We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Igauzu”
Review of Melia Iguazu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our stay was delightful from the moment we checked in. Check in was quick and the bellmen were attentive and helpful. Our room was spotless, and the bed was soooo comfortable! The hotel has a wonderful gym open to all, and the breakfast spread was fantastic...great stay!

Room Tip: No need to stay on the side with views of the falls...you'll get a good view in all common areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,431 of 3,198 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

The first floor was being refurbished when we were there. Our room was 2nd floor. It had clearly not been refurbished but would be acceptable for most people.
Inevitably for the brand and location drinks and meals are expensive but the service is very good.
Breakfast is outstanding and there seems no problem in taking a small snack for later.
Evening meal was good but no better than expected at this class and food and wine were expensive. One evening we took a driver trip to the "stone jewellery" shop, the three way border point, the shops in town and an excellent restaurant - Roulade (or similar name) V good quality and reasonable prices

We arrived at the Brazilian airport and had a driver meet us, wait while we did the Brasil side and then take us to the hotel - worked very well.

Location is the key as other comments - view and possibility of access when park quiet is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My remodeled room was perfect, I didn't have any of the other mentioned problems, bed and bed linens were comfortable, breakfast buffet was great, no WIFI issues, had dinner one night and the chicken was a little dry but the rest of it was quite good. I spent 2 days here and 1 day on the Brazil side at Hotel das Cataratas, i perferred this hotel as i had a view of the falls from my room and slept with the patio door open so i could hear the roar. The other hotel is all about luxury but this hotel has the view, the noise of the falls and promixity to the side of the park where there is more to do, the ability to come and go into the park and avoid the mid day crowds just really can't be beat. As others have stated, the best time to see animals is definitely at the beginning or end of the day when the crowds are smallest, they do come right across the back lawn of the hotel. Don`t hesitiate to stay here! The only reason i rated it "very good" is the limited restaurant options. One important tip, if you are flying into the Brazil side, prearrange a car service to pick you up at the airport and take you to the Sheraton. It takes all the stress out of crossing the border. They also reminded me of the need to get pesos before heading to the park as that is the only way to pay the park entrance fee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Awesome location - you can walk into the park in matter of minutes.

Included breakfast at the hotel was pretty good. Grab a piece of fruit or something to snack on later when you're at the park. Not many food options in the park.

We ate dinner at the hotel since a cab ride to and from the city would be 250 pesos. Dinner at the hotel was pretty good. Expensive, but great portions.

Hotel pool was nice, gym is newly renovated. Free internet use 30 minutes at the computer lounge. Didn't try their spa services.

Room was average and basic. Small bathrooms, terrible bed linens, paint coming off of the ceiling, bed was so-so, a clock that didn't work. Leak in the shower glass so water would be all over the floor after a shower. I think the room was recently renovated, but done in a very budge manner. Given the price point, I expected more.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor and get a waterfall view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Yes the cost is relatively high but it is worth it, especially of you are only going for a short time. It is right in the park and offered great views. The best part is it gives you a head start on the crowds when the park is already open. You can get on the trail before the crowds and this allows for some great pictures. If you arrive after hours make sure you have Pesos. Even though the entrance to the park is unmanned (and the ATM is locked up) there is a security booth up the road that will collect the fee and they do not have an ATM, tough they will collect Reals at a poor rate.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Ghiatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
13.8 km away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,506 reviews
13.7 km away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
347 reviews
13.5 km away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,886 reviews
13.3 km away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
614 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu

Address: Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: ₹ 17,045 - ₹ 37,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing