We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 2nd visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Village Club Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Village Club Goa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Certificate of Excellence
tipton west midlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 2nd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

This was our second visit to this fantastic hotel stayed from 2nd to 16th November. We were there at the same time as the person who wrote the previous comments we to must have been staying at a different hotel, the food was really good and a good selection and always hot. Entertainment was not brillent except on gala nights when the food was served outside and there was entertainment from different parts of India. Room was kept really clean as was the rest of the hotel and gardens, Because the Mango Resturant was undergoing a make over when we were given our tickets for the A la carte meal we told it would be in the chutney and to ask for the menu the night before we wanted to eat. I must agree about the sun beds people do reserve them these are regular visitors who think they have the right to do this and then leave them empty all day very annoying. Hotel staff work really hard to ensure you have a great holiday and cannot do enough for you. Because of the amount of guests that return sometimes more than once a year this speaks for its self that it must be a very good hotel. We will return in a few years hope its a good.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    369
    94
    26
    18
See reviews for
347
732
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Well, I am not quite sure which hotel the previous reviewer stayed in but I was there with my husband from 1st November until 16th November and it was not the same place.

Yes we received a warm welcome, but I was confused as to why our room was not ready when we arrived, as after all the flight was delayed by 5 hours.

Also we took a taxi rather than the coach as we were really tired and got there before the other people on our flight.

We were advised to get either some lunch or a drink while we waited.

Well, we waited and we waited and we waited, of course while we waited we were asked to go on numerous trips, each one being nearly full so we had better hurry and decide!! eventually our room was deemed ready for us to occupy .

Very dark and gloomy room with two twin beds, balcony overlooking the pool, it had not at that point been cleaned properly, quite a bizarre set up in the bathroom with a glass door which opened from outside to form a door for the toilet and a glass window that looked into the apartment.

A very strange looking Teddy sat on the 3rd bed..

The food on the buffet was mediocre , apparently the "a la carte" was better, but this took place in the buffet restaurant as the Mango Terrace was not hired out for a long term function at all, it was in pieces and was being rebuilt.

After two days we did not eat there at all, not even for breakfast as both my husband and myself suffered with really severe stomach cramps and sickness for around two days, so we ate out and the problem did not reoccur again until we both decided to try again, and there we were again suffering with stomach pains.

The fact that the "a la carte" was available in the buffet restaurant was not made clear at all and very few people knew that it had to be booked in advance.

Some of the bar staff needed a rocket up their backsides and I could not understand why it took 3 barstaff to produce 2 small beers.

We watched with great fascination one night as the "a la carte" was being served outside, as 5 chefs, all with big hats prepared one plate of food at a time, one to put the meat on, one to put the veg on, one to put the garnish on, one to put squezzes of sauce on and one to check that it looked alright !

Then the waiter who had fell asleep twice could take it to the table, then the procedure started again, worst of it was the bar closed at exactly 11pm, and some people were probably still waiting.

Snacks consisted on crisps, sandwiches, bit dodgy and pizza on two occasions.

On about 2/3 nights of the week, the entertainment was pretty good , but the rest of the time it was embarassing.

Daytime entertainment was often really funny and Mc does a very good job organising this.

This hotel was really excellent in the day, provided you were up early enough to save a sunbed, it was relaxing but night time forget it .

If you want to stay up later than 11.30pm without being cleaned around, maintained around or listening to the sounds of building work through the night, then this is not the place for you.

Beware of Joseph at the beach shack, he is not all he seems.

He tried to sell us some of his carvings for 3000 rupees claiming they were handcrafted by people in his village.

Odd that really as we saw exactly the same ones in the hotel shop for half the price, and then we saw them again in the tiny tailors shop across the road for even less.

When we told him we did not want them he dropped the price to 1500 rupees, when we still said no, he became very grumpy everytime he saw us, and we along with others noticed that our bar bills in the beach shack changed every time.

As for Clarence the Hotel Manager, we have yet to see him and we have been back nearly 4 weeks.

We received an invitation to the Managers cocktail party, a week late but there you go.

We were told that it would be a chance to air our views, so we turned up at the appointed time, no Clarence, nowhere to be seen.

It was not all bad, the daytime was great, the beach fantastic, we had an amazing time jumping the waves, the Goan people are fantastic in the main, but would I go back t to this hotel a definite NO.

We are planning to return soon, before Christmas but we are heading to Northern Goa.

We wanted to chill but we ended up frozen by Day 7.

  • Liked — Peaceful in the daytime, near to the beach
  • Disliked — Entertainment, or rather lack of, bar closing early, staff attitude, lack of organisation, food.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterAnnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

I stayed at this resort with my sister in the first week of the main holiday season in Goa. We stayed there from 1st November – 8th November 2008, and flew out with Thomson/First Choice.

Airport arrival – As soon as we arrived at Dabolim Airport,we had locals follow us trying to lift our bags off the conveyor belt, and asking for tips. Now this is a problem as they take your bag off before you’ve even had chance to grab it yourself, we ended up almost running through the exit towards our transfer bus to avoid all the beggars.

Check in – this was smooth and quick, as soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were given a bindi as a welcome, and we could have a rest. We were then given some brief forms to fill out, and gave over our passports to be photocopied. We could then go for some lunch, and were then given our room key. We also requested a safety deposit box (which are all down by reception) and were given a key for it. These can only be opened with two keys, your own, and one kept by reception, so it’s a very secure system.

Room: Our room was basic but comfortable with two single beds, tv, fan, air conditioning unit, and we also had a balcony overlooking the pool!

Food and drink:
There was a great selection of food in the buffet, all the food was piping hot, and tasted delicious. There was a great selection and there was always something new to try everyday with the Chef’s Special.

At breakfast the buffet had fresh fruit, cooked breakfast items such as bacon, sometimes sausages, there was cereal, and a chef is also there preparing fresh omelettes and pancakes if you want one of these. There are also 2 nights a week where all the food is taken outside and eaten where the nightly shows take place.

The week we were there coincided with the week that the Mango Terrace was booked for a special function lasting a week. Instead of eating at the Mango Terrace, we had the same food, but in the regular buffet restaurant. However, this was rather poorly organised, as I had booked up a meal in the Mango Terrace, and the next day we went to eat there, we turned up and the Food and Beverage Manager then decided to tell us that we couldn’t eat there that night, instead we came back 2 days later where we had it in the buffet. However, when we received our food it was lovely, a massive piece of juicy steak, jacket potato, carrots and green beans. We could then help ourselves to desserts.

The Feni Cocktails are lovely, but very strong! We particularly liked the one which was mixed together with rosewater, mm it was delicious.

Trips:

I can recommend taking a taxi from the front of the hotel, and asking the driver to take you wherever you want to go, they are very cheap, and the driver will wait for you while you are out and bring you back again. It only costs 12 rupees for every hour waiting, bearing in mind the conversion rate is about 85 rupees to the pound, this is hardly anything.

The driving in India has to be seen to be believed though, we were terrified for our lives the day we went to Dudhsagar Waterfalls. There seems to be no traffic rules, there aren’t any speed limits, no traffic lights, and it seems to be every man for himself. Our driver decided to overtake up to 3-4 cars or trucks at a time on a blind bend, and simply blew the horn to alert drivers on the other side of the road of his presence. As you can imagine, this was very scary for us in the passenger seats, and several times we couldn’t look and just prayed that we would come through it alive.

Anjuna Flea Market - We managed to fit a lot into our week, and managed to take a taxi to Anjuna Flea Market. This was an experience, the taxi dropped us at the drop off point, and then we walked up the market, where we saw loads of buskers and market sellers grabbing us by the arm in a bid to drag us to their stall to buy things. We found that the sellers were always really friendly until we said we didn’t want to buy anything, and then they suddenly turned nasty, the one said “you [--]” to my sister when she said “no thank you” to one of the men trying to sell her a drum which we thought was uncalled for. Anyway needless to say we only stayed there for about an hour, and then went straight back to the hotel.


Paradise Lost – We booked up to go on the Paradise Lost tour through First Choice. This was our highlight of the holiday, we were picked up at the hotel by Marian (a male taxi driver!), our taxi driver as we were the only 2 going on it. We were driven an hour away to a very secluded beach in the very far south of Goa. The road was very bumpy, and right in the middle of nowhere so we were a bit concerned as to where he was taking us, but as we rounded the final corner we realised that we’d found a bit of paradise

We had a short walk down a track, and then across a wooden bridge – I felt like Indiana Jones! We found ourselves in a small village with bamboo huts, and were taken to meet Sunil who took us to the restaurant and told about meal times (lunch at 1.30, tea at 4.00, and dinner at 8), the walk at sunset later on, and also given our room key. We were told that the huts are without electricity during the day, but at night, a generator powers the whole area and between the hours of 6pm – 2 am I think, there is lighting, hot water and a fan in the rooms. While we dumped our bags in our room, we realised that they were erecting a hammock between two coconut trees for us just below our hut.


We immediately set off and explored the beach that was lovely, the waves were very powerful and the beach shelving so we decided to have swim to cool off in the lagoon. This is a gorgeous freshwater lagoon with catfish swimming in it, and is lovely and cool for a refreshing dip.

At lunchtime, we had a delicious meal of grilled curried fish, bread, salad, chicken curry and boiled rice that was delicious! The food at on the tour was all lovely and fresh and very tasty!

We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and swimming in the lagoon, and later we met Sunil, who told us that we could walk up the cliff to see the sunset. Sunil carried a stick that he beat the ground with to keep away any creatures like snakes, it was only a short walk and we saw a gorgeous sunset over the sea and took plenty of photos. We stayed up there watching for about 20 minutes, and then walked back down for dinner. We had another lovely fresh meal of fish, curry, rice, bread and salad.

After dinner we had a lovely surprise of a bonfire on the beach! When we went to bed, the beds were very comfortable and we had air conditioning aswell so we had a lovely night’s sleep.

In the morning, all we could hear was the sound of the crickets, and the birds! We went out for breakfast, where we could have anything we wanted, we opted to have fresh fruit and toasted local bread but Sunil said we could have had anything and they could have made it for us. The fruit we had was watermelon, banana and papaya and they were the juiciest and freshest fruit I’ve ever tasted! Mmm

We checked out, paid for our drinks, and signed the visitor’s book, and Marian picked us up and drove us straight back to the Heritage Village Club. We both thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and would recommend it to other outdoor lovers and those who enjoy the peace and quiet and secluded beaches!


Dudhsagar Waterfalls – We again went here by taxi, and were very glad we did. The drive up there was about 90 minutes long, so it was a long day but worth it. When we arrived there, we were told that to see the waterfalls we’d need to get in 4x4 jeep for an hour up the mountain that would cost 1,800 rupees for just the two of us, so we decided to wait for some other people to share it with.

Fortunately a family of four came along in about twenty minutes, and it then only cost 450 rupees each. The drive up to the Falls was very bumpy, but you get to see some lovely scenery. You drive through jungle on the way, and we were told that panthers, tigers and pythons live in there. We reached the car park, and then it was a short 15 minute walk to the waterfalls through lovely scenery where you can see monkeys crawling over the rocks. Some people choose to feed them with bananas that can be bought at the shop before you get in the jeeps.

The waterfalls are lovely, when we reached them we went paddling in the water, but you can go swimming in there if you wish, but be aware of the many rocks in the water. It was a nice way of cooling off after the long journey up there!

We stayed there a good 20 minutes or so, and then set off back down the mountain, where halfway down a man jumped out of our jeep who travelled with us and the family, as he lives in the jungle! Once we reached the base, we travelled back to the hotel by taxi. I think we got back at about 6.30 so it was a long day, but the scenery and experience were well worth it!

Sahakari Spice Plantation – This was a tiring but exciting day trip, which we had organised through the hotel reception. We had a taxi come to take us, and he asked us where we wanted to go first. We opted to see the elephants first; the drive up there was only about half an hour through the town of Ponda.

There were 3 elephants when we arrived there, and we paid 600 rupees each to ride one, it would be another 600 each to wash them aswell. We climbed up a staircase onto a little platform where we could climb on top of the elephant, we both climbed onto it behind the man who guided the elephant. We had a small seat that we sat back into, but we had to hold on very tight as the elephant seemed to jolt a lot every time it moved one foot forward! We rode on the elephant a good ten minutes at least, but we felt sorry for it as it had a massive chain round its neck, and it was whacked on the head with a stick every time it’s trunk was to be raised. Be prepared to pay tips to the elephant guide aswell, we gave him 200 rupees each.

We then decided to go and see the Spice Plantation, our taxi driver drove us round which was only five minutes down the road from the elephants. We went through the gates and showed our ticket we were given at the hotel. We were then each given a flower garland and a bindi in welcome, and then shown through a waiting area where we were both given a lemongrass tea and were shown a guide to all the different recipes using the spices found at the plantation.

A guide came through to us and we went off through the plantation with another family. We were shown many different spices growing naturally and told about their uses in treating different diseases. We saw peppercorns, mace, all spice, curry leaves, lemongrass and many others. As we were walking round, we saw a man climb a banana tree with his feet bound together with rope, and we also got an opportunity to try it for ourselves! He also demonstrated swinging through the trees Tarzan style, as we were standing there we saw a huge banana spider, apparently these grow in banana trees. We enjoyed the rest of our tour, and then at the end, we had some cold water poured down our backs to cool off, apparently it’s a tradition to help you relax before a meal. We were then shown to the restaurant and told to help ourselves to the food, there was a chicken curry and plenty of vegetarian food on offer, we had the dhal which was very spicy and tasty, and were given ice cream and cashew sweets to cool down.

Before we left, we were each given a small bag of spices to take home, and we also bought some honey from the small shop which sells the spices grown there and also a small number of handicrafts.


After this we were taken round to this Hindu Temple in Old Goa, which we had a walk around. It was our first time inside a temple, and so an interesting experience for us.

We came out, and then our taxi driver took us straight back to the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, which we thought was good value for money, and was a good mixture of education about spices, and fun.


Entertainment: The Animation team provides the entertainment during the day, and some at night time. There are activities such as water aerobics, pool volleyball, and quizzes during the day. At night time there isn’t so much happening, the first day we were there, there was a DJ night where we could listen to dance music being played, there were two karaoke nights, and one night there was meant to be a One Man Band, and a Magic Show. We went down after dinner to watch it but no one ever turned up, (maybe it was part of the act!) but the next day we had the One Man Band, and a hula-hoop dancer who also ate fire. She was very entertaining to watch and got plenty of applause!

We went on the organised Nature Trail, which was great fun, we went on a walk down into the local village along the rice paddies, and finishing up on Arossim Beach. We saw Golden Eagles, Chameleons, wild boar, and plenty of other birds. It was well worth an hour and we both enjoyed it.

I do have a few minor gripes about the hotel, one that I never read about in any of the previous reviews was that Goa has a very unreliable electricity supply, and consequently, we had a number of power cuts. Now during the night when you’re trying to sleep and the fan and air conditioning stop working for a couple of hours due to the power cut, it’s not much fun! This happened on 2 occasions to us in only a week, and we woke up hardly able to breathe, so we just tried to cool down with loads of cold water.

We both also got an upset stomach, so I’m not sure how we got that as neither of us had any of the local water, just one of those things I guess.

If anyone has any questions, send me a message and I’ll try to answer any that you might have. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on spending some time in South Goa, the staff can’t do enough for you, and there is plenty to do from here, however do be prepared for a huge culture shock, and go with an open mind.

  • Liked — Excellent staff and food
  • Disliked — Entertainment at night
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

well we took 2designer rooms in this hotel and they were so comforting. and who said june is a bad month so much activity in the hotel premises and pool was almost full with games been arranged. its a value for money deal and so much fun at night too
with music and dance
i was amazed even locals used to sped thier weekends here.so thats say it all its truly a fun packed deal within the beautiful goa.Staff is so helpful and friendly. i loved the bhelpuri which was spicy and tikki in evening since it was raining and we couldnt go anywhere
.i must say its a great place to stay if u r looking for fun within the hotel premises
and want good food as well.

  • Liked — food,room.activities in evening
  • Disliked — its quite far from panjim
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anurag202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

Although it is a few years ago that we stayed at the Heritage Village, I have to say that it was the best Christmas display we have ever witnessed ( and we travel every Xmas mostly to the caribbean.) The general feel of this hotel is laid back with excellent service and lots of personal touches ~ they even put your name on a sign on your room door ! ( nice touch.) The staff are wonderful and always asking if everything is ok. The rooms were immaculate, the food was excellent and the pool lovely. In fact there is a general feel good factor to this hotel and a holiday not to be missed. I think the number of returning guests would verify my comments. We may well return one day, but we do like to visit different parts of the world each year. To all the staff at Heritage ~ thanks for a brilliant time and keep up the good work guys !!

  • Liked — The staff / the service / the fabulous Christmas.
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine4me2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cansaulim
10.6 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
30.0 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
20.5 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
22.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
24.4 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Village Club Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Village Club Goa

Property: Heritage Village Club Goa
Address: Arossim Beach, Cansaulim 403712, India
Region: India > Goa > Cansaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,223 - ₹ 12,184
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Village Club Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Heritage Village Club Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Village Club Goa Hotel Cansaulim
Heritage Village Goa
Heritage Village Cansaulim
Heritage Village Hotel Goa
Heritage Village Club Goa Cansaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing