We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting and fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Carmelita Hotel Rural
Ranked #4 of 48 San Rafael B&B and Inns
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting and fantastic experience”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Finca La Carmelita for three nights mid way through our Brazil and Argentina honeymoon.

It was a wonderful place to stay and our host Nicole made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and brought us a glass of wine from a local vineyard while we sat out in the sun. The setting is perfect, surrounded by orchards and vineyards and set against the stunning backdrop of the Andes. The Finca itself was welcoming and very comfortable, the food delicious (try Nicole’s special Fondue!) and we loved pottering around in the house, which was full of treasures that Nicole had collected on her world travels.

The rooms were clean comfortable and, despite it being winter, warm. Every room has uninterrupted views across the orchards to the Andes and a terrace to enjoy the view from.

One of the highlights of our honeymoon was the afternoon that we spent with Nicole and friends enjoying a traditional Argentinian Parilla, Fernet and great company, followed by an exhilarating horse ride. Thanks for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In case you don't want to read a long review, let me just say this: if you are considering staying at the La Carmelita, just do it. It's clean, comfortable, well-organized, friendly. Done.

If you'd like more information, here it is. My family stayed at the La Carmelita for three nights in late December, 2011. In researching the area I chose a couple places to stay because of their good reviews on TA. They both sounded great but the reason I chose La Carmelita was because of Nicole, the owner. She responded to every one of my emails promptly and with courtesy and humor. It was a very good decision.

For me, it was difficult to plan a trip to San Rafael because I don't speak Spanish and many of the local businesses aren't functioning online in English. Nicole offered to help me and offered a list of fun activities we could do with our boys, ages 12 and 13. We picked a few and Nicole set it all up for us. It all sounds simple enough; it wasn't. It was a ton of work for her. One company was closed the day we wanted to be there, one wanted a bank transfer as a deposit which was very difficult for me, etc., etc. But Nicole interceded for us and it all worked out. If you are interested in the activities, I'll include them at the end.

Now about the finca itself. In my opinion, the photos couldn't do it justice. What you can't see is the tranquility or how truly beautiful it is. There is a main house and two guest room buildings. Each of the rooms has a covered back and front porch with a view of the mountains in the distance and Nicole's orchard and vineyards. Late one afternoon, we sat on our porch and watched a storm come in. Amazingly beautiful. There are many amazing varieties of birds - burrowing owls, scissor tail swallows, some variety of acipitor that walks around on the paths and patrols the grounds. Breakfast is served on the porch of the main house, and was typically coffee, OJ, good warm bread, home made jams, ham, cheese and yogurt. Nicole will keep other drinks in the fridge for you.

A couple other notes: Manuela is a woman who worked at the finca while we were there. You couldn't ask for a nicer person to spend time with. In addition to everything else, she took us out to ride Nicole's horses one morning and let me tag along to feed the animals one afternoon. Gustavo is Nicole's partner and we really enjoyed spending time with him also.

A huge plus for me are the animals at the finca. The horses are great. They are real horses, not tired trail horses, and they each have a lot of personality. There are also geese, chickens and hilarious young llamas. But the stars of the show are the dogs. I think Nicole only has 3, but others seem to show up..

Here are activities and restaurants we loved:
Actives:
River rafting with SportStar rafting
Sand Dunes with Bruni Aventuas: place it in your budget, do it.
Horse riding at La Carmelita: loved it.
RESTAURANTS:
Francesco- fine dining
Algodon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is like visiting family. Quiet and comfortable setting with the most friendly staff.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Left_Coaster_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We arrived at La Carmelita late at night, around 11PM, as part of a six day, first time visit, to the Mendoza wine area. We were drawn to San Rafael because we hoped to spend some time in the agricultural center of Argentina, away from the currently well beaten path. We split our time between San Rafael and Mendoza, three days each. We did not expect that our time in San Rafael would be a highlight of our time in this part of Argentina, but it was. This was definitely a “value adding” property and staff.

From our unorthodox late arrival to all aspects of touring Mendoza, Nicole and her staff worked tirelessly, and patiently, to make sure our questions were answered and our touring arrangements made. Our time under her guidance was crucial to the success of our trip and the hospitality she provided at La Carmelita was vital to giving our trip to Argentina a true high point.

Nicole has built a truly lovely and comfortable environment at La Carmelita and staffed it with thoughtful people. As I write this it reminds me that we miss her and her Finca and hope it won't be too long before we visit them again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel is off the beaten track by a couple of kilometers but it is well worth travelling down the road to find this relaxing oasis in the countryside. It is clean and friendly with a nice pool and country views. The staff are really friendly and can arrange for Jose to come onsite to provide a wonderful massage for you. Nicole the owner is very warm and friendly and they will prepare meals for you in the evening with advance notice. We had a wonderful relaxing stay and will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.
Thanks Nicole
Jon and Gill Winnipeg Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelc00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Rafael hotels
9.6 km away
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
7.2 km away
Suter Petit Hotel
Suter Petit Hotel
#3 of 20 in San Rafael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.1 km away
Algodon Wine Estates & Champions Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Complejo Puesta del Sol
Complejo Puesta del Sol
#19 of 20 in San Rafael
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
26.6 km away
Cabanas del Cerro
Cabanas del Cerro
#3 of 128 in San Rafael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
7.7 km away
Colorina Hotel y Spa
Colorina Hotel y Spa
#74 of 128 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmelita Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmelita Hotel Rural

Property: La Carmelita Hotel Rural
Address: Carmona 2500 | Las Paredes, San Rafael 5601, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,171 - ₹ 7,046
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
country house hotel on a working farm. 10min outside of town. very calm with superbe view over the andes. swiss owners are personally taking care of the guests. big rooms with privat bathroom, tv, air condicion (warm/cool) and terrace with good view. visit the farm and their plum-, olive and walnut trees and cabernet sauvignon grapes and our horses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Carmelita Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing