We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
65
52
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
52
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outskirts of town a free shuttle bus night stay the perito moreno glacier nice hotel flamingos lake taxi calafate tour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed at the Hosteria los Hielos for two nights in March 2017. The room was large and comfortable. Although it is located on the outskirts of El Calafate, the Hosteria provides a shuttle van to town. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed coming back from a day visiting the Perito Moreno Glacier to this quiet and peaceful place.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Quite a distance from the centre of town but it's a pleasant lakeside walk in, or take the free hotel shuttle in the evening. Our room was lovely and looked out over the lake. Ibis wandered over the lawns feeding all day.
On the down side, our only meal in the restaurant was unsuccessful. Also, we'd been told the hotel accepted US dollars but they don't so we had to use the credit card for the meal.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank cloistersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable Hostel and staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Perfect for our transition from hiking to the next stage our journey and holiday in Patagonia and so convenient for the Perito Moreno Glacier tour and visit to the excellent Glacarium Museum. A 45 minute walk along the promenade into town on the hostel's free shuttle bus.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank janelovel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

If you want the opportunity to observe Patagonian birdlife from the comfort of your warm room, this is the place. Los Helios is situated away from El Calafate town centre, by Lago Argentino and we found this to be a bonus. Flamingoes huddle in the water in front of the hotel and ibises are forever present, pecking the lawn. Quite an idyllic setting, with parts of the garden sheltered from the ever present Patagonian wind. The hotel is warm and comfortable, the rooms very spacious and service good. Packed lunches can be provided for those who are going on day excursions. Thank you Los Helios for making our stay very agreable.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on first floor. Very good views of lake
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located about 5 min drive from downtown Calafate. They offer a shuttle service which is nice if you don't have a car.

The hotel looks cute and cozy but it needs some improvements. For instance, the towels were of terrible quality.
The toilet seat was broken and stained and towel handles were falling out of the wall.
These minor issues could easily be fixed and would make our stay much more pleasant.
The breakfast was good and they prepare lunch boxes for hikes.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank LorenaFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews