We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spier Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Lodge(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,124)
Filter reviews
2,125 results
Traveller rating
1,220
665
163
57
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,220
665
163
57
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssegway toureagle encounterswine tastingkids clubbird sanctuarycraft marketcape towngas firemain restaurantmain poolrooms are largeconference venueour honeymoongarden routewine estatebeautiful placefantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,712 - 1,717 of 2,125 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me, my wife and our 1 year old son spent a thoroughly decent weekend at Spier Hotel just outside Stellenbosch. I have not rated it a 5 as to do so would compare it to another hotel on our same trip and I think it doesn't quite match it for the attention to detail.

This is to take nothing away from the very welcoming staff, a lovely clean layout to the hotel, the dining rooms and the our room (606). We weren't offered a family room although we could see they weren't at full capacity but we never asked for it either. The beds were big, the rooms clean, the gardens expansive and the pool clean too.

There is plenty to do and see at Spier and I felt it had more to offer than the other local wine estates that we visited. The Cheetah Outreach Programme (where we got to pet a Cheetah) and the Owl/Eagle Sanctuary were both fascinating.

I tried food from all the options - the main dining room for fish and chips (nicely and lightly cooked), Moyo Restaurant for an African-themed buffet and dancing and Eight-To-Go for a sandwich/snack. All delivered the food well. Breakfast also was well put-together with plenty of variety and, at each point, they catered for our little man without any fuss. They also provided complimentary childcare to allow us to relax at Moyo (which is on-site).

Would recommend for a long weekend as a good base to see the area.

Room Tip: If you have children there is a specific gated area that caters for them.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spier offers a mixed bag of fun to all that visit. When you arrive at the hotel, you will be taken to your room in a golf cart. The hotel rooms look like a little village with roads in between for these golf carts. They are all very big rooms and have enough space for two young kids in one room, with flat screen television sets (not good reception) large bathrooms with bath and shower. They also come with a gas fireplace, mini fridge, safe, comfortable beds and if you are on the ground floor - a lovely outside area where you can have a glass of wine...We booked a standard room and these do need some TLC - our bathroom had alot of mould and some of the furniture in our room needs some attention. It was also not a very clean room(loads of cobwebs) and the lovely outside area needs some cleaning(someone emptied an ashtray outside). We booked for four, but only received cups, glasses, towels etc. for two. We were also promised a free upgrade by our travel agent as we stayed for more than two nights, and this also did not happen.... They advertise toyboxes for kids in the rooms and we had to ask a couple of times for these boxes to arrive - this should have been organised before our arrival. The playroom for children also never opened during our visit. But you can keep yourself busy with alot of activities such as The Cheetahs (moving to another location as we speak) and the Eagle encounters. The kids loved this and spent a couple of hours with the animals.You can also do a bit of winetasting (charged from R60.00 per person), cycle or go for a long walk. You also have many options for food - picnics, Eight restaurant, Moyo etc. We have tried most of these options, and the food is fresh and interesting, but beware it is pricey! We have ordered room service a couple of times, and although the food arrived warm, it is really typical hotel food - and nothing special. We loved the breakfast. It changed daily and had a very good selection of food. The breakfast room is modern and I absolutely loved the music that they played every morning! All and all this is a good place for a short visit. It offers activities that any tourist will enjoy and it is not to far away from the rest of the Winelands to escape the theme park feeling!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived at Spier, aspart of our honeymoon trip to South Africa, and it completely outstripped our expectations. Our room was more like a suite - huge bed, large seating area, open fire, large bathroom with lovely complimentary cosmetics. When we we went inside, there were rose petals on our bed, a box of chocolates, red wine and a lovely card. Such a nice touch!

We only had one night at spier (such a shame) but I'm so glad we had dinner at their traditional restaurant Moyo. Traditional music, great food and we loved having our faces painted! We definitely bought into this whole experience :-)

Overall, a great place to stay especially for couples looking for that extra bit of romance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments, my team was delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and feel privelaged to have been part of your honeymoon trip.
Kind regards,
Wayne Siepman, Generak Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I loved Spier! Sadly, I had a bad cold and spent a little time down, but still enjoyed it to best of my abilities. I particularly enjoyed petting the Cheetahs at the outreach program (being moved offsite next month) and Moyo restaurant! The entertainment and buffet-style food was fantastic! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I loved the buildings and the staff was friendly. I was quite drawn to the artwork they have displayed around the buildings, they were lovely!

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms are better than others!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Muralgirl,

I hope you are feeling better and have fully recovered, Spier is a magical place and I am happy that you still managed to enjoyed your stay. The art work is lovely and is a passion of ours. We have some exciting new art arriving during winter! Look out for it on your next visit.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Spier Hotel and winery was great. My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights. The staff was excellent. The hotel rooms and grounds are large, clean, comfortable, and fantastic. There are many things to do at Spier. It's often referred to as a "wine theme park" which is valid, but it's not tacky. The wine they make there is good, not great, but good. We saw and petted the cheetahs at the outreach program (which is being moved in May 2012 to a larger location) and the raptors (which you can hold and book a nature walk with) . The activities available are excellent if you have a few days. They used to have horseback riding, but don't anymore, which was a little disappointing as I was looking forward to that, but there's plenty to do anyway. We ate at Moyo, the outdoor buffet. It was quite good for a buffet and there's good entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Patricksfolly, thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback from our valued guests. Spier has many varied activities for our guests and we have undertaken a few changes in the recent months to enhance the overall guest experience. I am sorry to hear that we could not accommodate your request for horse riding, but it sounds as if you made good use of the rest of the facilities.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews