We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveller rating
1,281
511
145
48
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,281
511
145
48
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspickled mangoluxury deluxe roomnorth goabaga beachmamma miazaara spaspecial thankspool barveg restauranttravel deskpool sidespecial mentionmain buildinggreat propertywelcome drinkrooms are hugef b
Filter
Updating list...
1,719 - 1,724 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here at the end of our holiday in August. The hotel and dining was very reasonably priced. The food was fine, there are several restaurants, and they have the best coffee we found away from New Zealand in the cafe bar. Something a little odd, was that they have their entertainment in the best restaurant so it can be quite loud at night. I think it would be better in the cafe bar so you can choose weather you listen or not. After having stayed in a lot of uncomfortable accommodation it was great to arrive, lie down and fall instantly asleep! It was beautiful and clean, and the beds were so comfortable. It is about one hour drive from the Airport. It is very quiet (being the monsoon season). Just the best place to unwind. It is about 15 minutes drive Calangute, and also to Anjuga. And half an hour from Panaji. Breakfast was a huge buffet, but had lots of great Goan food as well as western and Eggs cooked to order by the Chef.

Room Tip: We were on third floor (twin room) overlooking one of the pools, rice paddies and towards the mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your detailed review posted on trip advisor.

On a positive note ,we are happy to read your kind comments about our resort ,especially the best coffee in the Rio Cafe Bar.

With regards to the entertainment ,we do have the entertainment during the season starting October in the poolside area and due to the prevailing monsoons we have the entertainment indoors at the Pickled Mango ,the multi - cuisine restaurant.

We thank you once again for your comments also about the breakfast spread and the great Goan food all presented to you by our world class chefs!

We look forward to your stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

During Dec 2011 myself, wife and our 2 children, including my friends family too, spent an amazing week at this hotel. Cannot fault it at all, we travelled from Birmingham UK on recommendation. Never once were we dissapointed.

Hotel - Great peaceful ambience
Service - Such friendly individuals at Bar, Restaurant, and service desk
Pool & Amneties - Just so relaxing
Atmosphere - Pleasing
Location - Ideal, away from the loud noise, yet only 5 minute drive to Baga/Beaches and Shopping Markets

Overall - My kids have a beautiful and delightful memory of this Hotel and Holiday, and will most definately be back in few years to re-live the moment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest ,

It is indeed a pleasure to read such thoughtful comments about our 5 Star Deluxe Resort on trip advisor and we are glad that you ,your family and your friends have had an amazing week at Resort Rio!

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on our event calendars ,exclusive offers and more to have yet another time of your life at Resort Rio soon!

Warm regards,
Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A big thank you to 'Resort Rio' for helping plan such a wonderful Off Site in Goa. While organizing this I had no idea that we will end up having so much of fun and even the most silent person in the office will also participate in all the activities so enthusiastically. The arrangements were done exactly to specification, the staff courteous and very helpful. Overall amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisha789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your residential conference ,and we are glad that you all had an amazing experience to share on trip advisor!

Our trust is built through excellence and customer delight since 2010 - an experience that gently touches your heart and beckons all to have a time of their life at Resort Rio.

We do look forward to have your group stay with us once again for yet another memorable stay with us!

Warm regards,
Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I went to Goa along with my family in early month of September. So, I was with my wife, 5 year old daughter and an infant son. Overall, the experience was extremely good. I would highly recommend the resort.
First the positives:
1 - On entering, we were greeted warmly with welcome drinks. The host was very warm and gave a brief on the facilities available and package inclusions.
2 - The hotel staff was very cordial. Everyone greeted very warmly. The reaction time for any request is very quick. And that includes requests for some special preparation for kid or even simple boiling of milk for infant or even washing of some particular personal utensil.
3 - All restaurants and cafe in hotel are superb. I tried all of them. The quality of food is amazing, the mocktails, coffee and tea was superb (me being tea totaller). The staff at restaurant is very considerate.
4 - Hotel rooms are spacious and there is scenic beauty around.
5 - Swimming pool is good. I enjoyed coffee at the pool (against conventions of taking drinks at the poolside:-) And my daughter spent endless hours at the pool.
6 - The recreation room was overall fine, my daughter liked doing pot painting there.

Now, some improvement needs:
1 - Bath rooms need to have some perfumes (you would at least expect some fine perfume when you check in and after daily house keeping) and exhaust needs to be slightly better. This is specifically required when you have infant kids with frequent need to change diapers. Good thing is that front office arranged for an alternate room with better exhaust and kept a bottle of spray as soon as we reported it.
2 - The kid section is not good enough. All recreation facilities like TT table, carrom board and kid's facilities are in a single room. I would have expected a small area where kids can sit and play games. A kid mat would be quite helpful. Also, members present in kids room should be able to entertain and involve kids in activities. They were warm but did not engage kids.
3 - Shuttle to Baga beach is not really needed (hotel provides the facility, but I wonder why would people like to go to that dirty beach. Also, it was a one side drop). I believe resort should provide more education on the good beaches around and help in some planning for the tour. But, not entirely resort's fault as I am also too lazy to ask for such information.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manu5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your detailed review on our 5 Star Deluxe Resort.

We are glad that you have had an extremely good experience of your stay with us and have highly recommended us to all on trip advisor who would like to have a fabulous time at Resort Rio!

We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback on the positives of our resort and also the details suggested for improvement for better facilities for kids of all ages and the suggestions of room re fresheners which will definitely assist us in improving the facilities we provide to our guests.

I do hope you and your family will visit us again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you and see the difference your feedback has made.

Warm regards,
Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were a family of 9, tried this new place, excellent plac. great and very spacious rooms, excellent food,lots of things to keep the children busy, super friendly staff, clean pools, lovely spa, it was very memorable. only hitch was it is not walking distance to baga,if u do not have a vehicle takes app 30-35 min with children to reach there,and taxis charge app150-200 RS for a drop of 3 km which is a little steep if u visit the beach everyday, hope they have a schedule for drop and pick up to the beach, which will help, but the hotel was beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nupur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us! I am glad to know that you and your family had a memorable stay with us.

With regards to the visits to the Baga beach ,we do provide a shuttle service to the beach thrice a day which is arranged on requests at our travel desk. The timings are scheduled at 10:30 am (ie after the closing of the buffet breakfast ), 12:30 pm & 5:00 pm. The timings may differ as per guests requests and after 6 pm there is no shuttle service to the beach.

We do look forward to your stay with us again soon and thank you once again for your valuable feedback posted on trip advisor as now we shall display the shuttle timings so that all guests are aware of the same and make use of it during their stay.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews