We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
75
64
34
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
64
34
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This is the first wine farm I have visited where we were told that all four of us had to taste the same wines. My husband prefers red and one of our guests only drinks white. I spoke with the manager and eventually we reached a compromise and the two men chose red wines and the ladies chose white. This was far from satisfactory as we would have liked to taste both. Also at least five of the wines were out of stock which limited the choice. I will not return to this wine farm or recommend it to others.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at the honeymoon suite to celebrate our anniversary. The view was amazing. Everything was neat and clean.
Buffet Breakfast next morning was delicious and the service was outstanding.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreT1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancevn, Manager at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Good day

Thank you so much for the lovely post, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again. Have a great day

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Well, we thought after all our trips to wine estates we had seen it all... NO this restaurant TowerHouse was just so inviting.....thatched roof, beautiful old plates on the walls, spoons and China hanging from the ceiling.... We had Sunday lunch, what an experience, a set meal where they brought the Main course to the table whereby we helped ourselves to fabulous Lamb & Pork, roasted veggies, polenta, roast potatoes, just so delicious.... Soup to start and a delicious fruit crumble & custard for desert.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Selbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancevn, Manager at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Good day

Thanks thanks thanks for this amazing comment!

Enjoy the rest of your day and we do hope that you come and visit us again

Kind regards
Knorhoek Wine Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

After a exiting trip of two weeks with excellant accomodation in beatiful South Africa we arrived at a very nice wine estate callef Knorhoek. The travel agent booked this B &B. The welcome was hoirible. No welcome drink or pleasant hello. It looked like a Ministry with civil servants from 9 till 5 pm. "After 5 p.m." we are closed. Late guests will arrive at the first SA do it yourself B&B. This is beyond any expectations when it comes to hospitality business.
However this is just a starter. Next annnouncement: our restaurant is closed on Saturday and Sunday? You read it well.
Closed......Religion? Union agreement?..we do not know. Never seen or noticed this business model in my 45 years career in hotel business. There is also good news:
The beds are o.k.

.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank krijger195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Mr Krijger
Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate criticism, both positive and negative.
However, we would like to point out the following aspects regarding our Guesthouse.
- it is the responsibility of the Booking agent to inform their clients of each destinations' daily operation. The booking agent is also very well aware of the fact that the Guesthouse serves dinner only Monday to Friday nights. The Restaurant on the premises is only open for lunch Wednesdays to Sundays - all this information should be conveyed by the booking agent and all this information is also clearly stated on our website.
-we apologise if you did not have a pleasant welcome - as a 3star guesthouse we do not serve welcome drinks on arrival, but there is a coffee/tea station in your room
-upon arrival at 12h50 our staff offered to assist you with dinner reservations, shuttle arrangements etc which you declined
-we noticed from our security cameras that our staff arrived at 07h15 and left at 17h15
-reception not open 24hours but always an after hours number posted on the front door
-the Guesthouse has operated in this manner for the past 22 years and therefore we have been able to keep the room rates as low as it is.
Hopefully this explains our business model - and apologies again if there was any misunderstanding.
thank you


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Our last stop of the holiday, 4 days of winding down before flying home and just the place for a wind down, so quiet ,chilled and relaxing as well as amazing scenery, surrounded by vineyards and mountains! Stayed in the Honeymoon suite on the top floor with view across to the Manor House and backdrop of mountains. Lisel is an amazing cook , comes in in the afternoon prepares the evening dinner as well as all the bread etc for next days breakfast, her puddings are to die for!!! There is a tab system whereas you write all you have from the fridges , wine counter etc during the course of your stay. Wonderful place to walk around and has its own winery and tasting sessions. There is a pool in the garden of the main Manor that you can use or just relax in the garden area around it. We would definitely go back here to finish our holiday again!!

Room Tip: Honemoon suite def the best for size and views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kentmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKFvN, consultant at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Kentmaid
Usually one needs a holdiay after a good holiday! Thank you for your kind and most comprehensive review of what we want our guests to experience at Knorhoek. We want guests to relax, enjoy the wine, the wholesome food and spectacular scenery - this is what Knorhoek is all about.
Liesel is a gem and as you say, works magic with her breads and puddings. I'll convey your compliments to her.
It will be a pleasure having you back to stay after your next holiday in the Cape.
All the best and Happy Easter
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews