We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning”

Scalinis Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Scalinis Samoa, our restaurant is air-conditioned, with maximum seating for 70 people inside & 20 people outside. Our a la carte menu is a fusion of Samoan & New Zealand flavours, with a hint of Italian. We have set menu options for large bookings. Reservations recommended. Open for lunch: Mon - Fri 12-2:30pm & Dinner Mon - Sat 6-11pm, Closed Sundays & Public Holidays. Visit our website to see our menu and contact details. Your hosts: Joe & Amanda
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I must say the restaurant is very nice and cozy. With air conditioning. And the food was beautiful and delicious. But both me and my husband got food poisoning and felt bad all night and all the next day. (((. And this is one of the best restaurants in Apia

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Katiab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scalinis, Owner at Scalinis Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Katiab81, Sorry to hear you were ill. Could you please email us at scalinis@samoa.ws with the date you dined with us, the info on what you ordered and if you still have your invoice, the invoice #, so that we can look into this. Without knowing anything other than your post on TripAdvisor, we are unable to help or rectify the situation. Our full contact details are also on our website. Regards, Amanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Having passed Scalinis many times traveling over the Cross Island Rd into town on our trip last year we decided to drop in for lunch this trip. We are so glad we did. The food is absolutely delicious. We have eaten at many Italian restaurants in Melb (mainly Carlton) and Scalinis would be a winner in Lygon St. The scallops were one of the best I’ve ever eaten, the sauce a perfect balance that didn’t over power the scallops, as many do. The ravioli and pasta as good as Nonna’s! We will be back before our holiday ends. We need to try the pizza now.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Merri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Great food with great service. We went there at the last minute without a reservation and ended up having the best meal we had in Samoa.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Didn't expect to much Food experience coming to Samoa. But dined at a few Restaurants that would blow NZ restaurants away. I'm a big foodie an hard pressed to be pleased but WOW. if visiting i'd highly recommend eating here flavors will blow you away

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaakaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service and fantastic food. Thoroughly recommended. We had a day in Apia and decided to have a bite of dinner before returning to the resort on the south coast. Scalinis was recommended to us by a friend and it did not disappoint.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lynnelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scalinis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing