We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Candela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Candela
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

An oasis in a small city. Lovely garden & pool, quiet, tastfully funished in traditional style, helpful staff, secure parking. Limited breakfast, not buffet style.

Room Tip: Ask for superior double upstairs at end of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    103
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
198
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

La Candela is a small hotel well located in a residential part of Salta, the centre of town is short walk away. A good range of restaurants are also within a short distance of the hotel. The hotel is pleasantly set out, the garden and swimming being particularly nice and a great place to unwind after a days sightseeing. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was a good size and well set out. There is television and safe within the rooms, they would however benefit from the inclusion of a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Wi-Fi and a computer available for guest use. The breakfast whilst not extensive is quite adequate. All the staff were pleasant particularly the ladies serving breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Why did we find La Candela unique? It is a modest unpretentious hotel, the rooms though clean, comfortable and thoughtfully equipped are not too large, and there is no real kitchen so that breakfast apart, there is virtually no provision for food in the hotel. Yet the Candela has the unique quality of making you feel immediately that you are in your own home. And this happens from the moment you step in to the hotel lobby for check-in.

After checking in and at the end of a long and tiring journey we sat in the hotel's lovely rear verandah looking out onto a very pretty garden and a small pool and felt an absolute peace dropping over us. Since we were a little hungry they made us some hot toasted sandwiches and large delicious coffees, and we felt it was a truly restful quiet moment in what turned out to be a strenuous if spectacular journey of 2 weeks. Though the hotel has no catering arrangements, their ever smiling staff will make up a nice toasted sandwich for you at any time of the day, and should you wish to eat in, they will have dinner brought in from a neighboring restaurant and serve it to you in the breakfast room or patio as you prefer. There is also a bar, serving wine and soft drinks which can be enjoyed in their cozy lounge.

The house - and it is essentially an extended family house - is very well maintained, with quiet and authentic decor in an architecturally true regional building, and there is an air about it of understated elegance.The smiling staff, always the same familiar faces, whether at the reception or at the breakfast table are always kind, willing and eager to help. Its like being in a family.

The service at the reception is quiet, attentive and always with a smile, and if you have problems as we did, even with travel arrangements, they are very sincerely there for you. We would confidently go out leaving matters in their hands and come back to find our transport and onward hotel accommodation arranged. Clear of worries and in the certain belief that if there was a problem Inez or Florencia would be there with a solution was enormous reassurance for a couple who tend to get muddled up as we do with currencies and travel arrangements,

The hotel is extremely well located, a 10 minute walk from the central square, with its shops and banks, and just a hop away from the main attractions. If we were tired there was an excellent, reasonably priced restaurant just next door. The rooms in the hotel are without fuss and trimmings, but they are functional, friendly and warm, the furniture is period and polished, I was charmed by the old fashioned safe with a heavy old fashioned key, and essential items like a comfortable bed, desk, luggage rack, large wardrobe, hairdryer, large comfortable seating which could at a stretch be a third bed, and a comprehensive information list on the wall are there. The bathroom is small but functional with an excellent shower and a fine selection of toiletries.

The public part of the hotel is extremely charming, a comfortable spontaneous beauty that needs no extras and the deeper one goes into the house, the better it gets. La Candela is a place one does not forget easily, in the same way one doesn't forget good friends!!

Room Tip: A premium double is good value. Rooms are quiet. Though the view from our room was not as good as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank questkolkataIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
965 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were caught up in an airport closure in Iguazu Falls in November 2011 which meant we could not get to Salta until 2 days later; it took us that long to drive there (the airport was closed indefinitely).

We called the hotel immediately and spoke to Inez and asked to move our reservation out and this was refused unless we paid for another night.

When we arrived in Salta we went directly to the hotel and pleaded with them to just move our reservation from 2 days earlier - but it was clear all they wanted was more payment for another nights accommodation.

We actually ended up staying somewhere else in Salta as this left a very bad taste in our mouth.

The whole situation was extremely stressful and this hotels inflexibility added to the stress and cost considerably.

We would definitely not recommend this hotel - while it may be a nice hotel, don't expect them to do the right thing when you are caught up in a stressful travel cancellation/delay situation outside of your control (which is very common in Argentina!).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
DEAR,

Unfortunately your description does not corresponds to the real event that actually took place with an agent from the car rental company in Iguazu (who spoke Spanish) calling our hotel to inform us that you would be arriving to our city that same night at a late time. He NEVER explicitly requested a cancellation or a change of date.

Taking into account our telephone conversation with said agent, we followed the right procedure : we kept your reservation for that same day. Undoubtedly, if we had received a phone call directly from you (in English) our receptionist Florencia (who speaks English very well) would have been able to solve this problem in a different way, regardless of our cancellations policy –which you accepted when confirming reservation- that established a free-of-charge 72 hours notice cancellation. Maybe the airline company, responsible for such “captivity” event, should be taking care of the monetary aspects this situation has caused.

Kind regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We enjoyed 3 nights at this centrally located, charming hotel. We were there in spring but needed the A/C most days. Walked everywhere in town and had great dinner recommendations from the staff. Breakfast was good and provided eggs, yogurt etc., by request. Beautiful outdoor patio with comfortable seating-- for small corkage fee they served our El Cafayate wine in wine glasses. Our room overlooked the pool and garden as well as the teleferico in the distance. Nicely lit at night.

Room Tip: Rm 11--superior double has best pool/garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 km away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 km away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel del Virrey
Hotel del Virrey
#18 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#14 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Solar de la Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Candela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Candela

Property: Hotel La Candela
Address: Calle Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta A4400EAH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#7 Business Hotel in Salta
#8 Family Hotel in Salta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,152 - ₹ 9,293
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Candela 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old two-storey house hosts La Candela located in the heart of the city of Salta, only 500mts away from the main square.Its interior design mirrors a free expression of language emphasized by the contrasts of colors and furnishings. In La Candela some new styles are created, some others are merged, and sometimes old elements are recycled.La Candela's owners and staff put their best to make their guests feel happy and comfortable in this lovely city with beautiful landscapes nicknamed ...SALTA .. THE BEAUTIFUL SALTA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Candela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Candela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing