We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely idyllic location and great snorkeling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Namua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Namua Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Fabulous little spot, a quick fun ride over in a tinny and a set up on a little fale right by the water. Lovely staff, great dinner (got a vege special - thanks!). Breakfast was huge. Make sure you do the walk up to see the bats - very cool. Enjoyed a walk around the island at low tide too. The water is warm and a dip at sunrise was stunning. The stay would have been more comfortable with better netting to keep out the mozzies - we got badly bitten on the face :-( and perhaps coils would be worth supplying. They would make it more pleasant at dinner for sure!

Room Tip: all fales have views they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shereeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

What a spectacular place. We just went for the day and swam, snorkeled and read our books.

Lunch was simple but delicious (chicken, pumpkin and fried breadfruit).

It's obviously very basic but I think it would be an idyllic place to spend the evening. You'd want some mosquito repellent handy. Two nights might be a stretch depending on your need for a good shower and WC.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Did a day trip with my husband and four year old daughter & it was so beautiful and relaxing. The total trip was $110 (tala) for the return boat trip, lunch & your own fale. The food was sooooooooo good & it was nice to see some salad for a change, as we have really been missing our salad and vegetables while in Samoa!! We also loved that the boys climbed the trees for some fresh coconuts ($2). The snorkelling unfortunately was not what we had hoped for, and I am guessing that in part, it was to do with the recent cyclones. The boys will guide you to the top of the island if you wish; however we didn't know so left our hiking carry pack for our daughter back at the resort, but we wish we had of done it as it looked like the view would be amazing!! The walk around the island is challenging with a little one because of the slippery rocks, so it's not recommended unless you have a pack on to carry them but there were still other things to occupy her. She especially loved the swing, drums and dogs!! We were a little taken aback when we had to pay ten tala for parking our car at the pickup point but not a biggie. Also there are clean toilets & a shower which is always a plus!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a night on Namu'a Island and were spoilt to be the only tourists on the island apart from one other young couple. The trip to the island in the dingy was spectacular as the ocean is a stunning aqua blue and so clear that we could see turtles. The island is not far by boat but is remote. I would not call the accommodation a "resort" as it consists only of fales, a kitchen (staff only) and very basic shower/toilet facilities. The staff in the kitchen provide breakfast and dinner, and lunch can also be provided at an additional cost. For boat transfers, 2 meals and overnight in a fale, it is $120 tala. There are only two masks and snorkels available at a cost. The location truly is magic and there's a steep climb to the top of the island which offers some gorgeous views. We would definitely return however next time we would bring snacks, a large supply of water, and ensure our mobile phones are charged. We learnt the hard way as the staff left us for the mainland after dinner, we were alone on the island without electricity, food, water or transport. We had to wait hours for staff to return to the island the next morning to provide us with breakfast and water. It was not a good situation being stranded especially from a safety perspective, this is why I did not give this experience 5 stars.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AucklandGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

They offer a day trip or overnight stay in one of their fales on the island.
A day trip is 40 Tala + 15 Tala if you go for lunch.
Overnight stay is 120 Tala with dinner and breakfast included. Fales are really basic and so is the food, a lot of meat and we as vegetarians didn't really enjoy it. If you like some beers with your lunch, grab some with you as they don't have any there. But you can get fresh coconut, one of the boys climbed the coconut tree just in front of our eyes to get coconuts for us.
We had a very nice time on the island. At first, we thought it's not gonna be much to do around but in the end it turned to be the busiest day in our trip. Walking around the island is a must do! You can do it only when it's low tide - absolutely worth doing it. It takes good 2 hours, views are spectacular.
You can also take the little path going on a top of the island. Not as impressive as walk around the island.
On a way to the island, Sam showed us some turtles.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandariina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namua
0.0 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.0 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#3 of 29 in Apia
215 reviews
0.0 km away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
458 reviews
0.0 km away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
402 reviews
0.0 km away
Matareva Beach Fales
Matareva Beach Fales
#1 of 29 in Upolu
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namua Island Resort

Address: Samoa
Region: Samoa > Aleipata Islands > Namua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Namua
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Namua Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing