We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bariloche Argentina, Alma del Lago Suites & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bariloche Argentina, Alma del Lago Suites & Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our stay at Alma was pleasant. It is only about one year old and about seven months of this time was during the Chili volcano eruption all but which shut down the Alma. They seem to be still in the new stages, some unfinished construction. Some are very small things (wall plugs not finished) but some are big (sauna not ready to use in the spa).The service was attentive. Food was good in dinnig room but one friend had bad experience with room service(language barrier). There were a few times when no one at the front desk spoke English, but we communicated ok. The hotel sits on Lake Nahuel Huapi, we walked down to the water, beautiful site. There is not a beach but it didn't matter we enjoyed an hour before sunset at the waters edge. We walked into town every day (10 minutes walk), found a number of great eateries. Good shopping.
We took a van tour of the lakes and mountain area west of the hotel, this is a must! Four hours with numerous photo stops and a chair lift ride to the best view I have ever seen in my life.
Dinner at Don Molina's (quite/ low light atmosphere) and Tony's Parrilla (bright lights and fun), two wonderful establishments. Be warned, if you go to Tony's go very hungry!! They cook right in the same room and the portions are large. Lunch at La Providencia, where Bebia will welcome you with a hug and the biggest smile ever.
We were followed every day in the restaurant area of town by our new friends, a group of town dogs. We found we were looking for them every time we left the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    283
    74
    32
    16
See reviews for
238
452
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hughson, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel was beautiful. Great location, just outside of town.
Staff was O.K,. They need a real bartender.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnmrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It's the first time I find myself in such a crazy position to define a Hotel. If you ask me, I would go back and also recommend it, but it's not balanced between its beautiful, modern architecture, nice service, unbeatable views... breathtaking to be honest, with some incredible designing mistakes that can easily be solved. It may sound as a contradiction, but such a well built place should improve in some aspects. It's easier if I just list the PROS and CONS so you can have a better picture:

PROS:
1- Beautiful place, really nice
2- Views: breathtaking
3- Pool and Spa: world class for sure, though they don't have bevarage and food service yet
4- Breakfast: among the best I've tried in hotels, with a magnificent view of the lake
5- Location: 7 blocks from downtown but outside the noisy areas

CONS:
- Incredibly small double beds. I'm 6'2 (1.86 mts tall) and I didn't feel comfortable. Try to book a room with bigger beds, even if it means paying a little extra. It would still be cheap for the hotel's standards. We couldn't get an upgrade, because it was Easter break and they were fully booked
- The bed didn't face the lake view, which is a small designing mistake
- No Air conditioning, which can be solved by opening the windows, but then mosquitoes will come into your room. Our room was a bit hot, so it was an issue.

I was able to enjoy our stay, but sleep quality was not good. The lake, the views, the spa... the bed, the hot room... mmm, tough call, but would go back if I could have a better bed.

Room Tip: Try to get a Suite if you can. Avoid the LAKE VIEW ones, unless you can get a LAKE VIEW SUPERIOR or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

the hotel staff has a perfect english and they are so keen to help and make your stay complete and wonderful (especially lovely Florencia). the afternoon macaroons they bring to the room are very surprising and delicious.
the room that face the lake are very big and spacious. the design is very modern and the breakfast is wonderful.
the location is excellent - not in the busiest part, but a short walk. it also close to some very good restaurants. bery recommended!

Room Tip: the rooms that doesn`t face the lake are facing to the road, and it`s realy worth upgrade them to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrien County, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Alma del Lago after the Edelweiss was overbooked (same owners). We were very happy with the substitution. Alma del Lago is a bit further away from the town center but quite lovely with friendly staff and drop dead views of the lake. It's about a 15 -20 minute walk to downtown although there are restaurants and shops within 5 minute walk. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening; good service and excellent food. Modern, clean line decor, pool and spa. Free internet access in lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.9 km away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
1.3 km away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.9 km away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.4 km away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#10 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#33 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Lago Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Property: Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,055 - ₹ 28,483
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alma del Lago Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma del Lago Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing