We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
63
25
5
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
25
5
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of January - I'd made a mistake on a hotel booking in Ushuaia, and this was the only place with room for us! Thank you!
We stayed in what was described as a "superior room" - in fact it was a wonderful log cabin (more like a house, actually), which was amazing. Very beautiful, with views of the surrounding woods, and a lovely log fire - we didn't need that really, as the heating was excellent, but we did light it one evening just for the atmosphere.
I'm not sure why anyone would complain that it's out of town - it didn't just move, it was there when they booked it, and the description of how to get there and the location on the map rather give that away!
It is right at the foot of the glacier chairlift, and that's a lovely trip to do, and walk at the top, even though our weather wasn't great. The area is stunningly beautiful
And yes, you do have to seek out the staff in the gift shop when the office is unmanned, but the gift shop is about 12 paces away from the office, i.e. the very next building.
Breakfast was fine, though it's worth mentioning that a cooked breakfast is available, but doesn't seem to be offered until you see someone else with it, and then ask! And if you ask for toast, you get one slice!
A lovely place, very laid back, and we found it ideal.

Room tip: The log cabins / houses are superb.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbres del Mar... U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cumbres del Martial Villa de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thanks so much for your review. ¡Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is outside Ushuaia (about 5 km). The rooms are small and the view is only for trees. The Spa is not working so it is not worth at all to go there. People not very polite and friendly. Reception closed most of the time (you have to go to the Tea Shop).

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pighis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 May 2017

thank you for your comment.
We are really sorry about the experience you had in our Hotel.
We are taking in count everything that you told us to improve and to provide the best service.
Thankyou for having visited us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is a series of cabins and cabanas that are located at the base of the Martial Glacier, which is the facilities' major plus. I paid approximately $300/night for a king size bed in a cabin that had a somewhat obstructed view of the Beagle Channel. The room was clean, but the smell of air freshener was a little overwhelming. The customer service situation is a little awkward as the only one that speaks English is the owner, but she is not around much. The staff on hand seem nice, but avoid interaction making it necessary seek them out to get their attention to get coffee in the morning, ask for a taxi to be called, have lunch etc. Breakfast was included, but was a simple meal of cereal, fruit, ham, cheese, coffee and tea. A plus for breakfast was the homemade toast. The restaurant is a tea house that attracts glacier tourists and serves excellent pastries baked on site. The sauna was not working while we visited. I enjoyed being in the mountains and out of the hustle and bustle of Ushaia, but feel that this hotel was very expensive.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbres del Mar... U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cumbres del Martial Villa de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thanks so much for your review, we will take your comments into consideration to improve our service. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Rather than here i will simply copy and paste below the email compliant I sent to the hotel after our visit. A complaint which i received no response to, much in keeping with the level of service afforded to us during our visit. I have never complained in writing before, nor posted on trip advisor. Anyway...

We stayed at Cumbres del Martial in a cabin for 2 nights on 9th and 10th March. We had been very much looking forward to our stay as it came towards the end of our honeymoon and the cabins looked very good. However, I am afraid we were very disappointed with our experience. I have listed below the problems we encountered all of which are unacceptable given the cost of staying in the cabins, with which we had expected a high level of service.

- The reception / office was closed on our arrival and at no time during our stay was it ever open.

- There was no information pack in our cabin and at no point were we offered assistance with what might be available to do in Ushuaia. Staying in a cabin high above the town we had been expecting to be able to organise our trips through the hotel.

- The only staff we saw were those in the Tea shop, and whilst there service was good, none of which were able to speak English which proved a big limitation on what we were able to organise through the hotel.

- The cabin (number 4) had a problem with its water supply which was coming in dirty and discoloured. We were not warned of this and were not offered bottled water to drink.

- On the second night the cabin's underfloor heating failed to work. We asked the staff at the Tea shop who said it was on maximum but the floor remained cold the whole evening.

We understand that we visited towards the end of the busy season, but regardless of this we still paid the full price to stay in the cabin and therefore expected much much more.

The whole experience was a big disappointment.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geewok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 May 2017

thank you for your comment.

We are really sorry that your experience with us was like it was and we are taking in count everything that you wrote us to improve and to offer a better service.

We understand everything we expect that you could enjoy our beautiul city.

Thank you so much for having visited us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Nestled at the base of Glacier Martial, the guesthouse exudes a quaint, cottage charm. In a very tranquil location, it really felt like we were in the middle of nowhere, but in a great way. We stayed in the huge standard room which was exquisitely decorated - snuggly sofa, candles scattered throughout and enormous bed with the most comfortable bedding. It was truly impossible to leave the bed in the morning! The terrace with forest view was a lovely spot to curl up with a book. Breakfast was lovely, served in the charming tearoom, and we enjoyed the homemade cakes and cookies among other tasty treats. They have a great fondue on their menu as well. The owner and staff were very warm and we felt extremely welcome during our entire stay. Only thing is that we wish we could have stayed much longer.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joey_boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 May 2017

Thanks you so much for your opinion.
We are very glad you had a really good time with us.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews