We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugarbird Manor
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$ 134
US$ 108
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$ 123
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 117
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 179
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosenwijn Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
US$ 79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
US$ 333
US$ 324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
188
68
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
68
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewshonesty bardevon valleyhouse catslovely catscape townrooms were spotlesslovely farmhelped us planwine valleyyogurt and fresh fruitminute drivewished we could have stayed longerfantastic roommoment you arriveguest housebreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place in the middle of a huge farm area. Very nice rooms with wonderful view over the winelands. Delicious breakfast a la carte with three or four options. Perfect to go to all the vineyards!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Woelfe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, General Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Woelfe2014,

Our warmest greetings from Sugarbird Manor in Stellenbosch and thank you for your wonderful review of our Guest House.

We pride ourselves on creating the perfect stay for all our guests and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Our breakfasts are made fresh and to order, and are packed with all the goodness that Stellenbosch has to offer - from Seasonal fruit, dairy and eggs all fresh from the local Farms.

We sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you home to Sugarbird Manor in the very near future.

Kindest regards,
Roxanne Marais
Guest House General Manager
Sugarbird Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We just spent two nights at Sugarbird Manor and were very disappointed. We chose it because of the good reviews and some friends‘ recommendation and we cannot believe how they could find it so great. We had a room im the main house facing the back which was okay. However, there were so many things that were missing and or annoying that are absolute standard in SA in all the guest houses we stayed for sometimes only a third of the price!! For example: the breakfast was absolutely disappointing and took ages!! They had no buffet, but made a plate ordered for each person. It was not great and compared to many other breakfastd it was soo little...the staff were also really slow and incompetent so you had to ask for everything twice...
The room itself was okay, but nothing special and pretty small. The bathroom was stylish but crazily impractical - slippery tiles, nowhere to put anything (!). Not enough towels...
They also have no DSTV, which I expect in a hotel of this standard. The complimentary water bottled were not refreshed on the second day...
The wine and other drinks in the honesty bar were really expensive as well... the view from the pool is nice, but it was far too windy to spend much time enjoying it. We also had the feeling that they were getting a commission from restaurants and taxis since their helpfulness was verging on pushiness, but maybe that was just our impression.

So, all in all very disappointing! Especially compared to so many other much (!) cheaper guest houses. I would chose a guest house in Stellenbosch town next time since most good restaurants are there anyway and you spend the day touring tje sorroundings.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flashpacker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, General Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Flashpacker02,

Our warmest greetings from Sugarbird Manor in Stellenbosch, and thank you for your review of our Guest House.
Although we appreciate all our guests feedback, whether positive or negative, we are very disappointed to receive such dismal criticism from one of our valued guests.

We take absolute pride in our Guest House & the service we offer our guests and so this review of course comes as a shock.

Our breakfasts are made fresh and to order for our guests enjoyment. No we do not offer a buffet, as most days are very hot in Stellenbosch and we would rather not offer our guests food that has been sitting on the side table for the two hours that we offer breakfast. Our rooms do have DSTV however I wish you had let us know that you were battling with the channels so we could assist you. Your towels are replenished daily when the rooms are cleaned, however we are happy to review the number of towels we place in the rooms. We also offer towels at the pool for our guests to use.

As we often say to our guests, Stellenbosch is very busy at this time of year and trying to arrange Restaurant and transfer requests at the last minute is almost impossible. As your enjoyment means so much to us, we try to ensure that you get to experience all the amazing offerings in Stellenbosch before there are no more vacancies. I assure you we do not get a kick back from any estabishment, we just want to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

I would really appreciate it if you would kindly send me your contact details to reservations@sugarbirdmanor.co.za so that we can hopefully resolve this offline.

We sincerely look forward to hearing from you and perhaps have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sugarbird Manor in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Roxanne Marais
Guest House General Manager
Sugarbird Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

It was lovely again. Sugarbird is perfect for chilling at the pool and having nice days. It's also very good for starting tours like to the national park and others. The wine estates in the area are really cool!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I2817MGtomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarbirdManor, Front Office Manager at Sugarbird Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your positive experience during your stay at our guest house and surrounding areas of Stellenbosh. We appreciate your kind compliments and look further to hosting you in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We arrived in the afternoon and felt welcome. We had a nice room on the upper floor and
it was silent and clean. The stuff was very friendly and helpful with recommondations and bookings for restaurants. Breakfast was much and fresh and it was possible to sit outside aswell.
A place to be for everybody who likes very good meet: The fat Butcher !!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phil_klumpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

There's no bad words to say about this place.
We stayed at the cottage, the room was beautiful, the view was spectacular and the breakfast was delicious.
The service was personal and warm.
One of my favorite places in South Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danachen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews