We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,337)
Filter reviews
3,337 results
Traveller rating
1,167
1,332
560
185
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,167
1,332
560
185
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkiguazu fallsa falls view roomboat ridedevil's throatlobby barbreakfast buffetsheraton hotelbuenos airesthird flooramazing locationnice poolgarganta del diablolate afternoongreat view of the fallsboth sidespark closes
Filter
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 3,337 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Since most people will visit here once in a lifetime, this place is worth it! We had a view of the falls from our room (3rd floor or higher so we were able to see above the trees). Really liked to be able to hike the trails which were a short walk from the hotel. You are here to see the falls so staying here makes it so that you can see them your entire visit!

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher. Left side as you look out toward the falls.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MapleGrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Location: as other posters have said, this is the only hotel in the park, which makes the location ideal. You can see and hear the falls from your balcony and most common areas of the hotel. It´s about a 5-minute walk to see some of the larger falls (above and below), and a 5-minute walk to the train which takes you to the big daddy of them all, Garganta del Diablo.

The only way to get here from the airport is cab, which costs AR $110. To get to town from the hotel you can take a bus (before 8 pm) for AR $10 per person each way, or take a cab which is about AR $100.

Hotel restaurant -- breakfast buffet is substantial, varied and free. They have soy milk if you ask. The food was very good. Dinner was expensive and not great, not awful. Food anywhere but the U.S. tends to be more expensive than we´re used to, anyway. We took a cab into town one night in search of a less-expensive and more interesting option. We went to La Rueda, on the desk clerk´s recommendation, which was expensive but delicious and creative. For lunch one day we ordered Jungle Backpacks -- 2 turkey sandwiches, a granola bar, an enormous apple, bottled water, 2 chocolate muffins, a rain poncho and bug repellent.

Rooms -- we were upgraded to a falls view room, which was a great view to have. Our rooms were nice and big, each with two single beds (which seemed wider than twins but narrower than doubles). The bathroom is a bit cramped but has a tub and shower. You have to put your key in a slot by the door for any electronics to work, so if you want to charge things while you´re out you´ll need to leave one person´s key behind. The rooms were freezing. Turning the heat up full blast didn´t help much and was very noisy.

Health Club & Spa -- the workout room is great, with lots of machines, treadmills, bikes, ellipticals, free weights, hand weights, mats, towels, etc. The televisions on the treadmills didn´t seem to work, but that might have been hotel-wide, because the ones in our room couldn´t get a channel, either. There is a big yoga room, with too-thick mats, towels, blankets, eye shades, and exercise balls. The room seemed very cold to me, but I was there around 6:30 am, and no one else was there yet. The gym is available any time (I was there at 5:30 am). The locker room has a steam room and dry sauna, pitchers of ice water with lemon, and showers with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel (the water never got hot enough for me). The lockers are only for guests purchasing spa services. There is an outdoor pool, but the indoor hydrotherapy pool costs AR$110 per person for a 30-minute session. We bought that (anything to warm up -- it was freezing!) The attendant was insistent that we needed to stay at one station for four minutes, then move to the next, etc. (there were air bubbles, or waterfalls, etc.). Kind of goofy, but we did it and had fun, and she didn´t kick us out after 30 minutes. We have other spa services scheduled for later today.

Computers -- we got free wifi for being Starwood Gold members, but the signal couldn´t reach our room on the 2nd floor, so we spent a lot of time in the Sheraton Link (computer stations in the lobby). Always plenty of computers available. Each guest gets 30 minutes free, but if you have purchased wifi then you can stay on the computers indefinitely -- just kind of clunky how you have to navigate to make that work.

Service -- overall staff has been pleasant and helpful, the spa staff a bit less than others. Emails before our trip were answered quickly.

Room Tip: Falls view. We were on the 2nd floor far from the elevators, which was fine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

While the location is great and the lobby is very nice, the room and staff are average. My husband and I were only in Iguazu for one night and felt trapped at the hotel after our day of tours. It was an expensive taxi ride into/out of the park (where the hotel is based) for dinner, so we were stuck to eat at the hotel for dinner -- the food was average. The bar is very expensive (water is $5 USD) and there's really nothing else to do other than hang out in one's room or outside. Not sure what it's like to stay outside the park, so maybe being "stuck" at the hotel for one night was worth being so close to the falls. We used our starwood points to stay at the hotel and did not get a room with a view of the falls. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was average. There wasn't a single clock in the room, nor a tissue box. The shower had a glass door that didn't extend far and, therefore, the floor got really soaked after each shower.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

It was great to stay so close to the falls and only having to walk through the park to the falls and then return to flop into the pool. The hotel was a bit older but spacious rooms and comfortable. THey bave us ajoining rooms which was great. Meals were of a good standard and "colonial splendor" . The ceiling is quite low on the third floor hallway so watch out for sprinklers if you are over 2m tall! No complaints about the amenities really. Falls were unbelievable! Such power! Saw toucans and monkeys also.

Room Tip: There are falls view or forest view ( cannot remember exactly) We stayed in a forest view and they were fine.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank GoldenSandsCableBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We decided to go to Iguazu for a weekend while spending a week in Buneos Aires… Starwood Preferred members for more than a decade, we booked the Sheraton on the Argentinian side as it was too late to get visas to the Brazilan side where we would have liked to have stayed at the Orient Express Hotel.
After arriving from the airport from an early morning flight and already paying a fee at the entrance of the park to access the hotel, we discovered this rotten concrete bunker from the 70’s in the middle of the view to the Falls.
I guess the local management / franchisee thinks that the captive location allows them to rob you blind by offering the outdated amenities, paper thin walls, a decaying Spa, and crazy food prices. ($10 for a Coca-Cola, $25 for a gross plate of pasta at the pretentious restaurant that would not even compete with an Olive garden or Pizza Hut, average $100 for a 50 mn massage at the so-called Spa, $20 T-shirt at a sad commercial “arcade” on the side of the building etc)

Although the webside did mention some updating and renovation at the location, which usually refers to closed areas for paint and carpet upgrades, we were blessed with major construction at 9 am the next morning. There were a minimum of three different areas being jackhammered which radiated the vibration and noise throughout the building from the rooms to the lobby areas. After fleeing to the jungle trails and waterfall activities for some peace, we returned for an afternoon relaxation by the pool which was disturbed by the dismantling of a stage area assembled for an event prior to our arrival, in addition to the building construction activity.
Returning to our room, we found the noise even worse along with billows of white dust blowing in from the work areas that covered the room with 2-3mm coating. See attached video for example of the noise and dust.

What should have been a beautiful, peaceful trip to the falls, turned into an experience of money-grubbing vendors and commercialization to the detriment of the natural “wonder of the world” site that is the attraction of the destination. The helicopter tours hovering overhead remove the last bit of nature and tranquility that would have been expected on a hike through the forest to “visit” with the birds and wildlife.
Welcome to the worst of mass-tourism, financial extortion & disregard for customer experience.

Everything with the Sheraton looks derelict, the staff clearly doesn’t care anymore and treats you like cattle even with your Amex Plat. or a SPG card, except for one or 2 professionals at the front desk…there is no concierge service other than the prohibitive monopolistic Adventure guide that charges you $30 per person for 12 min on a zodiac skirting the water falls…and the hotel management is nowhere on deck, probably hiding in shame: actually, when we asked to talk to the front desk manager (apparently a local owner’s family member) he vaguely referred to his own patience and a disclosure on the website (maybe one fine print under the pictures ?) finally giving up a royal 20% discount on the bill, as if the remaining $250 paid (plus 21% tax) for this experience were still justified…

Why the Starwood Group would allow this establishment to flag the Sheraton brand is unfathomable & unacceptable both from a customer & business perspective, even if this is a franchise… if the hotel management was not so greedy & had some basic decency and respect for the hospitality business, they would simply take the only adequate and courageous executive decision: close the hotel for 1 month, get the much needed renovation fully done once for all and in the meantime don’t abuse customers by letting them book / come from so far to rob then blind with this horrendous experience.

So, Travelers, just save your money, book somewhere in town and commute to the park…or just stay at the well appointed & managed Orient Express Carataras on the OTHER side of civilization !

Room Tip: Just don't go
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeDiscerningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonIguazu, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, they are actually very constructive. First of all we would like to express our sincere apologize for all inconveniences you had to encounter during your last stay. As you said it we are renovating our first floor to continuously improve our services and the lodging quality our guest deserve. This year the renovation of all the hotel’s rooms will be finalized.
The event you mention was an international cultural event, Iguazú en Concierto, which the Sheraton yielded the space to do it.
We take all comments seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We were under the impression we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention. I am sorry if this is not the case. We are looking forward to being of services to you again in the next future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews