We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karbel Hotel
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Karbel for 2 weeks - our first visit to Turkey - we found the Karbel very clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly with nothing too much trouble - we heard reports that the pool was very cold but found the complete opposite - breakfast although simple was plentiful and varied - the hotel is situated just at the top end of the main street and we found this to be ideal in that it was quiet at night - the resort itself was just how we wished , plenty of excellent restaurant bars with only a small amount of karaoke type ones

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank toonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 692 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Karbel Hotel for a week. We found the room to be a little small but otherwise clean and comfortable. The shower was good, powerful and with plenty of hot water. The pool and bar area was pleasant and kept clean and well maintained. The pool itself was very cold, great for a quick dip to cool off but a bit too cold to stay in for long. Finally, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Oludeniz is a beautiful location with the beach and blue lagoon penned in by the mountains. It's worth paying the few lira to visit the blue lagoon as it's a stunning location. There were plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and the standard of food was very good with plenty of Turkish dishes. The people were very friendly wherever we went and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed here in August 2010, had looked at previous reviews which looked good. The hotel was excellent value. The rooms were a little small but very clean and had good air conditioning. The staff were very friendly especially the waiters. Stayed half board and the food was typically Turkish, a good variety and really fresh. Hairdressers at hotel was very good and so cheap! Positioned at the top of the strip provided an interesting walk to the beach (not very far) but a good distance away to avoid any noise from the bars an clubs. Pools did get a bit busy but were clean and attended with plenty of sun beds and parasols. Would go back and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Hotel very basic but very clean. Staff great but food was poor. We stayed B&B but only went to the breakfast twice - processed meats and cheese, bread and lots and lots of boiled eggs! Coffee and tea tasted awful and they charged extra for fresh orange juice. You had some cerals and "squash" was instead of fresh juice.
Location was fab nice and quiet in the hotel grounds but be warned if you stay in a middle or bottom room just pray that the people above you don't have young children, or prostate problems. You can hear everything and most mornings I was woken up by my above neighbours going to the toilet. The pool area was good but once we discovered the beach we never returned.
What's with all the signs around the place! Management notices about dos and don'ts spolit the attractiveness of the whole place - remove the signs and get some decent food in and especially sound proof!! Would recommend for a week but don't think I could cope with longer - weather fab stayed from 26th October 2011 for the week. Trips ok - recommend the boat trip a long day but worth it to see some of the coast. Blue lagoon was very busy and full of sunbeds - at a cost - again spolit the beauty of the place. Shopping good and the Turkish full of fun and welcome a "haggle". I would stay again but would look for a more updated hotel, which is a shame because the staff were fab.

Room Tip: Ask for a top room definately and not by the pool area where all entertainment and constant music is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Four of us (two couples) stayed at hotel Karbel 9th to 23rd Sept 2011. This hotel consists of several three story blocks set in some very attractive , well maintained gardens. Two pools with plenty of sunbeds and parasols and poolside snack bars at each pool.
The rooms are typical for Turkish hotels of this price range i.e. small, basic but very clean. After reading previous reviews we had requested that we were not to be given ground floor rooms. Unfortunately this was what we got ! However after our Thomson rep requested a room change we were moved to higher rooms .This did take a couple of days since the hotel was full. This really was no big deal and indeed if you are an older person or have walking difficulties I would recomend you request one of these as there are no lifts in any of the blocks.But be aware there are some rooms which are partly BELOW ground level and you definately dont want one of those.
We were bed and breakfast and only had an evening meal at the Karbel on our last day which was a pity as it turned out to be very good. The Turkish breakfast provided was to be honest very limited, boiled eggs (scrambled and omlettes only once a week) chicken roll, ham roll, tomatoes , cheese and bread every day. No variation , no fresh fruit etc. In other Turkish hotels we have stayed at there has been a bit more choice.
All the hotel staff we met were very friendly, efficient and polite .The Karbel does provide free entertainment of some kind every night some of it very good some of it awful (karaoke).
Olu Deniz is basically one main street and the promenade ,this is were 90% of all the bars , restraunts and shops are.Some nice bars but generally not a great deal going on re entertainment.If you are eating out we can recomend Captain Hook's and La Scala especially although to be fair virtually all our meals were very good. Prices for food and drink are still very good in Turkey compared to Spain etc with a meal (steak,lamb etc) and a couple of drinks each typically costing around 140 lira (about £51) for FOUR of us. A pint of beer can vary from bar to bar from 7 lira to 3.5 with 4 lira being most common . A large (continental measures) vodka and tonic will set you back 9 lira (around £3.30) still cheap.
You can eat very well for even less. For example one evening we all had chicken (with different sauces) chips and veg and a drink each for the grand total of 66 lira for four of us, and extremely good it was too.
If you do fancy a change Hisonaru , which is only a few minutes away by taxi is a bit more lively and also has a good range of bars and restraunts a little cheaper than Olu Deniz.
One we would recomend strongly there is the Suntrap for an excellent meal. A taxi from Olu Deniz to Hisonaru costs 15 lira.
Something that Olu Deniz is famous for is paragliding . Be aware the landing strips are on the prom so keep your wits about you. My wife tried this for her birthday and loved it ! But best to book through your rep at the hotel to make sure you are insured.
The other thing Olu prides itself on is the Blue Lagoon which to be honest was a bit of a let down. It is very, very pretty but definately not one of the seven wonders of the world which it is hyped up to be.
If you fancy going a little farther afield Fetiye is about 35 mins away by dolmus (mini bus 3.5 lira) It is worth a look and if you go on a Tuesday there is a massive open market by the canal.
On the whole we had a great holiday but if I'm honest if I was to return to any of the resorts we've visited in Turkey it would be Icmeler rather than Olu Deniz simply because there is a livlier more varied night life.

Room Tip: A family room is a standard room with a camp bed added. These rooms are very small. Larger true fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 km away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
882 reviews
0.4 km away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
491 reviews
0.3 km away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#54 of 102 in Oludeniz
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#46 of 102 in Oludeniz
404 reviews
0.1 km away
Karbel Sun Hotel
Karbel Sun Hotel
#49 of 102 in Oludeniz
685 reviews
2.6 km away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Address: Kidrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | No:10, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oludeniz
#43 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#44 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: ₹ 1,366 - ₹ 3,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing