We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
159
54
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
54
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leave your car keys received a very warm welcome rooms are large laundry service stayed nights guesthouse veranda wine
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My husband and I returned to this guest house after having stayed here two years ago. The rooms are large and the position of the property is in good walking distance of Stellenbosch town center with secure parking. I would say that we stayed at more guest houses on this trip and found that Rusthuiz although friendly needed some tlc the pool was covered over and therefore was not inviting and the breakfast was not as good as other places we stayed. The biggest 'bug bear' for me was having to pay for water every where else this was free during our two week trip.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately we only stayed here 1 night. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome and taken to one of the most impressive rooms I've ever stayed in. There's secure off street parking and only a short walk to local restaurants and bars. It's a good area and I felt very safe walking to the restaurant in the evening. The breakfast was fantastic as well. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 742ChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We just love it here, 6 bedrooms, a small but lovely pool area, a devine stoop for breakfast, and a ten minute walk into the centre of town. Hannelise who is the Manageress is the epitome of great service, she makes the place for us , memory like an elephant, nothing is to much trouble , and a very happy soul. Its like coming home each year, the owner is polite, but doesn't really engage so if Hannelise ever left it would be be a disaster for us and maybe Rusthuiz. A great example is, on the Sunday we left she was on days off and the cushions and towels weren't put out at the pool by the male member of staff, we then arrived back after a day out to sit at the pool for an hour, and a lovely lady who covers shifts had to quickly set it all up expressing surprise it hadn't been done as normal, that wouldn't have happened if Hannelise was there.
Breakfasts are excellent, the quality of the decor, linen and towels is also very good, and the gardens are normally stunning, sadly not this year due to the water crisis in SA
The only real negative, is that it is right on a busy and noisy main road, they can't do anything about it, but if solitude is your goal then you need to bear that in mind.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WineHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear WineHighlander

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Rusthuiz. We really appreciate the feedback. Everyone here is happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Rusthuiz and that you do love Hannelise and her lovely personality! We apologise for the towels and pool setup not being done on that Sunday and we will look into the matter. Thank you for bringing it under our attention.

Warm regards for Stellenbosch
René, Hannelise and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful in organising anything one would like to do
English style
Nice sitting room with lots of books
Ask for room with renovated bathroom
Parking space
Conveniently located close to city Center

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lieve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Lieve

Thank you for you review of Rusthuiz. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards

René, Hannelise and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Within walking distance to the centre of Stellenbosch, this guesthouse offers nice rooms with comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The people are very helpful. Disadvantage: Due to the fact, that the guesthouse is close to the centre at a busy road, you might feel disturbed by the noise. Without this problem I would rate it very good.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank haut435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear haut435

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Rusthuiz. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the breakfast was good and that you found the rooms comfortable.

Our staff are always here to lend a helping hand and give advice on what to do in the Winelands.

Warm regards

René and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews