We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palermo Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #42 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Very friendly owners and kitchen staff-nothing was too much trouble and the restaurant suggestion was an excellent choice -we went there twice{Puratierra}Watched some of the tango lessons held on the premises.and could have had a free lesson.
Some rooms better than others and quieter-ask for a courtyard room with en suite.
Liked our first stay so much that we returned there for our last night in B A

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard room with en suite
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Caseron Porteno B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were greated with warm and friendly hospitality.
We enjoyed the Tango lessons, and I loved the morning greatings
by Maria the cook, but also the soul of the house.
Everybody gave us great advice, where to go and what to do.
It was a very wonderful time.

Room Tip: The suits are great, rooms towards the street are noise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Galina and Dmitri, Canada, Toronto

My boyfriend and I spent at Caseron Porteno three weeks at the end of August-mid September. Our main reason for coming to Buenos Aires was to improve our tango dancing skills and get the authentic tango experience.
Do not quite understand why, but hotels are really expensive in BA, and most of them are located in the city center, which is very noisy and polluted, so guesthouses are a good alternative.
I did some research amongst a few guesthouses in Buenos Aires before picking Caseron and could not be happier with my choice.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to give us any kind of advice: how to navigate in the city and get to a certain point, where is the best place to exchange money at the highest rate, places to eat, etc.
Maria – the house ‘queen’ – was like a mother to us; and we miss her morning coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice 
Make sure to use Tango pamphlet/ map that Caseron has available; it has all the info on tango activities in the city that you would need: milongas, practicas, classes, shoes stores, etc.
The house has a beautiful dance studio that you can use anytime you want. There are tango classes every evening (except for Sunday), and they are free for the house guests.
That was a big ‘plus’.
We liked all the teachers that come into the house, but our favorite was Maya.
In my 3-year dancing ‘career’ she is one of the best teachers I have had. We took quite a few private lessons with her, and both made a major progress, so we highly recommend her.

Careson is quite a big house with a few suites (that have private bathrooms and fridge in the room) and regular rooms. There is a beautiful courtyard, where you can sit outside and enjoy the weather (unfortunately, we were able to do this only the last couple of days of our stay as the weather got warmer).
Our suite was great, facing the courtyard, very bright and quiet. There is a big nice sitting area in the house with lots of reading material and a computer. There is also a perfectly working wifi throughout the house. If you want to make lunches/diners yourself you can use the kitchen and everything in it – we took the advantage of this option. Also, kitchen is always a ‘meeting point’, where you would meet other guests of the house, chat, share experiences; we enjoyed that very much.

The house is located in the safe and pretty area of Buenos Aires and is only 5 minute walk from the bus and subway stations, which was very convenient. It takes only 30-35 minutes by subway to get to the center. But Microcenter was not my favorite part of the city – too noisy and busy with traffic and very polluted. I really liked Ricoletta and Palermo Soho, both with plenty of cafes/restaurants and nice trendy shops.
The best and fastest way to navigate BA is subway. The subway system is quite extensive and has very big coverage, but it closes quite early – around 11pm. And it looks like the last trains are free: the ticket offices were closed and gates were open (at least it was our understanding).
Taxies are quite cheap, so we were using those a lot when going to milongas at night.

Room Tip: There are a few suites in the house that have in-suite bathroom and fridge. Other rooms have private...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I came in a few days later than Terry M who wrote an aboslutely truthful review and so I would rather focus on the fact that it being my first time in BsAs...they assisted me in navigating the whole area and even helping me out by giving me tips on how to save on my commute. I got lost a few times but the walk back helped me lose a few unwanted lbs. The location is in a pretty safe area , near to bustops and the local Subte and since BsAs is awake at night, walking home sometimes alone is not scary.The owners and staff are very warm, and always there to help out. It is the perfect place for solo travellers as well as those who are new in BsAs. I arrived there early August (winter) and the cold was not harsh at all. You will find yourself meeting different people from different backgrounds, and this adds to the charm of the place. Although, I must say, don't expect first class amenities because it is a bed and breakfast. If you want a home, tango information, travel tips, good company, a hearty breakfast in the morning ...Caseron Porteno is the perfect place. My vacation was full of beautiful memories...thanks to Daniel, Cinthia, Maria Jimena and their staff. By the way, my tango friends were amazed at the amount of information I had on milongas, practicas and the Mundial festivities which the Caseron had.This is the difference in staying in a B &B compared to renting an apt. Plus you don't have to pay a huge security deposit.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the garden and on the first floor if you have lots of luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Nosotros(Luis Javier y Clara) recomendamos altamente hospedarse en Caseron Porteno sus duenos Cinthia y Daniel le brindan al huesped calidez en todo aspecto nos sentimos como en casa Caseron Porteno es un rinconcito alegre y pintoresco sus hermosos jardines te invitan a disfrutar de tan acogedor lugar y que decir de los deliciosos desayunos que te brinda Maria . A Daniel Cinthia millon de gracias por tan inolvidable acogida y por su amabilidad igualmente a Georgina su asistente

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcny517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Belgrano
Urbanica the Libertador Hotel
Urbanica the Libertador Hotel
#113 of 443 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
Palermo
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
#35 of 443 in Buenos Aires
320 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#16 of 443 in Buenos Aires
418 reviews
Biarritz Hotel B&B
#29 of 256 in Buenos Aires
105 reviews
Palermo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
#15 of 256 in Buenos Aires
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: ₹ 2,441 - ₹ 3,855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing