We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nilaya Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nilaya Hermitage
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Arpora
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A true paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great hospitality. The rooms are exquisite. Its a close bind to the nature. The staff were very courteous and ready to help us out at all times. The owner, well a great chap to have a conversation with, and his token of appreciation were some good fine Cuban cigars..... From check in to the last day, the staff kept a good rapport with us. A completely different Goan getaway, for people who want to relax and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My self and a friend were travelling in Goa, only a short trip.
We had seen in a magazine back in England, an article on fabulous hotels in India.
We decided to go there for the the day and then supper only.

We spent the day lounging in the spa pool, having been shown around by Hari and Claudia.
Supper was delicious, Italian mozza rella basil olive oil not quite what we were expecting.

Then, as we had a driver waiting for us we decided to leave. The owners invited us to stay and have drinks and then be their guests.

The room was stunning the bed was huge and the party was long.

We had breakfast and left after a very magical evening with the owners.

Just thought I would say........

Supper was suprisingl

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abendigolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Nilaya this past winter. At rates of 500 Euros a night, we were expecting excellent service and an equally excellent room. Unfortunately we received neither. Apart from having someone check us in, we NEVER saw another staff member through our entire stay. Of course we saw them when we went to the restaurant, but otherwise not a soul. This could be nice, if you wanted privacy, but given there was no phone in the room, we had to trudge up to the front desk and hope someone was sitting behind it each time we wanted something, be it a bottle of water or an extra towel or a cup of tea...ANYTHING. Also, once we walked to the desk, finally found a staff member and ordered something, it would often be several hours before the item was delivered to the room. Additionally, there is an "open bathroom" floorplan in the rooms, which I hate. The toilet is completely open to the rest of the room - no door, no privacy. Additionally, our deck looked over the walkway the staff used, thus there was no privacy on the deck either...in addition to the loud noise early in the morning. Another disconcerting point was the number of frogs in the pool. We never set foot in it due to this. Overall, I would say this is the type of hotel you would expect to pay about $100 USD a night. At 500 Euros, there are a million other places in Goa which will give you a million times better experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank K2P2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
265 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

In total spent around 10 days there over Christmas and at start of new year. Claudia and Harry (the owners and hosts) are incredible - more like a private house party than hotel. The pool and setting are near perfect. Food is excellent, if quite heavily European, rather than Indian. Rooms are each uniquely and cleverly designed. Staff have been there many years and loyal to place and guests. I will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

We visited Nilaya - to check out the place and to have a drink. We were 8 adults and 4 kids. I called ahead to confirm our time of visit (bar shuts at 10 pm they said) and whether they are ok with kids.

The place is gorgeous! They have 11 rooms only and always full. As we were being shown around, the owner - Hari Ajwani - came over to us and asked us to leave. He was quote drunk and said this was not the time to come and that he was not running a kindergarten! We kept trying to tell him that we had specifically called ahead to confirm are arrival time and that we were travelling with kids.

I really dont have an issue with hotels etc not catering to kids but I dont understand why they did not clarify that upfront. And of course nothing gives an owner the right to abuse and humiliate people especially since he is in the hospitality industry.

We gathered that this hotel caters to white people and celebrities. IF you are none of the above, then DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AnubhavAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
39.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
10.2 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
5.7 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.7 km away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 14 in Arpora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaya Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaya Hermitage

Property: Nilaya Hermitage
Address: Arpora Bhati | Near St Josephs English School Arpora, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#3 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,192 - ₹ 19,296
Hotel Class:5 star — Nilaya Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nilaya Hermitage is located on the hill tops of Arpora, North Goa with a stunning view of the Arabian Sea and the Arpora Valley. The 33 meter swimming pool rises out like a blue lagoon amongst an award winning Moorish architecture. The Boutique resort naturally blends into the landscaped gardens and the surrounding forest that gives a surreal effect of being away in a different world where quietness is what you breath. The food is predominantly continental and is prepared lovingly by our master chef with more than 15 years of hosting the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Nilaya Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaya Hermitage Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Hotel Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing