We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy atmosphere and friendly staff in nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caseron Porteno B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #42 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and friendly staff in nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Caserón Porteño! Though quite simple, the extremely friendly staff and cozy facilities make you feel confortable and at home. You have to walk a couple of blocks to ge to Palermo main areas or to the subway station, but the location is still quite good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarissaLacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    65
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
78
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our stay was peaceful, we slept so well in a comfortable, spacious room that had a large bathroom and T.V. The air conditoning worked well and quietly and furnishing was more than adequate. The owners welcomed us and made sure they provided support at all times, information how to get around etc and both spoke very good English. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts lovely. We could access the kitchen when we wanted to and could have hot and cold water and use of the fridge and oven. Shutters over windows provided shade from heat and light and the ground floor room meant we didn't have to haul luggage upstairs. Dance lessons were professional and provided 6 days a week. The hotel is so quiet away from the traffic noise and pollution, safe with key access to residents, close to dance halls, shops, banks, restaurants and the underground (Subte). The garden is a delight and picturesque and the lounge comfortable, has internet and plenty of helpful reading about places to visit and the city and country too. The hotel would suit any traveller.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the ground floor, quiet, comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Allthough this place is definately not 5 star, it is affordable and good for a stop-over near Jorge Newbury Airport with some very good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Initially we were a little worried as this location is not exactly in the Buenos Aires hot spot but very soon we were incredibly happy with our decision. The hotel is located in a very safe neighbourhood in Buenos Aires and is a cheap taxi ride to all the best restaurants in Palermo which to be honest is the best spot to eat out in Buenos Aires anyway which is quite far from the main city centre anyway. Plus the hotel is right next to the train which is super cheap and fast so makes little difference. The hotel is located near lots of supermarkets (one very large 2 story one) and the kitchen at the hotel is very well equipped, perfect for travellers who are staying a while and want to do some cooking as we did. When we did go to the city centre we were so pleased that we had chosen to stay at Caseron Porteno as we felt that we were away from the touristy part and were experiencing true authentic Argentina but still in a nice area. Our room was very comfortable and we thought that it was really good value for what we paid, it was nicer than expected. Yes it can get a bit noisy as you are on the street but nothing some earplugs won't fix. I slept fine the entire time I was there. I really enjoyed sitting down to breakfast in the communal breakfast room and having toast and coffee every morning and chatting to fellow travellers who we got to know well and had some nice evenings out together. If you want a homely family feeling, meet people then this is the best place to stay. We will definitely be recommending this to our family and friends and would definitely stay there again. I particularly enjoyed having a wine in the lovely courtyard in the evenings, it was just magical.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Caseron Porteno is an old house in the not-terribly-glamorous suburb of Colegiales. Once you understand that, you will probably not be troubled by unrealistic expectations. Standard rooms are VERY basic - the suites on the courtyard are much better, but even they have very little sound insulation, and you will hear everything your neighbours say and do. It's just as well that there is an atmosphere of "intimacy" at the B&B - you will get to know other guests, you will sit with them in the breakfast room, and you will probably end up dancing with them in the nightly tango lessons. These lessons ("free" for guests, every evening except Sunday, 7.30-9pm) are well-organised and inclusive - they accommodate all levels quite happily, and there is no pressure at all to attend or to dance - just suit yourself.
We stayed here for 15 days in three different bursts while travelling around in Latin America... and you don't keep coming back to a place if it's no good, do you?
The appeal of Caseron lies mainly in its staff - the managers, Daniel and Cinthia, are very knowledgeable, helpful and flexible. You can believe what they say, and you can rely on them to do what they promise. We arrived late at night, we changed rooms, we had them change rooms for us, we left all our gear while going off to Peru and Brazil - nothing was too much trouble.
Honest criticisms? As notices tell you, there is an "ancient plumbing system" to cope with; the breakfast (like in most of Argentina) is ALL sweet stuff - Australians, bring Vegemite!
Good points? Apart from the staff, the tango lessons and the overall atmosphere mentioned above, the garden is pleasant, the location is handy to the bus or the Subte, and you are only a short walk from Belgrano or Las Canitas where there are plenty of trendy restaurants and cafes.
If you have any interest in tango, or you want to learn something about it, if you don't want too much glamour, you don't mind being out of the "centre", and if you want to stay with trustworthy people, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#21 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Palermo
248 Finisterra
248 Finisterra
#192 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#51 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Biarritz Hotel B&B
#30 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Palermo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
#15 of 273 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Property: Caseron Porteno B&B
Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,487 - ₹ 3,927
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing