We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at this boutique HOJO's in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #44 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at this boutique HOJO's in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in the Recoleta neighborhood during our first three days in Buenos Aires. We had a very pleasant stay and found the room to be very comfortable and clean. Also our room was always cleaned before we returned in the afternoon to relax. There was construction going on next door but we were never woken up early by noise and had no problems in the evenings or in the middle of the night. The hotel is very centrally located in this beautiful neighborhood and we were happy that we could walk to everything we wanted to see. The hotel front desk staff were extremely helpful as well as the bartender and kitchen staff that prepared the lovely continental breakfast. We did use the hot tub one evening and everything was clean and neat. I would definitely recommend because it is a small HoJo's property and in a lovely section of BA. We would definitely return. We stayed here in mid-March of this year.
The Freeds-- San Francisco, CA

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel overlooking the spa/work-out area and it was very quiet for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    323
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
268
362
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before starting a cruise.
This is a great little hotel in a good location and they serve a nice breakfast with lots of choices and superb coffee, you can also ask for eggs cooked to order. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are very nice with great beds.
If you need a taxi always ask the front desk to book one for you because if I had a complaint about Buenos Aires it is that most of the taxi drivers are outright crooks and will rip you off. If you book through the hotel and the driver tells you, as happened to us, that there is a $5 surcharge for the hotel calling the cab this is an outright lie as the hotel informed us on our return. They also said how lucky we were as another customer had been scammed for $160 by a driver using counterfeit currency so be very careful. If you need a taxi from the airport book it on line as we did this to avoid any hassle and it was also cheaper.
Besides the taxi's Buenos Aires is a nice place to visit and the general public are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building noise that is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybluekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

First of all, the hotel itself was nice. 
- Clean, large room. 
- Strong water pressure. 
- Convenient location. 
- Average breakfast with good fresh fruit salads

But here comes the cons, thus the 3 stars
- At the time of our stay at March 2012, like warnings from other reviews, there is construction next door. We are not talking about just noises, the whole building shakes and vibrates like mad! Hard to sleep in, especially if you've already adapted to local Argentina time and finishes dinner at 2 am
- To be fair, we read about the noises in others' reviews. But when we checked in, the hotel told us the construction doesn't start until 10am, but three mornings in a row, they started at 7am. It's possible the our rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor were a little worse compare to higher floors. Don't count on taking naps mid-day as the construction was all day long. 
- There is no center ceiling light, so the room was a little darker than we would've liked.
- The cleaning staff weren't as professional (or just common sense) in an few encounters we had. Example - Elevators are small with max capacity of 8. We were in one once with 4 others, including a maid. Door wouldn't close and she indicated that we've exceeded the weight limit and that's why. We proceeded to exit with her and then she got back in, leaving us behind waiting for next one. Ummm.. Ok, thanks for the service. 

We are certain our experience at this HoJo would've been different if it weren't for the construction. But we don't have plan to come back and find out.  

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having made the decision to stay at this hotel for a group of six people, I was slightly nervous that they would disapprove of staying in a moderate American "chain" hotel. This property dispels the myth that HoJo holds for American travelers. This is a true boutique hotel, just a block and a half from the Recoleta Mall and within walking distance of restaurants and shops, and the cemetary. But that's not the best part. The front desk staff was truly, truly accommodating and amazing in their recommendations and the tiny eatery was manned by such nice people. My husband really put them through their paces, requesting special wine, bags of ice for an ailment, a digestive for another ailment. They could not have been more gracious. Our room was to the rear and quite comfortable, and quiet and the decor was tastefully modern, with update granite and wood accents. They solicitously kept our luggage after checkout, until we were ready to take a night flight and they supplied toiletries and linens for us in the spa bathrooms so we could take showers after our day of touring, pre-flight. This was a find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arapoti
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We toured through Argentina and on our last day stayed in this hotel. Great service, wonderfull location, super staff. We arrived early in the morning and already could check in. Nice hot whirlpool great after lots of walking/shopping. Front rooms during the day noisy because of constructionwork.

Room Tip: ask wether there is still construction going on next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marikasalomons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#60 of 447 in Buenos Aires
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#43 of 447 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#123 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,212 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 447 in Buenos Aires
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#79 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,259 - ₹ 51,168
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing