We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ancient mausoleums, some in bad repair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Recoleta Cemetery

Recoleta Cemetery
Book In Advance
US$ 30.00*
and up
Half-Day Recoleta and Palermo Bike Tour in Buenos Aires
Ranked #12 of 698 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The most celebrated Argentineans, including Eva Peron and her family, are buried at this elaborate cemetery, where mausoleums replicate chapels, pyramids and Greek temples.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Ancient mausoleums, some in bad repair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

As you stroll up and down row upon row of concrete and glass mausoleums, you can feel the wealth and power of many of the individuals and families entombed here over the past 150 years or so. Large statues, memorial plaques, and stained glass adorn these architecturally-designed resting places for generals, presidents, and the business class. But mixed in with the extravagant and gaudy tombs are many dilapidated and vandalized tombs with broken windows and missing doors. Some have become garbage bins, and through one open door we could see bones poking through a wood crate. the grounds are well kept, but surely someone could go through the forgotten tombs and clean them up and put things back into place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

16,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,875
    6,215
    2,272
    270
    116
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is where Evita is buried. Really cool area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Check out the cemetery here - it's FREE to enter. There is a cute fair just outside with lots of vendors you can buy local stuff from the artists there. Then you might be able to catch an outdoor tango show if you're there in the late afternoon to evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tkwolik_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

No one could have prepared me for this, we spent almost an entire day in Recoleta Cemetry and we could not stop taking photos, so make sure you have a full roll of film or an empty sg card and a fully charged battery when you go. We actually ended up visiting the cemetery twice while in Buenos Aires, because we had never seen anything like it, perhaps they are common in certain parts of the world but definitely not where we are from. You will see miniature versions of the Sagrada Familia, Mayan Temples, Art Nouveau carvings etc. If you are a cat lover, take a bag of cat food with you, because there are cats artistically draped in various places that are relatively well looked after because they keep rats our of the crypts. Truly a fascinating place.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tennille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must place to see if you are in Buenos Aires.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is very unique and a must see when visiting Buenos Aires. The ornate architecture of the above ground crypts is like walking through history. Make sure to visit the crypt of Eva Peron!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lkkack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I am not too crazy about cementeries, but this one was really a good stop for us. There are many beautiful tombs. I think what impressed me the most was the peaceful feeling you get while you walk the grounds. It's very well maintained. It's free so all you have to lose is your time, but I don't think you will feel it was a waste. Evita's grave is not well marked so we had to ask a couple of times to find it. It's not an impressive one, there were some other ones that I liked best.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelisFun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Recoleta Cemetery also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Recoleta Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing