We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
75
64
34
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
64
34
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

On our way back from Cape Town we decided on a whim to stop in Stellenbosch. Looking on the Internet we found this little GEM. The staff very helpful and friendly. Service excellent. Rooms small but more than adequate, clean and everything you need in it. The surroundings are just MAGNIFICIENT, so tranquil and relaxing. Picture perfect we enjoyed every moment here

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wierie, Consultant at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Christa
We are so pleased you enjoyed your Knorhoek experience. I have spoken to the staff about your compliments regarding the clean and comfortable rooms and excellent friendly service. Thank you for this. We who work and live here are forever in awe of the magnificent surroundings. Thank you for your lovely review
All the best for 2016
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Part of a wedding group, one would have hoped for better staff reception & happy faces for the weekend! When the Brides parents & guests arrive for breakfast 5 minutes early ,do not send them away saying you are not ready for another 30 minutes-offer some coffee instead! If the only key to the safe in the room doesn't fit, don't shrug your shoulders and walk away - always offer another option. Putting the mediocre reception aside, the staff at the wedding event were superb and the food amazing! Someone there makes the best roast potatoes and steaks we have ever eaten!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lindym303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wierie, consultant at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Lindym
Thank you for your review and the wonderful compliments about the venue. I shall look into your comments about the weekend shift - I presume it was a week ago - and find out who the reception staff were. Unfriendly reception is unacceptable.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We stopped here for one day on a meandering tour from Cape Town to Hermanus. The setting is wonderful, the accommodation comfortable and the food and wine excellent. It's a very relaxed and welcoming place and I would gladly have stayed longer.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sg_hancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wierie, Consultant at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear SG
Thank you for your most kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed everything Knorhoek has to offer and the fact that you "gladly would have stayed longer" is an amazing compliment.
All the best for 2016.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Knorhoek's accommodation is reasonably priced and adequate for an overnight stay. I felt like the actual experience was missing something though when compared to how the accommodation was advertised... The attic room that I stayed in was decorated in an 'old' style with a ball and claw bath tub...but the room had a kind of clinical feel caused in part by the bluish-coloured light bulb and modular-type shower in the bathroom - it just missed the mark for me a bit. I also found the lighting in the room very dim which made working in the evening challenging... That said, the staff were friendly and the estate looks lovely. It was also very conveniently located for business in Stellenbosch. I may have had a different experience on a different type of trip but I'm more likely to try somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toniaj514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We visited Knorhoek estate today and we were pleasantly surprised. The wine was really good and we treated ourselves on the cheese platter, which is a MUST when you visit Knorhoek. What we really enjoyed most was that it is a relatively small estate without the mass tourists. This allowed us to enjoy in peace!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 265karelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wierie, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015

Dear Visitor
We are pleased you enjoyed your wine tasting at Knorhoek. My son is the wine maker and he will wallow in the compliments. What we offer is good quality, reasonably priced wines, an excellent cheese platter and of course, the tranquil beauty of the surroundings. Thank you for putting this in your review - much appreciated.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews