We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$ 52
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 142
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 114
US$ 90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
174
130
57
35
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
130
57
35
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscango cavesone nightfarm buildingsevening meal and breakfastcountry stylewood burning firebuffet stylerustic charmgarden routecountry lodgethe black swanostrich farmchecking outsouth africacape towngardens are beautifullarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Charmingly restored and decorated old farm buildings surrounded by a garden.
Spacious room with a metal fireplace, piano and books in the corridor. Coffee making facilities in the small shady patio. Huge bathroom with shower, jacuzzi, bathrobes and separate toilet.
In some of the rooms the safety box didn't work, neither wi-fi.
Nice buffet breakfast and dinner in the restaurant from regional produce.
The atmosphere at the reception when checking out was hurried and for some reason a bit irritated.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thearcticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We spent one night here en route to Cape Town from Port Elizabeth. The welcome was warm. The furnishing was authentic and certainly not standard hotel stuff: it is a family-run concern. The extensive gardens and the pool were attractive. The food was home-cooked and excellent in quality and choice. On such a journey as ours it was ideal for a night's stay, and if circumstances had dictated longer we should have been content.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed here for one night specifically to see the ostriches. We drove from Wilderness, so a short drive through the mountains on a very quiet Sunday morning.
De Opstal is out of the town towards the caves. It is on a very quiet road.
There was a friendly greeting when we arrived. We were early for check in, but the room was available so we were taken there. A pot of tea was also bought to us.
The room itself was amazing. They can all be seen online, but the photos don't do them justice. The room was huge, ours had two beds so suitable for a family.
The bed was very comfortable, bedding and towels good quality. There was a very large bathroom with separate bath, shower and toilet. Plenty of hot water and lovely toiletries.
We had a verandah with two rocking chairs as well.
The wifi in the room was good.
Outside the gardens are lush and beautifully planted attracting many birds.
There is a pool area with loungers and towels. We sat there is the afternoon soaking up the sun, having a dip and revelling in the beauty and peace of the landscape.
De Opstal offer dinner as well so we opted for that as we were only staying one night.
We were given a menu, fixed price, and we decided what we were going to eat before we went to dinner.
However, when we got there it was a buffet dinner and you could have everything on the menu! It was fantastic....ostrich pate to start then ostrch steaks, bobotie, chicken kebabs and so much more.all beautifully cooked by a lady who has been there for twenty two years we were told.
Dessert was fresh strawberries and apple crumble! Just wonderful.
We ate too much, but it was do nice being able to try the different dishes cooked with local produce.
Much of the fruit and veg is grown in the fields by De Opstal so it doesn't travel far!
Breakfast was equally good with hot food cooked order, plenty of choice with cold food and glorious platters of fresh fruit.
Service at both meals was excellent and the owners and staff are delightful!
We visited the ostrch farm just along the road which was also great fun.
We were also directed to the best place to buy ostrich goods ... also very good....so a brilliant one night stay!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

This converted farm is a bit country style, dark furniture, plastic armchairs,but a spacious room with all normal facilities. The restaurant was closed the first night but a mini bus from a restaurant took us and brought as back so we did not have to drive. The breakfast was good and service willing. The dinner we had was a buffet and not very hot. There is not a lot of note to do but the caves are worth the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Country Lodge is located between town and Cango Cave. Quiet place to stop. Nice garden. Rooms are spacious. Furniture seems to be antique and fits nicely with the character of old farm house. Tea and coffee station in room. Fridge, safe, hair dryer and free wifi. Restaurant on site. Food is good, service average but very friendly. Staff needs to be trained better. Attention to detail is missing.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews