We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
George S
Seattle, Washington
82
Excellent location and value
Review of Hotel Sheltown
Reviewed 8 Dec 2015
Located just a few blocks from Av 9 de Julio in one direction and Calle Florida pedestrian shopping street in the other, this was a good location for us to spend a night in BA before having to fly home early the next day. The hotel desk was very helpful in providing us with a map of the area and an electrical plug adapter. Then they arranged for a car and driver to get us to the airport at 0600 for an 0800 flight, at a very fair price considering how far away the airport is.
Date of stay: December 2015
Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing the T. de Alvear street and it was quiet. A/C worked well and the...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Location
Service
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₹23,602
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₹26,989
₹25,632
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Hotel Sheltown
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior view
Tripadvisor
₹8,027
₹6,343
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
₹8,747
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
₹4,648
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹30,277
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹21,319
  • Algotels
4.7 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹70,509
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Pool
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₹2,410
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,176
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Hotel Sheltown
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
41
117
109
45
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
117
109
45
41
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel for our last two days in BA. I had higher expectations for a hotel, which is a 4* one (at least it says on their site & booking.com).

Check in is from 15:00 - we arrived earlier (13:05) and were told that we can get the room as soon as it's ready, so we decided to wait in the reception (it was a rainy day anyway and we needed a rest after 18 hour bus drive). Funny thing, that beside us there were 2 large families and they got their rooms way sooner than us, and we had to wait up until 15:20. Okay, gringo discrimination, slow housekeeping, whatever, let it be.

Our room was OK - no complaints neither to the design, nor to the comfort, but the bathroom really needed some maintenance.

Breakfast is way no 4* hotel - ham, cheese & bread with pastries. Juice, yoghurt & coffee/tea. That's it. This is pretty sad, as normally other hotels (yes, in Argentina, not in Europe) serve eggs for breakfast as well and, to be honest, we expected to get some. But oh well. Carbs for the win! :)

However, during the breakfast, considering to have another cup of coffee or not, the waiter asked us to leave because he needed table for others (even though we were still drinking yoghurt & juice and we saw people at other table literally sitting and playing with their phones).

So, overall my experience here cannot be rated higher, even though I am not a fan of leaving bad reviews, but in my opinion, this hotel could be chosen ONLY for a super promotion rate - we paid 1400ARS for two nights in a triple room and I believe this price is the max limit.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ginttet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Did not made this reservation myself. Saw it on the Internet and thought about location. Read a few reviews and asked for it. Reviews I read were not wrong. Staff is friendly and helpful but the property is ruin. Has been updated for the 1978 world cup a still looks like it. Very small rooms. Dated. Dirty corridors. Rooms are small but clean. Bathroom small not many amenities. With all the great choices in BA I should have done my homework. My fault.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Cinci_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Perfect location close to metro station and couple of blocks of Florida street. Friendly staff. Decent size room. Outdated bathroom with shampoo/conditioner included. Mini bar. Free wifi in rooms. Breakfast included with very limited selection.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playarocks011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I definitely wouldn't recommend it to no one. We stayed at room 109, and last Saturday January 18th 2014, the air conditioner in our room wouldn't work. Believe it or not, at around 21:00 hs. It was about 38 degrees. Can you believe that the management did do anything about it not until the next day, lunchtime, disturbing our vacation. There wasn't a single apology from management or staff.

Room tip: I am sure there many more hotels in bs as better than this one.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was staying at the hotel. Definitely recommend for any trip, business or leausure. The personnel is very friendly, always ready to help. The location is very good, close to Florida Street, Plaza San Martin, Puerta Madera, English Tower and the Obelisco. Metro station is 2 minutes walk. For business purposes most offices are in 15-20 minutes' walk.

Room tip: I liked it better floor 6 facing the street
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews