We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old-fashioned approach to luxury with decent service for adequate price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lion d'Or
Ranked #291 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful old-fashioned approach to luxury with decent service for adequate price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

One of the best experiences through the world.

Location is the heart of Recoleta, one of the quietest areas in BsAs. Major attractions are within walking distance. Hotel itself is small mansion in Art Deco style (mixed with Neoclassic and Art Noveau features), very convenient, clean, and comfortable to stay in. For people, who likes sunbathing, there is the terrace on the roof.

My room was very spacious with original walls, marble fireplace, and unique parquette. There are some minor dated downmarks, and the walls can be less sound-transmitting, but at the same time it creates special atmosphere of old-fashioned approach to luxury from the beginning of 20th century.

Breakfast is not included in price, and is being served at the cafe just 1 block away - quite nice place to have decent meal before walking through amazing city.

On of the most positive things is the service, which I appreciate a lot. Accurate, respectable, tactful - just amazing. Special thanks to Gabriel, whose English was very helpful.

I highly recommend this place for people, who is looking for true Recoleta experience during their stay in BsAs. Bravo!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikhail_Pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
35
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

I stayed here twice in November 2010 with a friend. The first visit we had room #121. It had 2 twin beds and a queen bed. The bathroom had a toilet where you had to pull the cord to flush the toilet.

On the second visit we had room #119. This room was noisier than the first room. It's on the street, but the street noise wasn't too bad. Room #119 is right by the elevator and we could hear it every time it was used. This room had a queen size bed and a twin bed.

Both rooms had AC which was nice after walking around the city all day. I think the location was very convenient to Recoleta Cemetery and the Art Fair that is near there on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasingSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

If you are on a budget, but want a safe area - this one is for you. Shabby, but clean. Quiet. Use the web site discount and get a day free for each 4 days you buy. The 220 peso room w/bath is quite small. We wanted the large 250 peso one, but none were available. I was able to use the shower without getting the floor wet. Bed was not comfortable. Toilet has a surprise. Everything worked properly, and hot water always available. Staff was helpful. This hotel is CASH in pesos only. Take US dollars and exchange for pesos at any Banco Nacion.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfulRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

The hotel is in a convenient location in Recoleta. This was our second visit to Buenos Aires. We first stayed at the Intercontinental but like the Recoleta area much better even though the IC itself was very nice. Although breakfast is not served, there was an excellent bakery around the corner. We mainly used this place to sleep, shower and change. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke enough English to get basic information. A pay laundromat is nearby. We arrived without a reservation and were happily accommodated bit we did have to change rooms at least three times during our stay. We were happy to at least have a clean and comfortable place to stay. The hotel only accepts cash. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISPpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This was a find that we would recommend to anyone. The hotel is in the safest part of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta, with fabulous restaurants and patisseries nearby (we liked Louis XV patisserie). It is next to BA’s stunning cemetery. The rooms are huge and comfortable – parquet floors, high ceilings, old European feel. TV has English channels. Bathroom is a little poky but water is hot all day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#347 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Prince
Hotel Prince
#261 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Recoleta
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#327 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#303 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#159 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#251 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion d'Or

Property: Hotel Lion d'Or
Address: Calle Pacheco de Melo 2019 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1126AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,269 - ₹ 4,019
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lion d'Or 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have over 10 years of experience in the sector, the Hotel Lion d'Or is a stylish, comfortable, with a familiar and highly personalized attention, making our hotel your best hosting experience. Our hotel features: 30 Rooms with and without balconies, central heating, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, Wi-Fi, digital safes, vending drinks and snacks, terrace, lift, breakfast optional, Assistance 24 hour care, tours, shows, car rental service, personalized attention to address everything our guests need. It is located in Recoleta, one of the most distinguished of Buenos Aires, surrounded by shopping centers such as Buenos Aires Desing, Patio Bullrich, restaurants, parks, museums: National Museum of Fine Arts, the Centro Cultural Recoleta, Malba, Palais de Glace, churches like the Basilica of Our Lady of Pilar, Recoleta Cemetery, the National Library, 1 block from the Recoleta Mall and attractive night where tranquility and security ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion d Or
Lion d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing