We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arpora - Saturday Night Market Goa”

The Saturday Night Market
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE SATURDAY NIGHT MARKET - The World's Local Market. The Saturday Night Market is Goa's retro styled hippy and artisan night market that features a wide variety of colors and scenes and is truly a kaleidoscope of stalls having cultural influences from all across the globe, which is, in reality its uniqueness. Why miss it?
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arpora - Saturday Night Market Goa”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I visited the much hyped Saturday Night Market in Arpora as a part of my recent trip to Goa.The reason I went there was to just to check how worthy is the place that people keep saying about. Honestly, I felt that it was an utter waste of time and effort.

I rushed there at about 8 PM, to my utter surprise I saw many foreigners who own the stalls. By the way these stalls have handicrafts, dresses/linen and items like fancy knives along with artificial jewelry for women and men as well. Also you get good supply of booze and food at a higher price though at the venue. A few Indians/locals run the shops though, it's only worth to buy stuff at these shops. The shops that are owned by foreigners have over-priced goods which are available at any other places at a much lower price.

As far as the facilities for the guests are concerned, there are public toilets though I'm not sure about the hygiene and it was very suffocating at this part of the year with the florescent lamps around.and the killing perspiration.

The parking is a big mess and it's over priced too. The bike parking costed 20 rupees, it's a way to fool and loot innocent tourists.

My overall rating for this market is 1.5/5 better, visit this place only if you think you have time to kill at Goa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rajivbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    296
    107
    32
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of a kind market”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I had been to goa for the first time with my friends... I happened to come on the same weekend when this market was gonna get life...

this market is one of its kind... the buyers from all over the world come and tender the best products they can...for some vendors I get to bargain too...

the night gets nicer and nicer as the time ticks...

the music played, the bands performed... the food selling out.... was all sheer awesomeness...
Would love to be here again....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neha12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“When you got nothing better to do....”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Head to Ingos SNM, this place is a tourist magnet with hundreds of stalls selling overpriced junk,accessories and other stuff thrown in. The prices for stuff here are outrageous and do not buy anything without bargaining,sometimes quote half the price cause you may get it for the same. The place has parking for 100-150 cars but you need to be here early to get a spot or else suffer.Best way is to get a two wheeler or come by cab. There are many food stalls again selling overpriced food.he atmosphere here is full of semi-dressed white people,smoke and noise-from garage junkies who call themselves bands Not a place for families.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank goencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rock Musik, Beer in Hand & A lot of Shopping !!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Full of vibrant culture from around the world.great live rock music from musician. Beer a super thing that will be always with you. This place is buzzing at ONLY Saturday night, you can find all kind of mundane things out here, don't forget to Bargain hard !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmkbnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Huge, Great Shopping, Great Food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Saturday Night Market is a must if you are in Goa on a Saturday night. The experience is unforgettable where hundreds of vendors fill up this market area selling all sorts of stuff. The lighting and colors are amazing and you can easily spend a few hours here as the place is huge with tons of shopping, eating (again tons of options), drinking (there are bars dispersed around the market), listening to music (they have a central area where bands play). Be prepared to do lots of walking and for the crowds as there will be a ton of people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tigrr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saturday Night Market also viewed

Arpora, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Chapora, North Goa District
 

Been to The Saturday Night Market? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing