We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, with little english.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Promenade
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff, with little english.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

The hotel was in a very good location just opposite a good restaurant and 2 blocks from the main pedestrian shopping area. The hotel is a little old but the staff were friendly. However there was little English spoken but we were able to make ourselvdes understood. The room we had was at the rear which was quiet, fairly small but comfortable. We felt safe in the area despite all the warnings.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    67
    82
    25
    7
See reviews for
43
67
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

I stayed here in February 2010, with a friend, on our journey down from England to Antarctica. We flew from England, via Paris, and stayed for two nights before we flew on to Ushuaia to join our expedition. The hotel was part of a travel package we had booked, along wih our Antarctic expedition, and so I cannot really comment on the room prices, they were contained within the overall package cost.

I was a little unsure of the hotel when we arrived, the local area seemed very slightly run-down. However we were very warmly welcomed by a very pleasant girl on the desk, and our bags quickly whisked up to our room. The room itself was quite small, with a good view of the light well and all its aircon units, but we didn't come for the view. The aircon units didn't create much noise and with the window closed were unobtrusive. The room was rather warm and we had some trouble getting the air conditioning to work, but a quick call to the reception desk soon sorted that. The bathroom was small, as others have commented, but well fitted and very clean. The beds were comfortable and clean also. Breakfast was taken in a very large dining area in the basement and offerred a large selection of meats, cheeses etc. with good service from a friendly lady at the counter.

The room next to ours was undergoing a complete refit, as were others in the hotel. Apparently the whole hotel is being totally refitted and was nearly complete when we were there. The refitting process did not affect us at all, as all the work was being done during the day. We had no experience of dust or noise at all when we were there. This means that some of the comments of "run-down" rooms in earlier reviews probably do not apply now.

The reception staff were helpful with directions, and advice, helping us to find the local attractions etc. The hotel itself is very handy to walk into the main shopping areas around "Paraguay" and "Cordoba" streets, and is also close to some sightseeing areas. Also around are many bars and resaurants of all sizes.

We had a wonderful meal at "Las Nazarenas" restaurant, on a nearby street called Reconquista. This is a "Parilla", which is a restaurant specialising in barbecue style cuisine. Apparently it is considered to be one of the best in Buenos Aires, or even in Argentina. Certainly the meal we had was the best steak that I can ever remember having. The place itself was very interesting having an Argentine style barbecue in the main window. This takes the form of a large pile of burning logs, campfire style, around which are arranged several metal frames on which are fastened various joints of meat, principally lamb, but with some beef also. The main steaks, such as the ones we ordered were cooked on a more traditional barbecue grill. While our steaks were cooking we had starters, and a beer each, then an excellent Argentine red wine with the steaks, both the meat and the wine were absolutely delicious.

We were scheduled to stay at the same hotel some weeks later, on our return from Antarctica, and enquired if we could leave some un-needed summer clothes, in a bag, with them until our return. They were very happy to do that, they placed the bag in their bag-room and gave us a receipt to claim it back again on our return, it was "not a problem".

On our return, three weeks later, we were warmly welcomed back again, and had another comfortable stay. Needless to say the bag we had deposited earlier was returned to us promptly on request.

All in all a very pleasant and handy budget hotel for visiting Buenos Aires. I recomend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Him_n_Her-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

I quite liked my stay at the promenade hotel in Buenos Aires. While I will agree the rooms are rather small and the shower wasn't the best I have ever had in my life it had a nice feel to it. The rooms were perfectly comfortable and I found the staff friendly even when practicing my very bad Spanish. Overall it's a nice little boutique hotel in BA.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

I stayed at the Promenade a month or 2 ago and have to say it was much much better than I though it would be. I was a little bit scared to stay here after reading some reviews but everything was really new and looked like it had been recently refurbished. The staff were lovely and the location is good. My only criticism was that the rooms were kinda small but I think that's just the norm in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Grr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

The lady in the front desk RUDE!!!
The rest of the staff, a B+.
The hotel rated 3 ***, not even close, at most 1 star...
bathroom nasty, toilet seat made out of wood and all the paitn off the rim...nasty!!! the tiles with mold, no courtain shower; needed to argued to get new towels.
The carpets in the room nasty, smelly.
Location is great and the breakfast very good.
The manager, after a complaint moved us to a "superior" room for an extra A$R 86 (about U$S 28) per day...absurd.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#406 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Retiro
Waldorf Hotel
Waldorf Hotel
#181 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Retiro
Feirs Park Hotel
Feirs Park Hotel
#84 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Hotel Sheltown
Hotel Sheltown
#262 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#69 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Retiro
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires
#238 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Promenade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Promenade

Property: Hotel Promenade
Address: Calle Marcelo T de Alvear 444, Buenos Aires C1058AAD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,618 - ₹ 4,319
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Promenade 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing