We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
30
28
20
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
28
20
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews including breakfast and dinner recommend this resort beach resort penina paradise samoa turtles tidy
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My partner and I stayed 5nights at Janes and we could not have asked for a better priced and beautiful place to stay. We booked online to stay at the Savaiian Hotel which received great reviews, however we found the TOTAL opposite so we left the next day and found Janes. For $70 tala per person a night including breakie and dinner its fantastic!! We had a wonderful breakfast normally eggs toast and 2 fruits and than a massive dinner which changes every night and can cater for the biggest appetite. We also found the staff very friendly and helpful calling taxis and opening the bar so we could grab drinks when it wasn't open. It is the most beautiful beach friendly staff and we will be back next year. :)

Room Tip: Go the beach fale its not only cheaper the shared toilets and bathrooms are always clean so deferentially worth the beach front view and sound of the waves at night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Over a four night stay, we really enjoyed our stay here with a beach fale right beside the beach. The style they offer is waht is known as a closed fael which gives you a private room and a covered balcony facing the beach.

Lovely lagoon to snorkle although it was a bit windy and there was a slight current running so you had to be careful to not to get dragged out to the reef but quite easily kept under control as long as you were aware.

Food was quite good with quite a lot of variety. The village provides hands of bananas which hang along the roadside opposite the main road and are free to take.

Good bar serving cocktails and beer and wifi internet through the local Samoan Lavaspot (18ST for one hour and you can log in and out at will). Met lots of interesting travellers at mealtime from Germany, Switzerland, Japan and NZ.

I was sick with a viral flu which I brought from NZ for a couple of days and Penina, the owner was very caring and kind. Thanks Jane's Beach Fales for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All along the beach front are the best rooms. If you want a quieter time, choose a fale at the eastern end of the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shordavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Janes is right on a beautiful white sand beach, one in a row of six or so resorts on Manase Beach. The property has about 27 fales, the older ones, like ours, of wood, and several cement bungalows back close to the road. It also has a beach bar with a small TV and pool table, an internet café, with two computers, an open dining fale, a small number of bikes for rent, and separate communal toilet and cold shower blocks. Our fale was simply a wooden structure with one room and a porch on which there were two chairs and a table. It had one (dim) old fluorescent ceiling light and a double bed with mosquito net. Sitting on the porch, the breeze off the ocean was stiff and very refreshing. The cost for our stay was 60 Samoan tala a night each, including breakfast and dinner (approx $60 for the two of us). The portions were Samoan-size – large – but the food was not good. We had intended to stay at Janes for 9 nights but after an unpleasant incident in the bar there on our fourth evening we left and stayed the rest of the time at Satuiatua Resort on the west coast, a much better place; although the beach is not as nice, the chef there is fantastic. See pictures here: https://plus.google.com/photos/113755521877849570783/albums/5649500917216043985?banner=pwa

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for one night and we did not have a booking. $70.00 Tala included breakfast and dinner. Our fale was on the beach and loved it. We later found out that you can have a self contained place with your own bathroom for an extra $20.00 so would book this next time. Food was great. highly recommend it.

Room Tip: if you don't mind sharing bathrooms then the fales on the beach is worth it or else also for the self contain units but they are not on the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just spent 5 nights here, with 4 of my friends, each in our own fale. It is the perfect place if all you want to do is read and swim. I stayed in a fale right on the beach, clean and tidy, really this is just glamping, (nice camping) The food is ok, really you get what you pay for, not great but meals were huge and it's too hot to eat heaps anyway. There is other places to eat locally. Bonus is meeting the other travellers at meal times! The bathrooms are very basic, bring your own towels and snorkelling gear. Beware of the rooster early every morning, he took his job very seriously so not much of a sleep-in to be had!
I would highly recommend..... Penina and Toe (family owners) went out of their way to help and are super friendly

Room Tip: go for the fales right on the beach, more breeze as it's really hot!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews