We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$ 124
US$ 111
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penelope's Guesthouse(Stellenbosch)
US$ 105
US$ 99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
US$ 343
US$ 333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
157
53
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
53
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseleave your car keyslinen and towelsbusy roadour room was spaciousreceived a very warm welcomelike coming homelaundry servicecentre of townshort walksecure parkingsouth africastayed nightsgardenguesthouselampsa
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016

A wonderful couple of days at this delightful guesthouse, it was our first stop on a 3 week trip and we were extremely impressed. The house and ground were gorgeous, our room was spacious, decor and cleanliness of a high standard. breakfast on the veranda each morning was so lovely and Hannalise and her colleagues couldn't have been more pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. They organised a wine tour for us which was great fun too - Tuk Tuk tours. We would definitely stay here again if we return to SA. Thanks Marie & Steve

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Surreygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Surreygirl54

Your feedback has made our day here at Rusthuiz. Every member of staff is walking around with a big smile on their faces!

We are all so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and lots of fun with Tuk Tuk.

Kind regards

Rene, Hannelise and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Rusthuis is a regular stopover on our annual SA trip, and we arrived on a Saturday for three nights. I had managed to forget to book in time, and we had had to upgrade ourselves to a higher room grade, with a balcony overlooking the pretty garden. The room was well furnished, with a large bathroom (rather than just a shower room). Beds at Rusthuis are large, and the rooms are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and functional.

One of the things we look forward to when we are at RH is breakfast on the veranda, including a plate of fresh fruit and cooked to order bacon and eggs.

We were less than pleased to be informed on arrival that there was no ‘normal’ Sunday breakfast any more, but a ‘food pack’, delivered to the room in the morning, which we could eat in our room or downstairs. Fresh coffee would still be available. This is, apparently, an ‘experiment’, but you need to be aware of this policy if you are visiting RH on a Sunday. (See pic). I did express my opinion at being charged the same price and having no notice of this change. The management thanked me for my ‘feedback’.

Unfortunately, the swimming pool, which we quite enjoy at RH, was a murky green colour and unusable this year. Apparently something was wrong with the filtration. In 39 degrees, we were not enamoured with that situation either, however unavoidable. What was avoidable was the stress of the same wasps’ nest, which I had pointed out last year, in the roof next to the pool. (I have a highly allergic wife).

Normal food service resumed on the Monday I’m glad to record!

Rusthuis is a good B and B, which we have used and enjoyed for several years. It is a pity it did not suit our needs this trip.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Grahamee

As always it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Rusthuiz and we always value your feedback.

With reference to the Sunday breakfast.. We have seen that it is not what our clients want and we also realized that is is not what we want to offer to you. Thus we have reverted back to the lovely breakfast buffet for witch we are known. I do appreciate you views and advice in this regard.

The problem with the pool have been sorted out and have been sparkling and cristal clear since... We are aware that the wasps come back each year and have the nests removed as soon as we see them again. Hopefully next time there will not be any..

We look forward to welcome you back again in the future and hope that we will better suit your needs next time...

Warm regards from a sunny Stellenbosch

Rene, Hannelise, Manthia and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We spent 3 nights in this attractive and renovated house which is a 10 minute walk into town. Parking is tightly packed but available within the gated grounds. Our room was extremely spacious although the lighting in the bathroom was poor. We did not have occasion to use the small pool, the garden was lovely, the breakfast was rather skimpy and on Sunday a bare basic selection is delivered to one's room.
Hannalise is a treasure; prior to our arrival she helped arrange dinner reservations and a wine tour of the area. She is outstanding and a true asset!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank b0risandnatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear b0risandnatasha

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. We appreciate your feedback.

We tried a different breakfast menu for a 6 week period in the way of a breakfast pack on Sundays. We have seen that it is not what our clients want and also not what we want to offer them. We have thus reverted back to our normal breakfast menu on Sundays.

Your positive feedback is was also passed on to Hannelise. Thank you so much for that.

Warm regards from Stellenbosch
Rene, Hannelise and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Best reviews to Binnenhof at 2 Rynevleld Street! A really interesting menue that covers a lot of tastes - the burger fans get their deal, the pasta lovers theirs, and then - the zebra, ostrich, and whatever wild game that is not protected, AND the Xhosa kitchen, which proved to be tasty, not overspiced, and - acuallty with some modifications, even veggie friendly. (Ask for the semi-burger made from maize, beetroot, spinache, and some other stuff and skip the meat.) Now if you eat meat - take the lamb stew! And very friendly and informative staff! Only now I know when sheep were imported to South Africa, or what spinache-like vegeables they have.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank tova1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear tova1964

Thank you for your review. I do agree Binnehof is a lovely restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Stellenbosch.

Kind regards

Rene and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

From the moment we booked Hannelise went out of her way to make our stay memorable. When we arrived she was friendly and welcoming and made sure we felt at home. I had emailed her a couple of days before asking for her advice on booking a wine tour, she promptly responded with recommendations and then arranged it all and it was fantastic!
The guest house is beautiful with lovely gardens and a swimming pool. It's very relaxing yet only a few minutes walk from the main town. Hannelise made a booking for dinner after we looked through the recommendations they have in the guest house, it was a fantastic meal.
Breakfast was served on the veranda and was cooked to order and was delicious. Stellenbosch is a great area, only wish we had stayed longer. If we were to return we would stay at Rusthuiz again. Thank Hannelise.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Shirly310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dearest Shirly310

I have to agree with you about Hannelise! She is a star! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Rusthuiz and also in our beautiful little town.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your thank you will be given to Hannelise and she will appreciate it so much!

Kind regards

Rene and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews