We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great decor...authentic area...really helpful owners: a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elefante Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elefante Rosa
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great decor...authentic area...really helpful owners: a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Diego and Mauro, the two brothers who own and run Elefante Rosa have made a fabulous job of restoring this old property. From the original intricate stained glass ceiling in the main room to the quirky collection of gilded picture frames to the black and white bathroom tiling - everything's got style.

One or other of the brothers is always on duty and they are very welcoming, humorous and exceptionally helpful: really taking the time to tell you places to go, ways to get there, and generally how to make the most of your stay.

I had two stays here in November and was delighted to be in an area where I saw few tourists but, as a woman travelling alone, felt really safe - even late at night. And the transport links - within yards of two subway lines - are great.

Room Tip: Stayed in two rooms and particularly enjoyed the brilliant loft style room, with the double bed on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elly011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
90
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 week trip and stayed 7 nights in this lovely property. We would definitely recommend Elefante Rosa. We stayed in Room 1 which has its own bathroom and sitting room with the bedroom and bathroom as a loft. We loved the neighbourhood - it is not a touristy area but is an area where local people live day to day. We loved the close vicinity to two Subte lines which meant we could easily access many parts of BsAs. Diego is a charming host who ensures you have a good knowledge of his city and is always keen to assist with anything. He also makes the strawberry jam which is served each morning for breakfast! The hostel is very clean - I loved the flooring in the breakfast room. we met most people staying there - it has only 5 rooms which means it is quiet, definitely not a party hostel which suited us perfectly. Whilst we travelled to Uruguay we were able to leave one of our bags which was in our room when we returned.. Perfect! Thank you both - we love Elefante Rosa

Room Tip: Room 1 is perfect for couples - you have your own bathroom, sitting room and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpovolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I will preface my review with the note that in most ways Elefante Rosa is a fantastic place, but definitely geared towards a certain type of visitor to Bs As.
I think if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in Bs As this would be a great option. If you're looking for something a bit more social, this is definitely not the place for you. Diego and Mauro were great, both helpful when it came to details about the city and anything you needed at the location itself.
Security was top-notch and location was OK, as the building is close to a couple of subway stations as well as supermarkets and such. Unfortunately the area itself doesn't offer much for the tourist in town for a few days.
After speaking to couples staying in the private rooms, it seemed like that was an ideal option for them. The dorm room is decent, though the lack of curtains on some of the windows made for a surprisingly bright first morning. I'm a pretty good sleeper but was seriously thinking about using a night mask after that first morning.
The shared bathrooms are clean and functional, but the lack of an enclosed changing area and space in general was a bit of a surprise and definitely a challenge when showering.
I think that for the right traveller, Elefante Rosa would be an ideal accommodation, but if you're a young, single traveller looking to interact with other travellers, I would definitely not recommend this location.

Room Tip: The "dorm" room doesn't have much by way of curtains, so if you're looking for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cokemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The positives:
- the room was very clean
- Diego and Mauro are wonderful hosts and extremely helpful
- the building is extremely interesting and well-decorated
- wonderful book selection
- easy access to subte
- lots of grocery stores nearby, great kitchen, etc
- very quiet

The negatives:
- although the shared bathroom was very clean, it is at the other end of the hostel from the rooms and there is no private changing room in the bathroom. It is not set up like other hostel bathrooms and the lack of privacy is unnerving and uncomfortable
- it is VERY quiet. there is no social aspect at this hostel at all, definitely not the place to stay if you want to meet other travelers
- Although located close to the subte, it is rather inconveniently located in the city if you want to go anywhere but San Telmo or La Boca

I think your enjoyment of this hostel will be primarily based on why you are staying here, unfortunately for me, it was too quiet and the bathroom was too unnerving and I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the private bathrooms if you can afford it and avoid the rooms that have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coaching4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at Elefante Rosa two separate times for about a week each during September 2011. Between Diego and Mauro's hospitality and the comfortable, homey space, it really felt like we had our own place in the city!

By the end of our time at Elefante, we'd spent a night or two in just about every room they have. Our favorites were the loft room (awesome if you are looking for privacy - you have a private bath, tv and kitchenette) and the twin room (even though we were traveling as a couple, this room had good light and less noise from the street).

A good Argentinian breakfast (coffee, tea, medialunas, cereal and fruit) is included. We love the non-touristy neighborhood for good restaurants, easy access to transit and a more relaxed atmosphere than Palermo or City Center.

Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the Alberti side are quieter. The loft is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piccolodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
#38 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#27 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#28 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Portal del Sur Hostel
Portal del Sur Hostel
#21 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Recoleta
Reina Madre Hostel
Reina Madre Hostel
#12 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elefante Rosa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elefante Rosa

Property: Elefante Rosa
Address: alberti 1191, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,010 - ₹ 3,141
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elefante Rosa Hostel is located in the traditional district of Boedo, a safe area and key spot in Buenos Aires city. Our house is a stylish vintage house with art strokes everywhere. We are near two subway lines which will give you full access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Elefante Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing