We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a hotel.”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“More than just a hotel.”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were visiting Capetown on cruise ship and decided to get out of the city for one night as we had spent a previous holiday in the cape and had already visited most of the main sites/attractions. We love the scenery in the cape winelands around Stellenboch and Franschoek and having visited another large and well known winery on a day trip on our previous holiday decided that we would spend a night at Spier to see if it lived up to its billing.
We were not disappointed - the setting is magnificent, extensive grounds and gardens surrounded by the mountains and not forgetting, the lake, cheetahs, birds of prey and craft centre as well as its raison d'etre, the winery.. The hotel is not untypical of the standard one expects in South Africa - large comfortable rooms, good cuisine and wine although no Graham Beck or La Motte (only joking!!).
All in all a place worth visiting. The only reason we have rated it 4 out of 5, is that the reception staff seemed somewhat aloof and not particularly welcoming. Our rooms were not ready for occupation when we arrived, but in fairness we were a bit early. We were asked to wait in reception and were provided with a glass of fruit juice but waited for an interminable length of time with no clear update on the position. Had we been informed in the first place that there would be a lengthy wait, we could have left our bags in reception and gone for a stroll around the grounds or a drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeceecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    579
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
435
786
23
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me, my wife and our 1 year old son spent a thoroughly decent weekend at Spier Hotel just outside Stellenbosch. I have not rated it a 5 as to do so would compare it to another hotel on our same trip and I think it doesn't quite match it for the attention to detail.

This is to take nothing away from the very welcoming staff, a lovely clean layout to the hotel, the dining rooms and the our room (606). We weren't offered a family room although we could see they weren't at full capacity but we never asked for it either. The beds were big, the rooms clean, the gardens expansive and the pool clean too.

There is plenty to do and see at Spier and I felt it had more to offer than the other local wine estates that we visited. The Cheetah Outreach Programme (where we got to pet a Cheetah) and the Owl/Eagle Sanctuary were both fascinating.

I tried food from all the options - the main dining room for fish and chips (nicely and lightly cooked), Moyo Restaurant for an African-themed buffet and dancing and Eight-To-Go for a sandwich/snack. All delivered the food well. Breakfast also was well put-together with plenty of variety and, at each point, they catered for our little man without any fuss. They also provided complimentary childcare to allow us to relax at Moyo (which is on-site).

Would recommend for a long weekend as a good base to see the area.

Room Tip: If you have children there is a specific gated area that caters for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spier offers a mixed bag of fun to all that visit. When you arrive at the hotel, you will be taken to your room in a golf cart. The hotel rooms look like a little village with roads in between for these golf carts. They are all very big rooms and have enough space for two young kids in one room, with flat screen television sets (not good reception) large bathrooms with bath and shower. They also come with a gas fireplace, mini fridge, safe, comfortable beds and if you are on the ground floor - a lovely outside area where you can have a glass of wine...We booked a standard room and these do need some TLC - our bathroom had alot of mould and some of the furniture in our room needs some attention. It was also not a very clean room(loads of cobwebs) and the lovely outside area needs some cleaning(someone emptied an ashtray outside). We booked for four, but only received cups, glasses, towels etc. for two. We were also promised a free upgrade by our travel agent as we stayed for more than two nights, and this also did not happen.... They advertise toyboxes for kids in the rooms and we had to ask a couple of times for these boxes to arrive - this should have been organised before our arrival. The playroom for children also never opened during our visit. But you can keep yourself busy with alot of activities such as The Cheetahs (moving to another location as we speak) and the Eagle encounters. The kids loved this and spent a couple of hours with the animals.You can also do a bit of winetasting (charged from R60.00 per person), cycle or go for a long walk. You also have many options for food - picnics, Eight restaurant, Moyo etc. We have tried most of these options, and the food is fresh and interesting, but beware it is pricey! We have ordered room service a couple of times, and although the food arrived warm, it is really typical hotel food - and nothing special. We loved the breakfast. It changed daily and had a very good selection of food. The breakfast room is modern and I absolutely loved the music that they played every morning! All and all this is a good place for a short visit. It offers activities that any tourist will enjoy and it is not to far away from the rest of the Winelands to escape the theme park feeling!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived at Spier, aspart of our honeymoon trip to South Africa, and it completely outstripped our expectations. Our room was more like a suite - huge bed, large seating area, open fire, large bathroom with lovely complimentary cosmetics. When we we went inside, there were rose petals on our bed, a box of chocolates, red wine and a lovely card. Such a nice touch!

We only had one night at spier (such a shame) but I'm so glad we had dinner at their traditional restaurant Moyo. Traditional music, great food and we loved having our faces painted! We definitely bought into this whole experience :-)

Overall, a great place to stay especially for couples looking for that extra bit of romance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments, my team was delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and feel privelaged to have been part of your honeymoon trip.
Kind regards,
Wayne Siepman, Generak Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I loved Spier! Sadly, I had a bad cold and spent a little time down, but still enjoyed it to best of my abilities. I particularly enjoyed petting the Cheetahs at the outreach program (being moved offsite next month) and Moyo restaurant! The entertainment and buffet-style food was fantastic! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I loved the buildings and the staff was friendly. I was quite drawn to the artwork they have displayed around the buildings, they were lovely!

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms are better than others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Muralgirl,

I hope you are feeling better and have fully recovered, Spier is a magical place and I am happy that you still managed to enjoyed your stay. The art work is lovely and is a passion of ours. We have some exciting new art arriving during winter! Look out for it on your next visit.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
11.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
8.7 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.8 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
8.6 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,228 - ₹ 14,662
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing