We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view over the valley”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great view over the valley”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is in a secluded setting with fine views to the front. The original bedroom wing, in which we stayed for two nights, is timber framed with clean, but small bedrooms in which there was no space to sit down. However, the bathroom was large with both bath and walk-in shower (a smaller bathroom and larger bedroom would have been an improvement. There was, however, a small patio area which unfortunately, unlike most other rooms, did not look out to the valley. There is a modern, two-storey modern wing which does offer private patios and an open valley outlook. The outdoor pool is small with limited lounger area and is at the bottom of quite a steep path which some might find difficult to traverse. The food is first class as is the dining room. An attractive terrace offers magnificent views over the valley and there is an option to have breakfast here - a bonus if you like eating outside. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new wing, preferably on the ground floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    192
    48
    23
    7
See reviews for
88
325
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suider Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous Sunday lunch Buffet with our 18 guests, the food was delicious although most wanted to start at the desert table...

The rooms were comfortable with GORGEOUS linen!! The bathroom is spacious and beautiful.

After a long lazy day we returned to our room to find a complimentary bottle of ice cold bubbly and a cheese platter, that we savoured on our own pergollad wooden deck under the privacy of vines and lavender!

We'd love to go back there, away from the husle and busle, hidden in a beautiful valley.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaraScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel is close to our hearts- they are set in a lovely cul de sac valley, with stunning views, peaceful setting, and stunning gardens. The staff, the management and the whole ambience is relaxed yet professional. Ideal for families, honeymooners and conferences. They have a giving room, which supports a preschool for undepriviledged children across the road, Graceland, and the hotel is very active in charity work. The rooms from classic to luxury are all newly renovated, and very much on par with most 4 star hotels now in SA. Highly recommended from our perspective, a good value, great setting, winelands hotel.

Room Tip: aks for the vineyard rooms to the right of the main reception, bit more expensive, but amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Friendly staff welcomed us and cared well for us. Food in the dining room exceeded our expectations with suggested matching wines available. Outdoor pool needed a clean where it looked like the filter was at fault - plenty of leaves floating! Wine tour day arranged for us with delightfully pleasant guide who initially did not particularly inspire confidence but provided a good day overall - strange combination perhaps. Lovely garden surroundings at this vineyard based accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Our stay at Devon Valley was distinctly average. Erin extended us a lovely, friendly welcome and our sommelier, Luvoyo, was really wonderful but other than that, and the picturesque view, the rest of the stay was distinctly average. The property is looking very tired and run down and the staff need a wake up call if you ask me...they all look bored to tears (except for Erin and Luvoyo) and very tired. The lady with red hair who checked us out just gave us our bill, didn't even say thank you OR even ask us if we enjoyed our stay. Very poor customer service. The room itself was okay but not outstanding. Other properties in the area are head and shoulders above this one. I must say that the pizzas were delicious but everything else looked tired and was sub standard. We would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umlani09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
5.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
5.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,931 - ₹ 11,548
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing