We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but Satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sodder's Renton Manor
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple but Satisfying”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

The Renton Manor Hotel in Arpora, North Goa is a 2star hotel owned by the Sodder Group.
Like many hotels of this category in Goa it is quite basic but the staff are very friendly and the hotel is reasonably well maintained. The rooms have their own balcony, en suite shower room and small kitchen with double or twin single beds. Some upgraded rooms have A/C and small TV. The bar staff, waiters and management are very helpful and friendly and the the Hotel bar 'The Cellar' is a good meet up spot. Their is a taxi stand right outside the gates of the Renton Manor and a taxi to Baga or Calangute Beaches will cost you 100Rs approx £1.20. The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus to Baga Beach if your up in time to catch it. A couple of minus points is that the pool is sheltered from the sun by the building so the waters very cold and recently they have plugged the hotel in Russia bigtime which now means that the hotel is full of Russians. In the main this is ok but there have been a lot of complaints as to the conduct and rowdiness of the Russian guests who tend to over consume on the cheap alcohol.

Overall though the Renton is a good cheap hotel situated in the lovely village of Arpora and although basic it makes for a good base to explore North Goa. The staff are friendly and helpful and there are some great restaurants around the locality.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    22
    14
    19
See reviews for
10
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Goa is not noted for luxury as a rule, but a 3* hotel is little less than just rooms and a bar !.
Our room consited of a bed base made from 4 wooden boxes with some 2 inch foam on top a a mattress.Unfortunately because there wasnt any air con in our room it made me restless at night, which meant every slight movement resulted in immense creaking or squeaking noises, which does not aid a good nights sleep.
Also in the room was a " kitchen " ?. This is one thing i found pointless, not only we were b&b, so you dont have a kitchen, i wouldnt have trusted the filthy gas cooker if my life depended on it and why would you cook when it costs pennies to eat out ?.
Now the bathroom is special, in the way that the shower and toilet are not seperate !!!!!!!!!
Breakfast was my favorite, we arrived late and just slept. In the morning we went to find the dining area..................this happened to be the poolside tables. So wondering what we could have, we waited............a guy came out with a tea urn, some toast, milk and some corn flakes..........i nearly wet myself when i saw the people that had been there longer than us diving for the toast...........and then i suddenly thought .............is that it ..............yep, toast or cornflakes !!!!
This really doesnt matter though because a 20p tuk tuk ride away you can get what you want for a couple of quid !
Honestly i have made it sound bad but i loved goa and the hotel it was fun a once in a lifetime experience...........do not take kids , there is nothing for them, we didnt and now my eldest is called India lol

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bueybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arpora hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I make it a point to holiday here at least once a year ,especially in the rains-it is out of this world.One need not move out at all-just relax and enjoy the cool atmosphere and greenery from your balcony.The staff are quite courteous,the pool is clean,so is the linen and the food too,which is continental and Indian as they get many charter flights from different countries like Russia,Europe,etc.The karaoke bar is excellent too.And best of all are the tariff rates which are quite low.Services like laundry are good too.The transport is easily available as they all line up outside the hotel.The marketplace is quite close that is Mapusa-famous for its Friday Bazar.,so also is Baga ,Calangute and Candolim.The owner of this resort is a Bombay based Goan Mr. Jude Sodder who is well versed with the locals and has a chain of resorts like Gloria Ann,Svelton Manor,Tracycourt,Beach Classic,etc.There are a/c and non a/c rooms to suit all budgets.Safety is very good,I normally stay alone.The resort is located off the main road so is peaceful.The bus stop is also nearby,but you can get rickshaws,pilot scooters,etc.Moreover rates are lowest in the monsoons.Shops selling basic necessities and other hotels are close by. I would recommend anyone to visit any of the Sodder group of hotels for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.They also have beat groups playing music in the evenings.

  • Liked — it is clean,safe,dependable,enjoyable,quiet.
  • Disliked — far from airport,no organised tours
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetsetmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times, i love the location, food and the staff. It is brilliant value for money and although only 2* the facillities are great. Free shuttle bus to the beach, pool towels, rooms cleaned daily. The food in hotel is good and cheap, i have never had an upset tummy and they will try their very best to please (remember to tip as this always appreciated). There is a karoke bar which stays open so long as there are customers. Stay here if you want to really get to know the people and country of Goa!

  • Liked — Food, location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batmansspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This was our 3rd time in India, love the place. We decided to stay at Renton Manor, briefly visited the hotel 2007 one evening. This hotel is dedicated to Russians 18 to 30. All they want to do is get drunk be abusive to locals consume their own food and alcohol and take drugs. My wife was attacked by one drunk, drugged up Russian just because she wanted to sleep. Security turn a blind eye to all the goings on as well as hotel management.

This hotel has 98% Russians and 1% to 2% Brits. After one week of this torchure our tour operator moved us to a hotel with British people in called the Somy in Calangute, highly recommend. Dont stay in Moscow Manor you will only have the same issues as our selves a family of 4 with 2 boys aged between 10and 11who witnessed all the goings on day and night.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAJJRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.1 km away
Abalone Resort
Abalone Resort
#11 of 15 in Arpora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.4 km away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#18 of 24 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#64 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.5 km away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#54 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 km away
Apple House
Apple House
#2 of 15 in Arpora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sodder's Renton Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sodder's Renton Manor

Property: Sodder's Renton Manor
Address: Tambudki Village | Bardez, Arpora 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Price range (per night): ₹ 779 - ₹ 7,980
Hotel Class:2 star — Sodder's Renton Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda, HotelQuickly and OYO Rooms so you can book your Sodder's Renton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sodder`s Renton Manor Hotel Arpora
Sodder's Renton Manor Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing