We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Black Hake”
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Ranked #23 of 150 Restaurants in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The restaurant looks a little tacky from the road with bright Fluorescent white lights. The dining area reminds us of someone's kitchen!
The Chilean (?) Owner/ Waiter and his wife, were very welcoming, and we quickly warmed to their hospitality, We had the Black Hake cooked in 2 different ways. Definitely the very best ever.. Given the vast menu, we will definitely return to sample more seafood. Excellent all round.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ATeh888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We came two nights in a row, feasting on wonderful black hake - the amiable and proud owner showed us a picture of the 300-pounder caught in the Falkland Islands he’d recently bought - and cod that was fresh from Lake Argentina, seasoned and sautéed just right. The calamari was lightly battered and muy rico.

I’d hate to play the tourist, but to drink whiskey chilled with ice from Glacier Moreno was something special.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank chitan303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We were traveling along Patagonia and we really needed to eat some seafood after so much meat. The place in nice even if from outside it looks like much more touristic that what it really is.
We had the black code just grilled "a la plancha", with no dressing or sauce. It was sublime. Ciao

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MachuPicchu18112018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and son had wild Salmon, I had Merluza Negra, and both where delicious. In addition the service is great and the owners are super friendly. We really recommend the restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank ngmimassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Went here today for dinner. We got ravioli and milanesa. Both were good. Everybody else in the restaurant got fish or seafood. Really wish we listened to the owner and gotten the trout or some other type of seafood as well. All the seafood looked really good. The owner knew little English, but tried really hard and was extremely nice and hospitable. In the end, he was the host, server, runner and busier all the while making small talk with everybody. Awesome service.

Only issue was with the bill. The nasty lady running the bar and cash added a 60 peso charge for service. When we asked, she pointed to the plates, linens and the service that the owner was providing. The 60 peso charge amounted to a 22.2% service fee, which is more than any restaurant I've ever been to in either Canada or the States. Maybe it's because we didn't order any alcohol. Maybe it's because we didn't speak much Spanish. Or maybe he owner's wife is just a nasty old lady.

When we asked the owner what the charge on the bill was, he politely said that he couldn't read without his glasses. Then asked the lady to come over and explain. I think he was embarrassed at the charge on the bill.

Bottom line, get the seafood, the owner is great, expect a service charge of 30 Pesos per person.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing