We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Salta”
Review of Ankara Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ankara Suites
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Salta”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We loved this hotel. Our room was basically an apartment with a kitchenette (not equipped with pots and pans for cooking, but we didn't need to cook). The rooms are new and very clean with heaps of closet space and very nice bathrooms. The shower was fantastic. Our only complaint was that the bed was only queen size when there was plenty of room for a king. There is a laundry room on the sixth floor and you can do your washing for free there. Breakfast is brought to your room at whatever time you want (you fill a form out the day before telling them what you want). Best medialunas we've had in Argentina. The hotel also has a gym, jacuzzi and sauna, though we didn't use these. Wi-fi is free, though it could be dodgy when we were there. We had service the whole time but sometimes you have to switch back and forth between networks. Staff are friendly and helpful. We've stayed at another hotel in Salta before and even though it was US$10 more a night, it was not as nice as Ankara.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 and 2 are far from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    172
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
175
204
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We found the apartments to be well located in a quiet area, not far from the town centre and extremely good value, so much so that we stayed there three times in all. Very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is pretty good but not really equipped for more than breakfast and drinks but very convenient to have a fridge and kettle. Breakfast is in fact included in the rate. Only negative would be it's not high on service but we didn't really need very much. Washing machines and dryers available, free wi-fi and free underground parking. Overall a very good deal. Tyr to get an apartment on a high floor if you're not an early riser as there is some staff noise in the morning (they use walkie talkie type radios to communicate). Otherwise found it quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francetraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southboundexplorers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed at the Ankara suites while in Salta getting repairs to our vehicle. We chose the suites because they have kitchens. We walked in off the street and were shown a huge room and offered a discount of 30% when we told them we'd be staying 5 days. Once checked in to the very nice suite we noticed there were no plates, cutlery or cooking utensils of any kind, just appliances. When we asked we were told some would be brought up, they never were. We had to eat out. Then next day we were told they had none of the utensils and we had to come up with all of our own stuff to cook. In a strange move, on the morning of our 4th day, the "manager" asked us to pay for the 3 days we had already stayed. We asked if we could pay after we had gone to town to check on our vehicle, they agreed. Back at the hotel we were asked to pay for the 3 nights at FULL PRICE. To our surprise the man who showed us the room and gave us the discount was no longer working there and we were only able to get 10% off the room price. After some argument, we reluctantly paid. As soon as the Visa bill was signed they told us we had to check out as they had sold the room. More argument and questioning ensued and we got nowhere. We had to leave our bags with them while we looked for another place to stay. It was a religious festival and we found no place. Back at the Ankara in the afternoon they now told us we could stay in an unfurnished room with no bathroom for $30US per night. They would put a bed, desk and chairs in the room for us. We had no choice but to agree as our van was still in the shop and there were no rooms in town. We went out again and when we returned they changed the story again and told us there would be no furniture but we could "sleep on a sheet on the floor for the same $30/night. At this point we noticed that all of our bags which we had left in a locked room were out in the lobby near the door not being watched. This included our computer and several cameras, which they knew about. We had yet another argument and eventually left the Ankara Suites. In the end, we have no idea why after three nights we were treated this way and toyed with. No explanation was given and the “manager” was quite smug. The suites spa facilities are quite nice, but management is unethical.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank southboundexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

My wife and I stayed there for the entire month of January. The manager, Nestor gave us a spectacular discount for staying so long, we couldn't turn it down. The rooms are compact, modern kitchette suites outfitted with electric stovetop, frig, and everything you need for cooking. The place is only 6 months old, so everything works perfectly, including the all-important air conditioning. Located just blocks from the city center, it is a three minute cab ride to the center plaza. There is 24 hour security, and we found it to be safe, clean and quiet for a downtown location. The cleaning staff for some reason has a tendency to knock on the door or call you in the morning to ask if you want your room cleaned, which was annoying if you want to sleep in. I instructed the staff to tell the maids to only clean the room if I was not there, and otherwise not to bother us. They took care of the problem after that. Make sure you take advantage of the sauna and jacuzzi on the 6th floor, as well as free washer and dryers. They also have a massage room, and for 60 pesos (about $15 USD) you can get a fantastic hour-long massage. My wife and I had one about 3x per week! There is Wifi in all the rooms. They give you a discount for paying cash. All in all, it was a great experience because of the manager's wilingness to accomodate any and all service request or complaints. They really go out of their way for you, which is nice when spending more than a couple of days in one place. We will be back there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibosanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.7 km away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.7 km away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 86 in Salta
742 reviews
0.9 km away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#19 of 86 in Salta
463 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#6 of 86 in Salta
914 reviews
0.8 km away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 86 in Salta
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankara Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Suites

Property: Ankara Suites
Address: Pasaje Zorrilla 145, Salta, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,361 - ₹ 23,253
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ankara Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ankara Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing