We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and Fun”

Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen
Ranked #23 of 150 Restaurants in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bar De Tapas Comidas Tipicas
Reviewed 24 February 2018

They have a large outdoor seating area if the weather is good. The staff were fun as was the food and drink. Even their T shirts have a funny theme, but it uses a four letter word I would say relates to going number 2 in the bathroom.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

Great spot for a beer while hanging out in El Calafate! Our hostel staff recommended this place for great beer and delicious food and it really lived up to its reputation!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Diners (and drinkers) in Chopen are presented with a "flight" of five beer samples to taste before ordering. They are all very good: my favourites were the "Calafate" and the Porter.

They also offer a reasonably extensive menu: some of our group thought their dishes were excellent, others that it was "OK". On one of my visits, there was a bit of confusion over my order and I ended up with something which I would never normally order, but it was nice.

David and his staff are very helpful, and eager to please. The atmosphere is casual but friendly. There is seating outside, where it is great to sit with a few beers and watch the world go by.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Visited here while staying in El Calafate with out hotel close nearby. Good spot to drop in for a beer, great local craft beer and gets served in a tasting plate first up.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stumbled across this place after a recommendation by our guide on the way back to our hotel. We'd just missed the hourly transfer to our hotel (we were staying on the outskirts of the town) so killed 45mins with a couple of beers. The atmosphere was very good (lots of laughter), although if I am honest I've had nicer beers elsewhere in the world it was really good to support a local artisanal business and enjoy a local beer, the selection was excellent (dark, light, IPA, strong etc) and I only wish we'd had more time - we just discovered this place on our last night. If I returned to Calafate I'd definitely return to this place.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerveza C, Gerente at Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018
Google Translation

muchas gracias por su opinion
saludos
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing