We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Charming is highly rated on Tripadvisor and they work very hard to maintain their reputation.
For our own personal reasons we wished to change room after the first night - not a problem to the polite staff who couldn't do enough to help.
All the rooms have beautiful views over the lake with private balconies.
The service was in general very good.
The breakfast and food generally was of a very high standard.
We had a very relaxing and pleasant stay and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltravelledAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are very glad your stay at Charming Lodge has been pleasent and relaxing. We believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we strive to make our breakfast excellent with high standards of quality in the products we used. We really hope to welcome you back at Charming. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    114
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
304
878
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Charming provides great rooms with extremely spacious bathrooms and balconies situated in an indescribably beautiful locale with one of a kind views. The location is ideal as it's easily accessible from both the airport and the town of Bariloche, but it's set in a much more lush setting than Bariloche proper. The staff was great, with Maria Jose in particular going well above and beyond what would be reasonable to expect. We got into town with practically nothing planned for our time in Bariloche and essentially chose all of our activities based on conversations with her. One of the best things about staying here was the range of excursions that often skewed quite adventurous to the purely relaxing days we spent lounging around Charming's idyllic grounds. The food at Stag was quite good and the in room massages were incredible. For those concerned, the ash from the volcano in Chile was only noticeable one afternoon in our five days in Bariloche and had no greater impact on us than a day of bad weather - we didn't have to alter any plans or make any changes at all and our flights in and out of BRC were both on time. We just lost our view on the day the ash kicked up, but it did nothing to lessen the great time we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nekoramentaisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Owner at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Friends of California, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Charming Lodge. We really appreciate your feedback about the volcano situation especially for those who want more real an updated information about Bariloche.
Greetings from all our staff and we hope to see you again one day. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel situated in a wonderful position over looking the lake. The staff of 18 from gardener to top man could not have been more helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, the king size bed most comfortable. It had a large jacussi/bath, sauna and shower/steamroom, we used them all! It was very peaceful, most of the noise came from the birds being chased by the resident small terrier! Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and orange juice freshly squeezed. The grounds are well kept with a large heated swimming pool. The weather whilst we were there was sunny and warm which gave us a chance to drive around the area to admire the views. It is a fabulous place, do visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethVCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Loved our stay at this place. There's a lodge-like feel to it, as the rooms are in different buildings on the grounds, with about three rooms per building. The room was extremely quiet and the king-sized bed was impeccably clean and comfortable. There was DirectTV with over 700 channels, a DVD player (with DVDs you could borrow from reception), and a sound system complete with a subwoofer. What really set this place apart were the in-room jacuzzi, with a TV you can watch while you soak in a bubble bath, a steam shower, and a sauna. We even had in-room hot stone massages. In addition to the beautiful room and grounds, everyone (and I mean everyone) who works here is incredibly nice and helpful.

The food and wine at the restaurant were tasty, and the room service options included huge sandwiches at a reasonable price. The included breakfast was delicious, with made-to-order eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, and fresh-squeezed orange juice.

Also, I looked at the negative reviews of this hotel, and they seem to be based on the fact that the volcano disrupted travel to Bariloche. When we went in February 2012, there was one day with ash in the air that obscured the view of the gorgeous lake, but it definitely wasn't the hotel's fault. If anything, the staff are even more attentive because they understand that the volcano has hurt tourism in the area. Even with ash and a rainy day, it was still a magical place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with in-room two-person jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiefromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We upgraded to a suite for three nights and enjoyed it very much. The room had a sauna, steam room/shower and a large bath/jacuzzi, the latter overlooking the bay. The reception staff were most helpful and we used the restaurant for three nights as the food was excellent, so no need to travel elsewhere. The Hotel is not far from the main town compared to the other good but large Hotel near the pier but we liked the feeling of this place rather than a big impersonal Hotel.
Its not cheap, unless you can get a deal, but a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with a suite rather than the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
13.7 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
10.4 km away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
4.7 km away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#11 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.5 km away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 km away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#5 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Property: Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,837 - ₹ 38,389
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing