We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST TRAVEL AGENCY EVER”

Turismo La Posada Day Tours
Ranked #32 of 43 Tours in Salta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excursiones Diarias A Todos Los Destinos Del Norte Argentino.-
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I travel since 15 years and never experienced such a bad travel agency. We booked 2 tours, both tours have been cancelled or postponed - with late or no information in advance. The service was extremely bad, the owner completely unfriendly. In the end we could make at least the 2nd tour, otherwise the payment we made in advance of 1.000 Peso would have got lost (respectively receiving a voucher). We filed a complain at the Ministry of Tourism.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank heinestrassewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

WoW! We did the Salta - San Antonio - Salar - Purmamarca circuit and we enjoyed every minute of it! Martin the guide (Evolution) is brilliant, as the only non-Spanish speakers in the transit, he paid a lot attention to us and kept us informed the entire day trip. Fernando the driver should be recognized as well for driving over 12h in high altitude- was perfect. The tour itself is amazing and very diverse, starting parallel to the train tracks, climbing high while chewing Coca, enjoying San Antonio's local cuisine, picturing at the Salar and staring at the 7 colors hill - wonderful day to remember. Thank you!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Weiss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Both tours were well run. I was picked up from my hostel on time. Buses were clean and comfortable.
The guides speak in both English and Spanish. They make a real effort to talk about the area and answer any questions people had.
My favorite was Cafayate as the landscape is truly amazing.
Overall i would recommend this agency to anyone looking for some interesting day trips.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank andresb_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I have read some negative reviews and want to say our experience was great. Our first trip was to Cafayate and only booked 12 hours ahead. The bus was comfortable and yes it was a long trip but made more interesting by the guide who spoke in English and Spanish and told us lots about the environment and history. We did stop at designated places but it appeared all the other buses did also. It wasn't a big deal and we had plenty of opportunities for photos. The night before the second trip to Humahuaca the tour operator phoned and asked if we could change our dates due to Im unsure if it was an overbooking or and underbooking. We said we couldn't and this didn't seem to be a problem. I think he may have put us with another company but needless to say the trip went ahead. I felt this day was a bit more rushed and we only had a brief stop at Purmamarca-I would have liked longer. But once again the guide was great and the scenery spectacular. For all those that say you have to do a certain lunch etc. We didn't. There was no pressure to do so and we didn't take a walking tour around Humahuaca but explored by ourselves. The bus did break down but the driver resolved the problem and it gave us more time to look around. I have no problems recommending this company. They delivered what they said that would and in a friendly manner. The price was reasonable. Sometimes things don't go to plan but that's all part of the adventure

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank leanne363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Booked a tour to Cafayate with this group two days in advance, plenty time to sort out. As we were not staying in a hostel this was apparently too difficult to arrange pickup so we were asked to turn up at 6.30am to the bus rather than waiting until 7.30 to be picked up like the others. Bit of an early start but didn't bother us too much as we got our tickets. Turned up at 6.30 and nobody was there from the operators so sat on the empty, but large and comfortable bus for 45 minutes before someone came on board and told us we had to leave as we were not on the list for the tour (despite showing our ticket) and another tour bus would be arriving in 5 minutes or so to pick us up.

Something not quite right and 20 minutes later when the office had opened we showed our ticket and enquired as to what was going on. The guy in the office made some calls (without ever explaining what was going on) and then told us another bus would be picking us up shortly. It transpired he had actually been phoning other tour companies to see if they could take us instead. 10 minutes or so later we were picked up by a very small minibus which was far less comfortable than the larger bus we had been booked to go on to. Instead of getting an English speaking tour with other travellers (that we had specifically requested and been told we would receive), we were crammed in here with all Spanish speakers including families and very loud children (not the fault of this other tour company......just not what we signed up for!) The tour we did was not great, half spanish half English speaking (solely for our benefit), we did not stop to see as much scenery as we'd have liked despite the great views but instead got to spend time at cafes and shops......but again I guess that wasn't organised by this group so is that even worth mentioning?!

At one stop we saw the tour guide from Posada, asked what had happened and he apologised and said there had clearly been a mix up by the Posada, but this was nothing to do with him he was just a guide. He did say we should complain after the tour and at least then we would get a refund or a bottle of wine by way of apology.

So after the tour we went into the Posada office to complain that we had booked up, had our ticket and yet did not get onto the tour we wanted. The man in the office we spoke to could not understand what out problem was, his only reaction was "but you got to go to Cafayate, what's the problem" not realising that we had booked a tour with Turismo la Posada, we expected to get a tour with Turismo la Posada. Again he just responded "but you got to go to Cafayate, what do you want exactly". We asked about a refund and he told us to come back in 2 hours to speak to the administration staff then. At this point it was 7.30pm and there was no way we were going to hang around there another 2 hours just to wait to complain to someone else. I guess this is what he wanted. It was really the lack of an apology that irked the most about this whole experience.

Summary - they may be cheaper but there's a reason behind it. Do yourself a favour and go with someone else. Or even better, just hire a car and stop at the viewpoints on your own with all the time you want!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank cunninghamkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turismo La Posada Day Tours also viewed

Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 
Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to Turismo La Posada Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing