,483
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing