We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
242
58
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
58
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ostrich steak the owner jack russel personal charm home cooked dinner highgate ostrich farm enjoyable night delicious homemade our room was spotlessly clean warm welcome one night off the beaten track home from home car wash distant mountains guest house attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

if your looking for a home from home with an amazing family/owner run guesthouse then Thylitshia Villa is the place to stay. As cyclists who love this part of the world, we have stayed with Lillies and Elriza on numerous occasion and their warmth and hospitality has always been amazing. The rooms, the setting - you name it - we love it. Lovely cats and a classic Jack Russell all complete the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hi folks thanks for the review we really appreciate it.Thanks for the lovely chats on the porch with you.It is true what they say about learning something from everyone you meet in life and I certainly learned about life from you guys.Happy cycling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Thylitshia is a welcoming guesthouse with lots of attention to detail. The meals (specifically the ostrich fillet) were excellent and the rooms comfortable. The owners focus on making the stay there as enjoyable as possible.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank marnib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guests.
Thank you for the nice review. Your compliments motivate us to maintain a high standard and to provide the best service possible. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards
Lollies & Elriza Janse van Rensburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Clean, neat rooms, crispy white linen, helpful friendly hosts, quiet farm surroundings, delicious food...
stayed for one night with our 3 children on our road trip. Highly recommend it.
Lollies and Elzira went out of their way to make us welcome and accommodate us. Stayed in rooms 1 and 2 which are inter connecting and ideal for a family with small kids. High gate ostrich farm is 4 km away which we also visited.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank KLMKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi you folks thanks for the positive review.We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we also enjoyed your kids especially Bella.What we offer here is straight from the heart.We hope to see you again sometime.God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly service by Lollies and Elriza. Grounds are lovely and the rooms are cosy with good character.

Breakfast was excellent, as was the dinner prepared by Lollies and Elriza (I had ostrich for the first time and it was pretty good!).

Only two negatives- bed was small (everywhere we stayed before and after had big king size beds whereas I think this was a queen); gratuity was highlighted on the bill when we were checking out, which we felt was a little forward. Would return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us.We normally do not give a king-size bed unless it is asked for.Double bed is common in S-Africa.Glad you enjoyed your ostrich fillet.Hope to see you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We spent one night passing through on this amazingly beautiful estate! We were welcomed by Lollies and felt right at home! The room is very charmingly decorated and provides for all the luxuries one can wish for. Take the time to relax in the garden after enjoying the delicious breakfast... This place is definitely a recommendation for anyone seeking peace and quiet,good conversation and stunning surroundings!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guests.
Many thanks for the great review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Your compliments motivate us to go the extra mile!
We appreciate your support and look forward seeing you again!
Kind Regards
Lollies & Elriza Janse van Rensburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews