We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Save
Customizable Food Tour of Palermo Viejo
47

Book in advance
from
$110.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience AsadoAdventure
from $110.00
More Info
from $155.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
146
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
146
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We recently spent the day with Frank exploring the wonderfully decorated streets of his neighbourhood, buying the meat for our Asado and stopping along the way for a spot of wine tasting.
We ‘helped’ Frank prepare some of the dishes in his beautiful home and settled in with our personal grill master to spend the afternoon enjoying the parade of deliciousness served to us.
Frank was a wonderful host, very personable and knowledgeable, and this was a day to remember. He has also shared photos and recipes with us. Do yourself a favour and spend the day barbecuing the Argentinian way.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jocroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

We booked this tour for ourselves and our friends as we had a free day in Buenos Aires as part of a grand tour of South America.
We were picked up from our hotel as arranged and Frank had already sent us some useful tips and had contacted us to confirm all of the arrangements.
We enjoyed seeing parts of the city that we would’ve otherwise missed and Frank was really easy going and took photos all the way saving us from having to bother with it. We received all of the photos the day after the tour and they were great.
We went for the craft beer option which was a good shout as it was a really hot day. All of the stops were interesting and the food was yummy. We were out for 8hrs! Really worth it! Thanks Frank

Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2020

The walking tour to get food for our experience was great. We enjoyed getting to see the neighborhood and find out about artists, restaurants, etc. while on a peaceful walk. The visit to La Malbequeria wine shop/restaurant was fantastic. Got to try several wines from Argentina. We helped make the salad and chimichurri, but a grill master completed the meal. Thought it would be more hands on, but the meal was excellent. Finished with mate! Frank was a great host. Vida who is Argentinian came for lunch and made it extra special. It's always fantastic to get to have a meal with a local.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ecwinans83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your impressions of the tour. We enjoyed hosting you, showing you a bit about the neighborhood, and introducing you to the local wine merchant.

I hope you had a chance to make your own chimichurri sauce at home after we had you make it for us and that you made it just as delicious as you did that day. I also remember grilling peaches that you suggested we get at the local veggie stand for dessert. That was a great idea!

While it is true that the grill master does actually grill the meat, we do hope that our guests do take away from their experience making the caramelized pecans, and cutting the mango for the salad as well as making the chimichurri sauce. We do try to make it as hands on as possible. The next modification that we will probably make is to have our guests salt the meat.

And just in case anyone is reading this who might want to know what our guests actually have a hand in making and doing that day, I'll list out those activities.

Our guests help us light the grill; they make the chimichurri sauce; they also caramelize the pecans and cut the mango for our spinach salad. You then get to enjoy the meal and pepper us with questions as we watch the grill master heat up our food over hot coals right by the table. You are also received at the wine shop with a glass of wine and when you arrive back at the house you are also received with a Fernet and Coke (Argentina's national drink).

The grill master is also always well disposed to answer any question that might arise.

We all share a great meal and hopefully some laughs as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

A really great food tour in Buenos Aires, with friends from England and a couple from Toronto. Frank looked after us for a out 7 hours, stating with breakfast at a local cafe. We then walked round the Botanical Gardens while Frank gave us a fascinating history lesson. We saw a lot of great Street Art before, and after lunch in a small local restaurant. We started with Blood Sausage, served in Frank's special way, followed by lovely steak and red wine.
Microbreweries were the next two stops, tasting local and international beers. All went down very well on another hot day.
We finally ended up at an ice cream shop where they make it all on the premises. This was called Antiche, where the proud and passionate owner and staff took the trouble of showing us how it was all made, letting us taste fresh ice cream. Frank also bought us all some more inside the beautiful shop.
A very special day for all of us, and Frank captured some great photographs, which he has sent out to us.
I would certainly recommend this, or any of Frank's tours.

3  Thank KGnK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Frank was an amazing, welcoming and knowledgeable host. First, we were welcomed into Frank's home(beautiful kitchen/living space and courtyard garden) - where we prepared chimichurri sauce and roasted pecans and learned a bit about Frank's journey to Buenos Aries! Then we were off to walk the streets of the Palermo Viejo neighborhood - learning all about it's rich history and street art. Frank is very knowledgeable about his neighborhood and is a good story-teller. Then it was to the market and the wine store to gather the items for the Asada back at the house. The meal was delicious and Frank continued to tell us about Buenos Aries culture and traditions. We had Fernet and Coke (a very popular drink...I think it is an acquired taste!!) and shared Mate. Franks took pictures of us on the walking tour with the street art and e-mailed the link to us, along with the recipes for the dishes we had for lunch. It was a perfect afternoon!

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank B3307HVlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews