We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ducks but bees & fees are an issue”

Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 179.88*
and up
Half-Day Winelands Tour Stellenbosch from Cape...
Ranked #16 of 155 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Vergenoegd Wine Estate is a Heritage site and one of the oldest wine estates on the Stellenbosch Wine Route. Easy access from the freeway and merely 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport. Indian Runner Ducks are used in our vineyards as a form of natural pest control, helping us to eliminate the use of conventional pest control methods. Our army of 1000 ducks parade in front of the Manor House on their way to and back from the vineyards and may be seen by guests on a daily basis. We also offer unique and personalized blending experience (coffee, olive oil, tea and wine) as well as breakfast, lunch and picnics. We host a weekly Family market, every Saturday live entertainment once a month, showcasing some of SA's best musical talent.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Have heard a lot about the duckwalk and took the kids today - what a lovely sight, and a pretty attraction.
However I have four red flags:
1. Our table and the 2 nearest to ours all left within 90 min of receiving our food due to the large bee problem. Each table had easily 2 - 3 dozen yellow-jackets buzzing around the children. I get that we are in nature, but the number of bees on us, in our food, in our faces today points to a larger problem. Also meant that at least 3 x tables left fairly quickly today to escape the bees. So much for a leisurely afternoon
2. The Boulles area is unbelievably close to the where the kids are running around. Honest to God people are throwing the heavy metal balls to within two metres of where kids run. Massive risk and a life-threatening accident waiting to happen.
3. Our bill was R900. For a picnic for 2 x adults and 2 x kids and 1 x wine and 3 x coffees. Cmon guys, really?
4. The dirt road on the estate leading to the parking is shocking. Spend the money and fix the potholes.

Thank Ianbredenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Ianbredenkamp

Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd Löw Wine Estate! We appreciate your feedback.

We can confirm that these were not yellow jackets (wasps) but rather a once-off, spontaneous swarm of bees. We apply a natural process of burning coffee that repels bees and have not had a swarm of bees on the farm for months and have subsequently also not returned after your visit. We apologize for this spoil to your afternoon.

We are in the process of developing notification signage for Boules at Vergenoegd. We have setup our Boules courts further away from visitors in the past, however, parents voiced their concerns regarding their kids being separated from them. We have thus brought the courts closer for family safety and peace-of-mind.

Your bill was calculated incorrectly and we are correcting this on our system. You were charged twice for the kids snack box, we do apologize for this - please get in touch with us so that we may refund the overcharged amount to you (media@vergenoegd.co.za).

You may have noticed a newly paved road on our farm. This new road will soon be opened for public use (please kindly note that the entry dirt road between the Baden Powell tar road and the Vergenoegd Löw entrance boom is on property not owned by us. This road and entrance will soon be closed).

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind Regards

david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"duck parade"
in 110 reviews
"duck tour"
in 9 reviews
"duck march"
in 3 reviews
"hay bales"
in 6 reviews
"wine estate"
in 24 reviews
"saturday market"
in 6 reviews
"watching the ducks"
in 4 reviews
"famous duck"
in 3 reviews
"ducks walking"
in 3 reviews
"blending experience"
in 4 reviews
"olive oil"
in 12 reviews
"dessert platter"
in 3 reviews
"manor house"
in 8 reviews
"pork belly"
in 6 reviews
"cape town"
in 16 reviews
"course meal"
in 3 reviews
"saturday morning"
in 6 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

It was the most amazing thing to see. From the time the ducks were taken out of the water to them waiting for the moment that they started there walk. It was just such an experience. The discipline and how they waited to be told to start walking. It was such a special thing to see. Will definitely visit again. No entrance fee and a market on s Saturday

Thank cherylfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi cherylfowler

Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Our ducks contribute largely to an eco-friendly form of pest control, helping us to drastically reduce the use of chemicals in our vineyards.

We appreciate your feedback and rating!

Kind Regards

david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I have driven past the estate at least twice a month for many years and didn’t know about the duck parade, so decided to take my daughter there for my birthday. The parade is very cute, unique and definitely worth visiting.

I wasn’t aware that there was a Pizza and
Wine festival on and coincidentally visited on the day. Unfortunately I paid the R180pp entrance fee which totaled R360 and all it included was 5 tastings of wine (less than a glass). Am still puzzled, disappointed and shocked at the price and the the small selection of wines
on offer.

There are so many nice wine farms in the area that one can go to, that offer a small charge for wine tasting and have fantastic facilities for kids. Paid my school fees today and will keep driving past next time. Guess my experience may have been different if it wasn’t the rip off, Pizza and so called Wine festival.

Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Jean D

Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we're happy that you enjoyed the duck parade and appreciate your feedback.

The Pizza and Wine Festival is run by an outside events company, the event was merely hosted on the Vergenoegd premises this year. We'll certainly consider all the invaluable feedback regarding this event for future hosting at our farm.

Our family-friendly wine farm offers a variety of delicious food, wine tastings and activities for the young ones, weekly Saturday Family Markets as well as Live Summer Concerts during the summer season.

Please do visit again to experience a true reflection of our wine farm.

Kind Regards

david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Unpretentious with generous food, especially the pork belly! Unexpected since the entrance isn't representative. The wines are great in particular the newer 2015 vintages and Runner Duck, perfect to enjoy whilst adoring the 1000 ducks doing their run. You may even feed them and kids love it! Deli with meats, cheeses and freshly baked bread or order a picnic to enjoy under the trees with amazing bird song. Highly recommended destination!

Thank Lindie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Lindie123

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd Löw Wine Estate. Our entrance to Vergenoegd will change in the near future and we're also laying a new road.

We appreciate your awesome rating and review. Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you soon again!

Kind Regards

david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

An awesome experience with great service, particularly from Unathi who connected with us in a real, fun and relatable manner. Tops Vergenoegd

Thank Janeke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Janeke d

Thank you for visiting, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd and we hope to see you soon again!

Kind Regards

david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing