We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular hotel Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spectacular hotel Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I love this gran dame of a hotel! She ages with elegance and grace and the concierge will go to any length to book your heart's desire. Someone noticed my birthday was going to occur while I was a guest and the chef made a little cake and the straff brought it to the suite and sang Felicidades! Looking forward to the Alvear Palace is a sweet part of returning to B.A. It never disappoints!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the hotel, but I love the deluxe premiere suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Alvear Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Buenos Aires and for taking the time post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay among us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    220
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
287
769
85
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I recently stayed at The Alvear Palace with my wife and 2 teenage sons on vacation. The experience was wonderful. The hotel has a classic old world charm while providing all of the amenities of a brand new hotel. The service was perfect. Alejandro,the concierge desk manager went out of his way to make our stay special. The rooms are large and comfortable and yes there is WIFI in every room. My boys and I used the health club everyday. It had plenty of modern equipment and was never crowded. The location of the hotel is perfect. The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful and full of nice restaurants. This hotel is elegant in every way imaginable. As a side note, we found Buenos Aires to be a wonderful exciting city full of warm people. You can not go wrong with this city or this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

It is my pleasure to read such a fantastic comment on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you and your family back in the future!

Thank you

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

It's a classic of classics. Gorgeous building, superb understated service and oh, that splendid food . My brother and I were there over the holidays - several times! We based ourselves in BA and went to the N of Argentina and to the far S. but coming back to the AP, the air in BA was always sweeter. Lovely in every way. Don't miss it - if only for a drink in the quaint Lobby Bar! Fantastico!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuzinDee811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTIAGO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This place oozes style and tradition. The Titanic of hotels of the golden age. Entering the hotel you can´t help be impressed by the lofty public areas and the sheer amount of polished brass that must involve an army of cleaners.

Don´t expect anything boutique or trendy here. What you get is great style and faultless service but outstanding staff. Time has stood still here.

The bedrooms are of the classic style and all well maintained with good bathrooms and everything is very very quiet and discret.

Enjoy a glass of chilled champagne in the bar watching the great and good, as well as lots of tourists pass.

The ground floor, LÓrangery restaurant, is like the old River Room restaurant at The Savoy, and offers a very impressive lunchtime buffet. Meanwhile the "signature" restautant is La Borgogne. Wonderful classic menu. Personally I don´t like the 70´s decor and the place lacks any intimacy.

Small spa and pool but the perfect place to relax after some serious retail therapy in the area.

Now you just have to wait for Sophia Loren!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms of the front. Looking out of the window you could be in Paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOWITHTHEFLOW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the Alvear Palace Hotel Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to post your review on our TripAdvisor page.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great experience at "the Titanic of hotels".

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is a beautiful elegant hotel - it deserves it's 5 star rating - the suites are just sensational and service excellent. Room service was a tad slow and not great value in our opinion. Its a very small indoor pool that you need to be wary of the slippery floor - that said staying there to enjoy Buenos Aires from was a fabulous experience. Recoletta area has lovely restaurants closeby and the amazing cemetary. Be mindful of personal security as pick pockets are rife generally..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTrishWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,208 - ₹ 44,017
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing