We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were fortunate to get a great deal through Expedia and enjoyed the Tower suite for 3 days during February 2012. We would have liked to stay longer but they were fully booked. Great dining in Raphael's. Super staff and free wifi. The views from the swimming pool, overlooking the mountains of Stellenbosch will stay with us forever!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    176
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
94
534
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

5* Setting - 5* dining - 5* service - and the best bar menu in the Cape...... we just keep going back. As locals, having this on our doorstep is absolutely wonderful - and for tourists it is exceptional value. The scenery is magnificent and the staff can't do enough to make you feel more tan welcome.

Room Tip: We are locals and only eat at the Sansibar Bistro at the hotel - absolutely wonderful place for ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irenemaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Arriving in the early evening for a business meeting the following morning I checked in to the Asara and got an immediate upgrade to a massive suite with a view across water to the vineyards and mountains in the background. Had a wonderful dinner with a tasty Cabernet Sauvignon in the restaurant. A truly lovely place on the road to central Stellenbosch from Cape Town Airport

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had heard a lot of great things about Stellenbosch and the vineyards, so we had to try this ourselves. There are many options, but in the end we choose the Asara Hotel, and we don't regret that at all. Asara is nice situated and maintained in a good way. The hotel complex is classic and delicious with idyllic artificial lakes and a swimming pool. We had a standard room with a really nice bathroom and a terrace. The staff were really nice and helpful and during breakfast and dinner they showed excellent service and they knew what they were doing. The food was also extremely good, so as the wine of course. We did some wine tasting, and also bought some bottles. It's also nice to take a walk around the hotel to see the wine ranks. We absolutely recommend this hotel for a couple of days.

One thing to pay attention to is that the wine is cheaper on the airport than at the Asara. And that is not logic at all. Unfortunately Asara doesn't have any gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilledur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed two nights this July in Asara but we would have stayed longer. The room is enormous and the breakfast is really hilarious! But the best are the amazing views of the wineyards and the mountains. Concerning the wines, Asara shiraz and Cape fusion are my favorites.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerimooreamusgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,826 reviews
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
5.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
4.9 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,321 - ₹ 40,367
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing