We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
15
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane cattle horses condor alumine saddle riding river guide
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We stayed for four days with Jane. A most memorable experience. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute. My partner John has had very little riding experience but with the help of a very patient, understanding horse survived the experience. We took part in some serious cattle herding and felt part of the team. Thank you to all for looking after us. Also the endless cups of tea at the end of the day. The food is superb as is the hospitality provided by Jane and her friends/team. Amelia took care of us whilst riding, she was great company and we shared experiences with her whilst enjoying a superb picnic. The highlight of our stay was riding under a bright moon with endless stars with other guests. The accommodation is what you would expect from an authentic ranch, home cooked food and comfortable beds. All a bit hap hazard but it works very well. An excellent place to get the real 'gaucho' experience.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HJHAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Set in an indisputably spectacular setting, this ranch is an oasis amidst an eye-filling vista of scrub, with a backdrop of condor rocks and the beautiful river Alumine to raise the pulse of any fly-fisherman (or woman!). We had a memorable day's fishing with Alejandro Buchanan (the perfect guide - friendly, knowledgeable, polite, caring) on a beautiful day when the sun beat down and we were happy to be wading up to our thighs (no waders for us) to keep cool. And the fish ignored the heat and gave us enough action to keep us happy. On Day 2, wary that the enjoyment of the previous day's fishing might not be repeated, we walked through the scrub up to the base of what we came to call Condor Rocks, where from time to time you could see these majestic birds wheeling apparently effortlessly in upward spirals before disappearing from sight. Great experience. I think it fair to say that other aspects of our stay didn't quite live up to expectations, but then we weren't horse riders or totally dedicated fisherfolk who didn't mind when they ate. Evening meals at 10-11pm were too late for us. Which brought the overall rating down - for us, the experience wasn't as good as it could easily have been with a little concern for the wishes of individual guests but others have obviously found the place entrancing.

Room tip: We were happy with our chalet style lodging and heard no complaints from other guests.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

at the start of our trip to Patagonia we stayed three days with Jane. An amazing Hacianda - beautiful. We were warmly welcomed, other guests were all great fun, immediately was party time and fun. the food was amazing - the best steak on our trip. The highlight was helping (involved) with moving cattle. The horses were great, patient with very rusty rider!! But amazing experience being involved with rounding up beautiful Hereford cattle. Jane is an incredible person, amazing host and very active farmer. Pure joy to stay here

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TessaC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived at Huechahue for an eight days horseback riding trip from estancia to estancia organized by Equitours and stayed there for three nights. We loved it and had a wonderful time. The estancia is beautiful with large, tastefully decorated rooms, simple but comfortable. There are loans of soft grass and at night skies with endless bright stars. Jane, the owner, looks tough at the beginning but turned out to be sweet, warm and sensitive, and we had very interesting talks and good laughs with her. The assado was delicious, the stables and horses are well looked after, the property vast and we had magnificent, breathtaking long rides with her and the ranch's gauchos and staff - Louise, Emillia and Huan. We were pampered and every detail was thoutfully taken care of. We would love to go back. Had a truly dream stay in Patagonia.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited Huechahue in December, as part of a three week stay in Argentina, and it was - without a doubt - the highlight of our trip. Jane's welcome is warm, and genuine, and you feel instantly at home on her beautiful, peaceful estancia. We are far from experienced riders, but were matched with horses with perfect manners, that bore us over the varied terrain with ease. We saw condors, deer, wild boar; we picnicked and siesta-ed in the shade of plane trees, and - in the evenings - ate delicious food, freshly prepared by Jane and her team. The rooms were comfortable, with super beds, and the water was always hot. Nothing was too much trouble. Whilst there Jane organised a two day pack trip, into the mountains near to St Martin. I cannot recommend this highly enough - to canter across miles of mountain ridges, at 2000+m., with the Andes in the background, and the lake in the valley below, is something we will never forget, and sitting round a campfire, drinking mate, or - in my case - Malbec, before a blissful nights sleep in our tents, was paradise! We finished with a swim in the lake, and empanadas - perfecto! Thank you Jane - we hope to return one day - and Happy Birthday

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATE D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews